We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good points & bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Mamallena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Mamallena to your Saves list
Hostel Mamallena
in front of Parque Central, Boquete, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 Boquete B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good points & bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hostel has good points & bad which I will outline.

The staff are very friendly & helpful which is a plus.

The walls are paper thin so you can hear complete conversations & everything else you can imagine from next door & out on the couches. The dorms are absolutely tiny: When full they barely have enough space for everyone in the room's luggage.

I was most unimpressed with the lockers too: They are not in your room, they are out in the corridor & so small that you can't even fit in a normal sized laptop.

The location is perfect, right on the main square & next to the bus, supermarket & farmers market.

Only hostel I have ever seen that makes you pay for a tourist map which I thought was a bit cheeky.

Very good hot showers.

The kitchen has more than enough equipment, but only 4 slow burning hotplates for the whole place which at capacity I was told holds about 70.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, mate!
Indeed our walls are not necesarilly thick as bricks since this is a wooden house. I am really sorry if this has been an aggravation for you. We have now closed down temporarily some of the dorm rooms to allow renovations and to help people with a better quality of sleep, and enlarging our dorms so more space will be available for larger bags.
Yes, indeed our dorms were not so big we had no other choice to put our lockers outside. Some people found it as good as having them inside, so I do not see your point on commenting about it, since 99.9% of people who stayed in here did never complain about it.
Our kitchen: We keep it as clean and fully equipped as posible when there's a lot of people. I've checked the burners from our stove, and I did not see a problem with them. Two things: Either you had them on low fire, or there was not much gas left.
I apologise for the maps. A company provided the maps for us to sell them. We do not make any extra money for it. It's someones' business, why that would be cheeky?
Hope you have good luck in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    76
    28
    15
    3
See reviews for
8
66
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I spent three nights at Hostel Mamallena and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Not only was it a great place to meet other backpackers, the hostel is centrally located to the supermarkets and buses to other parts of town making it very easy to get around. My room was clean and so were the communal areas. The reception staff and owner wer also friendly and welcoming. I have no complaints.

Perhaps the only downside to staying here is that there's a bar located nearby so it can be a bit noisy at night. Otherwise everything is great! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. Indeed the bar next door is our Achilles' Tendom at times. I hope you truly enjoyed your stay and our best of lucks for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked private rooms with private shower and it was a very good choice. Mamallena is a cool place - very helpful staff, clean, has a big shared kitchen (you can buy food at the market or supermarket nearby). They offer different tours for a reasonable price. we picked two and both were fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We always ensure to hear our good ( and not-so-good) feedback to help us improving our service. In the meantime, we will be undergoing renovations for a better service, hope you can visit us next time!
Have fun and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Mamallena is a very nice hostel with a good location in Boquete! The kitchen is big and very clean. The staff is friendly and the rooms are cute! I would definitely stay there again if I ever come back to Boquete!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jerónimo, Masaya, Nicaragua
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in Boquete a few times, this is definitely my favorite. The staff is super friendly and nice and can help with almost anything, from tours to places to eat. Great place to make friends if you're a solo traveller, and super nice place to relax for a while

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hostel has all the facilities that a traveler would want (kitchen, internet, staff speak English, large private room, location) and at the time, it had the majority of the tourists in Boquete. The sad part is that the hostels is run more like a business with signs all over the walls talking about fines for this and that. It feels a little bit like Big Brother is watching over you. Because the hostel is so popular, the kitchen is always crowded and is closed from 3-5pm everyday. Out private room was very large and had a wonderful breeze, but the music from the next door bar was pretty loud in the evenings. If you want to meet other travelers, this is the place. Buy if you are looking for peace and customer service, there are other small hostels in the city, like the one across from the police station, $25 for private double.

Also, front desk staff are really helpful with all the information on tours, but if you would like to go somewhere on your own, better to talk to information office (a little outside of town towards David) where they also have free maps.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, yet if are helpful on information,why did we get only a 3-star rate? Indeed we offer tours as part of the activities within Boquete, as we can also provide information about things you can do on your own. You apparently never asked for that information.
Indeed our hostel is pretty busy, and because of that, our kitchen gets dirty; hence we have to close it sometime during the day to clean it up. Sometimes we take longer because of the mess some disconsiderate guests leave in or around the kitchen. Fair enough we have too many signs, but why bother yourself on writing something about it? Did it bother you possibly being charged fee for not being a helpful guest to us and cleaning after yourself?
You may remember this is a hostel. Noise comes with it at times. But having noise from next door is infortunate Also something we cannot do much to suppress it except politely asking to turn it down.
Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Victor, at Hostel Mamallena has got it going on! We were his first passengers on the shuttle to the airport in David, and we rode in a new, clean,WIFI-equipped shuttle with a most informative and interesting driver - Victor!

Earlier that week, we took the shuttle from Boquete to Bocas del Toro (another Mamallena arranged excursion) and it was far easier and more comfortable than a bus back to David and to Bocas from there.

If you are traveling to Boquete and want any local information about tours and shuttles, stop by Mamallena and you will get friendly, fast, accurate service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks heaps for your feedback! We will pass on the comments on to Victor. Hope you have a pleasant stay and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Address: in front of Parque Central, Boquete, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long regarded as one of the best hostels in Panama, Hostel Mamallena has now opened in Boquete. With a combination of private rooms with en-suites and dorm beds, we've got a room for everyone. Add to that our great beds, pancake breakfast, free internet and movies, great customer service and you have the perfect hostel for your stay in Boquete. Whether it's for a night, a week or a month, you're more than welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Mamallena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.