We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awful...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boquete Mountain Safari Tours

Boquete Mountain Safari Tours
Main Street Boquete | Next to Plaza Los Establos, Boquete 13907, Panama
6627-8829
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 42 Activities in Boquete
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boquete Mountain Safari, winner of the TripAdvisor 2013 award of excellence,is Boquete's largest tour operator and the only tour operator in Panama offering jeep tours, ATV tours, whitewater rafting, coffee tours, scooter rentals, tours to the Volcan Baru and more. Because we are the only tour operator in Panama that does not have to subcontract any of our tours, we are able to offer discount packages. Ask about our Boquete Safari Vacation Packages to save on your entire vacation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just awful...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I live in Panama City and wanted to get out of the hustle and bustle of the city. Boquete was the perfect place. After looking at reviews and talking with friends, i decided to book a full day tour with this company. They arrived without a tour guide, but tried to pass off an office assistant as one. We knew right away that she wasn't a tour guide, and while the owner Justin was driving the jeep, she confessed. We decided to go with the flow and went to the coffee farm, which was a great experience--but only because i can understand and speak Spanish. There was virtually no English spoken during the tour.

Then we went horseback riding, and because the tour guide who usually sets up the saddles wasn't there, Justin and the office assistant prepared the horses. Turns out they didn't know what they were doing because an older women on our tour fell off her horse due to a miss piece of her saddle. She was seriously hurt, and Justin, the only one with us out on the mountains, had no plan and asked me, a young lady, what he should do. She ended up going to the hospital and he left us with our horses for more than an hour while it started to get dark.

We cut the tour early, and he never apologized. He was clearly pissed off when we suggested we don't pay for the day (remember, we didn't even have a tour guide.) He acted extremely unprofessional and even made us walk back from the office to our hotel, instead of driving us like he was supposed to.

I'm sure that if he tour guide was present, we'd have a wonderful time. But the owner is a real jerk.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoqueteSafari, Owner at Boquete Mountain Safari Tours, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I would like to introduce myself. I am Stephen the new owner of Boquete Mountain Safari. I am so sorry to read of your experience and would like to make it up to you. The next time you are in Boquete please stop at our office for a chat that hopefully will change your opinion of the NEW Boquete Mountain Safari. This type of service will never happen in the future and all our tours now have highly experienced guides every time without exception. Thank you for your comments and your help in improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    16
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rimbey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Riding with Boquete Mountain Safaris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Sue and I have been to Boquete for vacation three years consecutively. The people we encounter in this charming Panamanian town have become our friends. More pleasant, helpful or interesting individuals you will never find!! We raise and train horses in Canada and have ridden in Canada, USA, Mexico, Costa Rica and Panama. The excellent Boquete Mountain Safari horses and the scenic semi-mountainous terrain combined with Felix the Fantastic guide make this a most enjoyable experience. Felix easily matches the horses available to the riding skills of the guests and openly shares his vast knowledge of the local flora and fauna. Take your camera when you go riding at Rancho de Caldera with Boquete Mountain Safaris!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Horseback Tour on a rural farm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A group of us went horseback riding with Boquete Mountain Safari on a rural farm. The horses were saddled and ready to go when we arrived, and even though it was raining, we had a terrific 3 hour ride on a rural farm. The guides were terrific and matched our riding abilities (we had some new riders) to our mounts. We trotted over hill and dale, seeing all types of birds and wild life. We also got a good feel for how people actually live in the foothills of Boquete as we rode past small farms and through the village close by. We were ready to be disappointed given the rain but the staff made the ride very enjoyable!.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

During our visit to Boquete, we booked a number of tours through this company and loved them all. The company was easy to work with to schedule different activities and very accomodating in creating packages to combine different trips. We ended up booking a Cloud forrest hike, ATV and Coffee plantation combo, Horseback riding and Hot springs combo. Our guide - Felix - was great. He told us a lot of interesting stories about the local culture, did not rush us to get the tour completed, but made sure everyone was comfortable and having fun. Big Thanks to Felix for making this such a great experience.
For the tours, the transportation was arranged to pick us up from the hotel. On the day when we had full day booked with this company, they arranged for us to have time for lunch in between the activities. The truck going to the hot springs did not look to be in a very good shape, however, we were happy to have it as it managed to go up a very steep hill that other cars were not likely to get on. For those who critisize the poor conditions of transportation, please keep an open mind and take it as part of cultural experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Once again, we had great experiences in booking our tours with Boquete Mountain Safaris. We have booked tours with them for the past 3 winter vacations in Boquete. Each year, we have them to be very accommodating in allowing us to create tours to meet our needs.

Felix, our guide, is very friendly, bilingual, and has a vast wealth of knowledge about Panama, it's people and the flora and fauna. This year, we were fortunate enough to see a family of howler monkeys and had the opportunity to watch them interact for 15 or 20 minutes while we were out on a hike. On that hike, we also saw a trogon very similar to the quetzal. We would never have seen the monkeys or the trogon without Felix's experienced eyes!

As in past years, we went horseback riding with Felix and had a great time exploring the area around Caldera. The horses that Boquete Mountain Safari uses are in great shape and we had a couple of wonderful rides.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boquete Mountain Safari Tours also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Boquete Mountain Safari Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boquete Mountain Safari Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.