We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking place - but be there on time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wadi Shab

Wadi Shab
50km west of Sur, Sur, Oman
Improve this listing
Visit Wadi Shab like an insider
$162*
and up
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Sur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking place - but be there on time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A correction to the reviews below: be at Wadi Shab well before 4pm.

First, you will have to walk for about 45min each way.

Second you must take a boat to the other side if your camera ain't waterproof.

Third, the ferry people are reluctant to get you to the inner side if you arrive past 4. The ferry service across the river closes at 5pm (at least in mid October).

Ferry service costs 0.200 RO per person and way (40 Euro Cents at the time of writing).

Ps: if you arrive too late for Wadi Shab drive for 2km to Wadi Tiwi (fully accessible by car).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    84
    8
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing... make sure you go to the very end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Drove down to sur from muscat. ... better than a tour. Wear good shoes and go to the very end... to the cave. . Wonders await you..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Toasty Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I loved the ride from Muscat to Wadi Shab. There so many lovely mountain views. We stopped along the way to take pictures of the views and of Muscat from the distance. There were beaches along the rid, but non of them were suitable to swim because they were full of rocks and jelly fish. We went in September during mid day so it was a bit toasty (HOT!). We crossed the little lake with a boat. That took 2mins. Then we walked on million small rocks for about 15-20mins max to get to the other lake to see the cave. It was full of guys, so we didn't swim and just sat for a while and enjoyed the view. It was cool nonetheless!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is so breathtaking.... exceptionally mountain views and river among the valleys. You will have fun climbing rocks and swimming in the river which gives you the feel of paradise.

I was told that in Oman there are so many Wadis. Wadi Shab however was the only Wadi which i managed to visit, which was breathtaking enough. Without seeing other Wadis I am not able to recommend if it is a must to visit, but I had the pleasure of visiting this lovely place and would definitely hope to come back here again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Wowwwww Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If You are in Oman and want to have a short and crispy adventurous trip, this is the place you have been hunting for.

Wata place and wata location.. one would hardly like to come from there. But do remember to come there before 6 PM else you might not find a boat back to the destination and have to corss the waterbody walking :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadi Shab also viewed

Ash-Sharqiyah Governorate, Oman
Dibba Al Bay Ah, Musandam Governorate
 
Nizwa, Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate
Oman, Middle East
 

Been to Wadi Shab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wadi Shab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.