We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Send away!! Very unfriendly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Il Pianista

Il Pianista
Palo Alto, Boquete, Panama
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 54 Restaurants in Boquete
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: phone number 507 720 2728
Panama Stad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Send away!! Very unfriendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Door of restaurant was open, but we were send away - on a very unfriendly way - because he said was not open. Strange, we will never come here again...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice location, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely little restaurant with charm on the edge of the river....got to watching listen to a waterfalls rom our table. We had brick oven pizza and a seafood pasta. The food was a bit bland, but the servers were friendly. I don't know how the food compares throughout Boquete, so maybe for them, this was great...or maybe it was what we ordered. I would go back because it is charming, but would try something else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant on a small river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Good Italian food in a small restaurant on a small river. Very cozy and friendly. Loved the sound of the waterfall through the open window next to our table. Very reasonable prices.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I am visiting Boquete with my husband who unfortunately had a cold so we couldn't stay and dine in the restaurant however the chef made us delicious pasta to go and his lovely wife carried the meals to the car for us! I wish we could have stayed to eat there as it is gorgeous and overlooks a waterfall and stream. I highly recommend this restaurant as we had the best pasta we have eaten outside of Italy. Worth the short drive from town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Bill Friar the autor of the Moom travelers gide writes: "This is easily the best place in Boquete for Italian food and one of the best restaurants, period!" And we can only say: He is right. It´s a super nice place with an incredable chef that makes a superb pasta and the pizza is one of the best we ever had. The nice atmosphere and very friendly service makes this a place you defenately want to go to.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pianista also viewed

 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Il Pianista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Pianista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.