We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Rafting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boquete Outdoor Adventures

Boquete Outdoor Adventures
Plaza Los Establos | Avenida Central, Boquete, Panama
+507 720-2284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Boquete
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boquete Outdoor Adventures is Panama's premier provider of amazing whitewater rafting trips, as well as cloud forest hiking, island trips with snorkeling and sea kayaking, coffee tours, zip lining, whitewater kayaking, bird watching, humpback whale watching, horseback riding, and hiking or 4x4 Jeep tours of Volcan Baru. Located in the gorgeous mountains and slopes of Volcan Baru, Boquete is an eco-traveler's paradise. We provide the most experienced guides and amazing travel packaged experiences all over Panama. Please contact us as we would love to arrange all of your Panama Vacation details.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
David, Panama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“River Rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went on the Boquete Outdoor Adventures (BOA) River Rafting on Rio Viejo Chiriquí. Jim, the chief guide and owner, was very professional and gave us a great trip. We were a group of 3 children and 4 adults, and no one was bored. The lunch was great, the scenery was great, all around it was the best river rafting we had ever done. The river was a Class 3, and was no problem for the kids, but had plenty of excitement for the adults. Highly recommended while in Western Panama.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    39
    11
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horseback riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I went on this trip with Lobo, a very enjoyable guide, and a couple from New Hampshire. I hadn't been on a horse in many years, and he inspired a lot of confidence in each of us at our individual experience levels.. It was a beautiful afternoon going up in the mountains. I may do it again before I leave for other parts of Panama.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We spent a great day on the river as a family of four. The river was at a class three level which provided plenty of action for us as novice rafters. Jim, the owner, is a great guy and his guides are awesome. Our guide Pepito was lots of fun and he even was able to spot monkeys for us on the banks of the river up in the trees. A sandwich lunch is included at a halfway point on the river. Jim takes a ton of pictures during the three hours you are on the river and posts them on line for you to download for free. The ride from Boquete to the jumping in point on the river is a little long, but a good way to meet the other folks on your tour.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun trip, safety measures lacking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our family of four went rafting with Boquete Outdoor Adventures in Dec. 2013. It was a fun trip, but it doesn't rank at the top of our rafting experiences. The bus trip to the put-in on the Chiriquí River took about an hour and a half. The guides were all awesome --friendly, competent and clearly cared about showing guests a good time. They made the most of the medium sized rapids on a Class II-II river. Safety procedures were a little slack, however,. Neither the guides nor the owner checked the gear before we used it, nor did they check guests’ life jackets or helmets for fit after we put them on. In one stretch of rapids, an entire raft went overboard, guide included. The guide might have done this on purpose to make the trip more exciting (it looked that way), or it might have been due to his incompetence, I ‘m not sure. It took awhile to get everyone back in the raft, and one older man, an older guy, was in the river a long time, over 10 minutes before they fished him out. He looked pretty shaken, as did his wife. The Chiriquí River was lovely, with trees and foliage all along the banks, The put-in and take-out sites, however, were hideous construction sites, due to dam development and road construction. Not the fault of Boquete Outdoor Adventures, but good to know. Also good to know -- you will cross an international border. We were not informed that we would cross the Costa Rican border and take out in Costa Rica. The owner of Boquete Outdoor Adventures, Jim, took photos from his kayak during the trip and posted them online afterward for guests to download for free. We really appreciated this. Otherwise, however, the owner seemed to avoid guests' company, didn't chat with guests, and didn't even ride on the bus with us back to Boquete. No big deal, but didn't feel good. Overall, it was a fun trip. If you are excited about rafting while in Boquete, this trip is a great choice. If you have rafted elsewhere, this experience won't be exceptional.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Raft Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I recently took a white water raft trip with Jim and the great guides at BOA with my husband and 3 adult children. This was a really fun and professional operation. The guides were experienced and fun and there was attention to safety on a challenging river. They served up a delicious lunch and even took tons of pictures which were posted on flickr for free download! Overall, it was a fantastic and memorable trip- Thanks, Jim!
Meg Dorsey

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boquete Outdoor Adventures also viewed

 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Boquete Outdoor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boquete Outdoor Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.