We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Refugio del Rio

Save Saved
You added Hostal Refugio del Rio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Refugio del Rio
Ave. B Oeste, Boquete, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Refugio del Rio (Refuge by the River) is a great hotel/hostel. The best part is the hot tub that overlooks the little river. We stayed in a private room with en suite bath, and thoroughly enjoyed hearing the sounds of the river. This hotel is very reasonably priced and is in easy walking distance into the town of Boquete. There are also nearby Panamanian restaurants. We would not hesitate to stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms near the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    54
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
95
67
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

As far as hostels go, this place was really nice, stayed with my 9 year old and it had a good mix of independent travelers and a family friendly atmosphere. It has a common kitchen and a hot tub by the river and a sit out to connect with other travelers. We stayed in the private rooms so we don't know how the dorms are. Overall it is a good place with a bunch of friendly folks. There can be music from clubs nearby late into the night, but i am a sound sleeper so that didn't trouble me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Can't beat the location right on the raging river and the whole property is a beautiful refuge. Views from the quad room were excellent and the service was too. Our only complaint was that the bathroom and carpet could have used a good scrubbing but for a hostal the over all value was very good. I would return just for the experience of sitting in the (impecably clean) hot tub over looking the river. The sound is glorious!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I spent 2 weeks in this wonderful hostal, and I can say that this is simply the best experience that I had during my journey in Panama. The hostal is super clean, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, they assist you with whatever you need. The kitchen is really well equipped, you will find everything there. The tours that the place offers are really cool, should try some of those for sure. Make sure to spend some time in the jakuzzi (which is situated right next to the river) during your stay, you will not regret it. To sum up, if you love the nature, and you want to have a great experience in a super clean and super friendly place, do not go elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canmore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

What an amazing recommendation from another hostel in Panama City. We arrived in Boquete and found our way to Refugio Del Rio. When we requested one night they said they had nothing available but the moment we said we might stay for 2 or 3 they suddenly had something. Not to complain, I can understand it must be a lot of work to turn the rooms over and over for so little profit. The "room" was incredible and extremely affordable for private accommodation. It is far from a "room" but rather a private little "tree house". Nothing fancy inside, the bare minimum, but the bed was nice, the bathroom clean, a flat screen and a private porch on the front with a table and chairs. There was no ac, but it hardly seemed necessary this time of year. The shared kitchen (we didn't use) was well stocked and there was even a well stocked fridge with very reasonably priced drinks (including beer and wine) should you not wish to walk back to town. Free internet (which is great if you are not traveling with a lap top) and to top it all off an outdoor hot tub next to a great creek surrounded by fruit trees. An incredible find. We were lucky to get into. Te idea of a "hostel' might intimidate some, as 50 somethings we felt welcome and not the least out of place. Would recommend a reservation as I am sure they fill up in the busy season.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a private tree house (# 1 or 2) the others are closer to the common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

When staying in a hostal, we prefer to stay in a private room with private bathroom, so it´s logical we are not into "partying" or "cooking with all our fellow guests in the hostal". This hostal has private rooms, but it seems to us it is mainly directed to their other clients sleeping in the dorms, which is OK for us as well. When we phoned, they only had 1 room left, which was a 4p family room, but we could stay there for 38.50$, which is a fair price in Boquete. The room wasn´t cleaned yet when we arrived but we could leave the luggage already in the room, and the next day, we left our luggage ready, as we weren´t sure how long our coffee tour was going to take. When checking out, we even got a little present...not sure whether it was to apologize for the slow service sometimes. The hostal is building an extra building, we saw.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place is really one of the best hostels I've stayed at. It's got a big kitchen completely equipped with whatever you need. And I mean whatever you need. It's clean, in a beautiful house on a creek with picnic tables and hammocks facing the creek. (Some of the private rooms have a little balcony also facing the water.) The whole setting is serene and an extension of the beautiful mountains around. On Saturday nights they have a free BBQ for guests but encourage them to also buy or make something to share like, a salad, dessert or any traditional dish from your country you feel like making, which is a great idea. Oh, and they have an awesome hot tub.

I read the most recent review and it's a shame they had such a bad experience. I personally don't believe this place has a rodent problem. I never saw one or heard of one while I was there and I always had a pleasant exchange with the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Refugio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Refugio del Rio

Address: Ave. B Oeste, Boquete, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known in town as the “luxurious” hostel for backpackers, you are always surprised to discover that such a beautiful house has been transformed into a hostel. Our place has been carefully furnished and decorated and also has 9 private all of which have private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Refugio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Refugio Del Rio Hotel Boquete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Refugio del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.