We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place, pleasant staff and owner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ART CAFE, Gallery, Wine, and Coffee Bar

ART CAFE, Gallery, Wine, and Coffee Bar
100 meters north of the Catholic church on your right hand side, Boquete, Panama
507 720 1821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 61 Restaurants in Boquete
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
kenora
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cute place, pleasant staff and owner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The cafe was a fair walk from the centre of town but it always smelled so good when we passed on other occasions that we had to try it. We each ordered a different chicken crepe: Nadine's was an Indian/curry/spicy sauce, mine was a Supreme with chicken and mushrooms. The crepes were folded in an interesting way, 4 'sides' of the round crepe folded into the centre. The chicken inside was dry and in very large pieces, not very tasty. The sauce was bland and there wasn't much of it. My daughter was happier with her dish than I was with mine. The prices were ok, but that isn't much consolation if the food isn't great. I wasn't interested in a repeat visit, even to try their desert crepes or advertised creme brûlée. The owner came to walk us to the door and while we had a pleasant chat, I didn't comment on the quality of our meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    46
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inviting & Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We ate here two of the three nights we spent in Boquete. The first night I ordered the goat cheese salad and while I wanted to try something new the second night, it was just so delicious I had to order it again. The waitress was a sweetheart! We had the pleasure of talking to the owner our second night there. He couldn't have been more kind. My boyfriend is a picky eater from New York City (aka food snob) and he loved what he ordered both nights. Absolutely one of the best restaurants we went to in Panama.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm French Comfort Food Perfect For Chilly Boquete Evenings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this expat owned French style eatery. Prices were very reasonable and food was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed the fried Camembert, walnut/apple/goat cheese salad, and crepes. Portion sizes are big enough for two in most cases. Service was efficient and polite. Owner came by to make sure everything was to our liking which was a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Neat little cafe for a (little) french flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had both lunch and dinner at the Art Cafe. The restaurant, up the hill past the Catholic church, is a little bit of a walk but worth it and quite popular. Its prices are reasonable. Food is reliable and plentiful. Not a bad selection of wine and as always, the local beer is inexpensive and quenches thirst. There is a small bar in one room and the dining area in another two small rooms. The cafe is colorful with local art on the walls. Run by an American couple, it is very friendly and the service is good. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Slow service, not very good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were here for lunch. The service was sooooo slow. I watched the waitress folding napkins and learned a new way to fold them, it was that bad. One of the guidebooks said that the savoury crepes were very good. We ordered the Pondicherry chicken crepes and they were far from good. The crepe was fine, Breton style, but the chicken curry filling was just pieces of chicken in a watery curry sauce that tasted harsh and not very subtle and nuanced. Not a very impressive meal at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ART CAFE, Gallery, Wine, and Coffee Bar also viewed

 

Been to ART CAFE, Gallery, Wine, and Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ART CAFE, Gallery, Wine, and Coffee Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.