We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people,good deal for your money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Refugio de Montana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Refugio de Montana to your Saves list
Hotel Refugio de Montana
Volcancito Road, Boquete 507, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Boquete
puerto jimenez Costa rica
1 review
“Great people,good deal for your money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Me and my girlfriend visited here for just 1 night but it was great. We had the casa by the river simple but nice. Great hang out area by the river. I live in costa rica and will visit there again. Luchini, I will do a trade out like we talked about at my hotel. Great place for the buck.....

Room Tip: casa by the river nice for the buck....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

1. the owner, Luchini: awesome. get to know this guy and you will have Boquete on a string.
2. the front desk help (who, incidentally do EVERYTHING) are the nicest and most helpful crew you could ever ask for.
3. the room was perfect for us (2 adults, one 3 year old). they even found a mini-fridge for us
4. the entire area surrounding the hotel is an orchard of citrus and other fruits including guyabana and guava which are delicious treats any time you want one.
5. great hiking right around the hotel

caveats: you should be prepared to find transportation into boquete proper if you dont have a car. (taxis are, as in all of panama, cheap, so no big deal); dont drive drunk in pamana - they have checkpoints - take a cab or find someone sober to drive your car home for you.

thanks Luchini! we had a great time and you are a true ambassador for Panama! See you soon.

Room Tip: the best room has a private veranda - it also has a door to the front - it is behind the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Wonderful bed and pillows. Large bathrooms with hot water any time you need it. Very quiet place. But the most important thing is how they keep the place perfectly clean. I habe been in many places in the country and you never find all things in perfect condition so you can spend a very nice time during your vacations and at very good prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I made a reservation for this hotel. When I arrived very late there was someone waiting for us. He told us that there was no water as there was a problem with it as it is on a mountain. He offered us to stay at the hostal Refugio del Rio which has the same owner. Someone came specially for us to pick us up and lead us there. We did see the room and it looked nice indeed.
I think you need a car to get into town. It is the place for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed one night. The lobby is very pretty, the rooms are small but adequate. We requested a room with a ceiling fan and that room is tiny but sufficient. No facecloths in the bathroom-just one towel. 'Breakfast' consisted of very weak coffee, toast and an apple. That's it. We were the only guests. Proximity to town isn't bad with a rental car but quite hard to find -it's on the the road to Volcanito.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luchini L, Owner at Hotel Refugio de Montana, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your comments. We not considered our place as a B&B but as a hotel that offers a complimentary continental breakfast. This breakfast consists of coffee, different kind of teas, toasts with butter and jam, juices and seasonal fruit.

All our rooms by internal rules have 7 towels (2 face, 2 hand, 2 body & 1 for the floor)

We really think that the quality of the services and facilities offered by the hotel are an excellent value in relation with other hotels in Boquete.

Anyway we keep trying to improve and get better everyday

Kind regards
Luchini Lescure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a very relax hotel. It is in a nice area and very quiet. The only reason I did not give it a better review was because of the noise on the roof. The roof is tin and the night we stayed there there were heavy winds and rain. I am a light sleeper, so I did not sleep that well. If the owner want to invest in a more sound proof roof that would be great! The rooms are a very good size. We were 3 adults and 3 small children. Decor is very nice. The breakfast is included, but it is not a hot breakfast. If you are traveling with kids, bring breakfast cereal and milk. The rooms have a fridge. Now the good things, the place is beautiful and has a lovely backyard where you have your breakfast outside. It has nice fruit trees. The best part of this hotel was the lady at the front desk. Talk about going above and beyond! This woman deserves a medal! On top of things, the nicest person. Here name, I believe is Amabel which coincidentally sounds like "amable" in spanish. This means courteous. Anything that we asked her, she would do with a smile on her face. The rates are fair compared to how expensive Boquete has become. Naively I first went to Valle Escondido to get a room (low season) and the cheapest was $250/night! I surely did not have that budget with 3 kids, wife and father in law. Like I said, the only drawback was the roof, everything else, really nice!

Room Tip: Bring your own cereal and milk. The rooms have small refrigerators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The cool weather and quiet tranqulity of this place was welcome after the heat of the Panama lowlands and bustle of Panama City. Our window opened onto a well-manicured lawn where we read in the afternoons and had breakfast in the morning. The decor of the hotel and rooms is beautiful. We had no need for air conditioning but could just leave our windows open. Because our satellite connection did not work one day, our final bill, which was already quite low for such a nice place, was adjusted. You will possibly need a car because Refugio is outside of town but it is relatively walkable for younger people. I suggest they put on the coffee earlier and also offer more than white toast and a banana and juice. This is, however, a good value and we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Refugio de Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Refugio de Montana

Address: Volcancito Road, Boquete 507, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio de Montana is a secluded retreat just a short drive outside of beautiful downtown Boquete. With nearby vistas of Volcan Baru, our hotel offers a quiet place to relax. Our beautiful backyard features plenty of shade and citrus trees - feel free to help yourself when the fruit is ripe! - And is a quiet respite from the daily hustle and bustle. Refugio de Montana includes the following amenities with your stay: Free WiFi Several outdoor tables and chairs Hot water in all rooms Cable TV in rooms Bed linens, pillows, and blankets Free parking Staff are available 24/7 and will do their best to help you make your stay most enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Refugio de Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Refugio de Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.