We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic & Below Value - Better Options Available” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Ayjah, Sur, Sur 411, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sur
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Basic & Below Value - Better Options Available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is extremely basic and borders on budget (but for US$100 around 35 Riyals) the price is not budget but it comes a with sub-standard feel to the place.

The positives:
- The building from the outside looks good
- Is relatively new
- The balcony facing the bay have great views and you can pull the chairs out and sit
- A brilliant Turkish restaurant is next doors with lovely views and sheesha till 3:00 a.m
- Flat Screen TV in Room

The negatives:
- The rooms are very basic
- Bathroom plumbing was not good
- Towels were rougher than stone
- The Matress was so hard that you'd rather sleep on the floor.
- Found 2 cockroaches in my room

For the same price you have Sur Plaza or Sur Beach that have breakfast and other entertainment. Especially Sur Plaza has 3 bars (with no nightlife in Sur, just hanging out there is a plus) and a pool and 2 restaurants that come for the same price range.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

if you're looking for a place to stay in Sur, it can be the one. The hotel is not a fancy, elegant and trendy one, but rooms are big and comfortable and some have a very nice view. It is also clean. The staff is very nice and helpful, and did everything to meet our needs.
They have an arabian band that sings and plays music all night long (until 3.00 am) very close to hotel, and some rooms are too close to it. We spent one night awake because the noise was unbearable, but when we told the reception we were moved into another and more quite room the following day. Bear it in mind when you reserve.
The price was good for the type of accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

really nice big clean rooms, overlooking lagoon, friendly staff and nice restaurant nearby. It is the best place from which to visit old Sur.
We paid 35 OMR excluding breakfast.
Resto next door also adds to the value.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Based on trip advisor reviews I decided to stay at al ayjah hotel when I visited sur. I'm not sure why or how my experience differed so drastically from other guests but suffice it to say, it was terrible. Not only are the rooms not cleaned regularly ( they had a thick layer of dust on all the furniture and floor ) they are ridiculously designed ( the layout is something that can be overlooked) so that the air conditioner in the room isn't enough to cool it. At all. It's placed wierdly and isn't powerful enough for a room that size. We arrived at about 11 pm and called the reception at 1 to say the room had still not cooled. They came up, looked at it and fiddled with the remote and left saying it should be fine. It wasn't. So half an hour later we made another call and changed rooms. By now we had identified the problem. It wasn't the AC's fault. It just wasn't placed close to the bed so there was no cooling in that area at all. according to the guy at reception, all the rooms were designed the same way and there wasnt one with the AC over the bed.So finally at nearly 330 am, hot and bothered after tossing and turning for the last few hours we decided that we'd had enough and wanted to check out and go to some other hotel. It didn't end there though - they wanted us to pay for the whole night! Not even just for the hours we had stayed there! So we were forced to stay there since we were on a fixed budget but changed rooms yet again. (apparently now there was one room that had the AC over the bed!) now that this problem was solved, there was yet another that came up - there was no water in our bathrooms the second day! We had to use the bathroom of another room just to shower and use the toilet! It's safe to say the stay at this hotel ruined the weekend for us since we'd been up all night and lost most of the next day. It just left us with a bad taste in our mouths since it had taken the fun out of a nice weekend away. To sum it up- lousy service overall.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Al Ayjah Plaza hotel is well situated (nearby the suspension bridge) for a 1 day visit to Sur and the turtles in Ras Al Jinz (40 km away). 70 euro for a double room (decent breakfast included) is a fair price. Rooms on the 3th and 4th floor (lagoon side) are the best oriented. Friendly (Filipino) staff speaks very good English. Restaurant next door (same owner) was poor but new staff should soon change this situation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3th and 4th floor (lagoon side) are the best oriented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Accommodation in Oman seem to be either very expensive or not very good therefore although this hotel is not great and certainly needs updating, it was good compared to what else is on offer.

The hotel is in quiet area just outside central Sur (on the other side of the bridge). However, since central Sur is not very nice and, in Oman, you'll always need a car to go anywhere, the fact that the hotel was in a quiet area was an advantage. Sur is only a small city and you can get from the hotel to the centre in 5 minutes by car.

Staff was very nice and helpful and spoke good English. The rooms are quite simple and a bit dated but are huge and ours had a great view of the sea. Satellite TV, fridge, air conditioning all included. The only problem was the bathroom which was really spartan and old but was clean anyway. The other thing which was not a problem for me but that I can see could be a problem to others is the hardness of the beds. I like my mattresses hard but these were almost like sleeping on a warm floor... it took me a bit to get used to it but then I slept really well.

We had lunch in the restaurant connected to the hotel which had certainly the nicest setting in Sur. We sat outside in the shade on wooden benches and Omani cushions looking over a saltwater inlet. The food was average by Omani standards which unfortunately are not great. The bill was a bit high for Sur though still very cheap by European standards.

Overall, if you don't want to spend too much money this hotel gives you a good deal for Omani standards but it is certainly no luxury.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Vaud
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel was spartan but clean. The room I had was enormous with two rooms opened to make one suite. The bed was very hard. The bathroom was basic but with a large wet room shower area. Fridges and TV in each room in my suite. I never saw any other guests during my stay! Staff friendly and very helpful. The restaurant attached served grilled fish freshly caught and brought right up to the terrace in the boat; simple but delicious cooking. A popular place with locals for sitting out and smoking shisha in the evenings. Quiet and nice location on a back bay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel

Address: Al Ayjah, Sur, Sur 411, Oman
Location: Oman > Ash-Sharqiyah Governorate > Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel Oman/Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.