We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Khandaq St, Salalah 211, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Salalah
Vagnhärad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent 14 days at Crowne Plaza Resort at Salalah in November. The hotel was excellent with a huge lobby and had all the services you ever need. All the staff was very nice and helpful and effective. The room and the bathroom were clean and spacious. The furniture and the bed in the room were comfortable. The breakfast buffet was of international style and very comprehensive and the two restaurants served excellent food. The pool area was big and there was lot of sun beds, you never need to book one early in the morning. The animation team had lot of activities you could enjoy. The beach in direct connection to the pool area was clean with white sand and lot of sunbeds with umbrellas. We really enjoyed the stay at the hotel and will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Bruno,

We thank you very sincerely for the beautiful review written on your Holiday at Crowne Plaza Salalah.

It gives us true pleasure to learn from the review that you enjoyed every single facility of the resort and we could exceed your expectations.

We are further delighted to hear that you are already looking forward to return back for another restoration break. Nothing else is of greater importance to us than to have our guests remain our guests for every holiday.

The team here is looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

George Verghese
george.verghese@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    125
    50
    13
    11
See reviews for
57
118
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is like so many hotels in the middle east; It tries hard with what it has to offer. And what it has is a great location and dated facilities. If you are looking for a base to explore the Dhofar region than this is a good choice. I have not stayed at the Hilton but I have dined there. I can't see how you can overlook the Hilton's awful view of a port? Is the Hilton more up to date? Sure. But I would still pick the Crowne Plaza over the Hilton. The Crowne Plaza has better grounds (again a bit dated) which provides a better resort type experience in my opinion. Keep in mind that after reading some reviews, it seems visitors are expecting a tropical resort paradise in Salalah. It won't happen. None of the hotel are up to that standard and I have also stayed at the Marriot.

Bottom line, if you prefer to stay hear the town of Salalah, stay at the CP. If you want to enjoy Salalah, rent a car and get out and explore he region. It's an amazing place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We at Crowne Plaza Salalah wish to thank you very much for your time writing this review.

With the best view of swaying coconut palms and the majestic ocean right in front of your eyes when you wake up, it certainly has the best location.

However we understand from your review that we still have some improvement to do in certain areas. We appreciate this feedback of yours and assure you that you will see that some of the areas have already been handled on your next visit, it it is planned in the near short days.

Once again than you for the comments and looking forward to have you back with us soon.

Kind Regards,

George Verghese
george.verghese@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Crowne Plaza,Salalah and was delighted we chose it.
From the time we were collected from the airport by the courtesy bus until we were returned there, the staff could not have done more. Good room,good food and attentive service - we had a great holiday break of 3 days.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor and choosing Crowne Plaza Salalah for the first time.

At Crowne Plaza Salalah we strive to deliver seamless service to all our guests who are travelling for success during business or leisure and we are delighted that we were able to achieve this.

We were thrilled to read that you found our colleagues, the hotel services, and the food to be great and beyond your expectation. It certainly is a great honour for us to hear such positive comments from a senior and well traveled reviewer such as yourself.

We thank you once again for this lovely review and look forward to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Salalah in the near future.

Kind Regards,

George Verghese
george.verghese@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our second time in Salalah, so we thought to try the Crowne Plaza. Although the hotel states it is 5 star, it isn't really as it hasn't the style and polish to warrant 5 star status. It was pleasant enough, and staff were helpful and friendly, but dining options were limited to a rather ordinary general restaurant or the beach restaurant. Food is overpriced as well.
The hotel seems to cater for Eastern European and German package tourists although there were a small number of Brits.
Our room was comfortable with two double beds and was very clean. One problem we had was the lack of hot water in the bathroom - lukewarm baths are not ideal, and the staff did not seem to know how to put this right.
The gardens were nice, opening onto a lovely beach, but poolside peace was spoiled most days by irritating loud pop music coming from speakers hidden in bushes. I did ask for this to be turned down (or off!)but was met with puzzled expressions from staff who said it was "relaxing" It is not, and although I know some people like to be surrounded by noise, I found it hard to find a peaceful spot to read or just enjoy the sound of the sea and birds.
Overall, a pleasant enough stay, but not a five star experience.
For meals out, try going into Salahlah city for very reasonably priced Chinese or Indian food. There's no alcohol, but it is a least a real experience and visitors are warmly welcomed. Car hire is relatively cheap and petrol is amazingly cheap so get out and see the real Oman!

Room Tip: Our room was facing the car park, but it was quiet and peaceful even if the views were not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza for your recent stay while in Salalah.

We value our guest comments which are of extreme importance to us in order to constantly strive and improve our services to the expectations of our guest.

Your constructive feedback has been shared with the respective departments in the Hotel and has been addressed as required to resolve the issue.

We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Salalah and thank you taking time to write this review.

Kind Regards,

George Verghese
george.verghese@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a great time in this hotel. I agonized beforehand about which one to pick - and we also drove around looking at them once we arrived, to see if we'd made the right choice. We did! Everything about it is just thoroughly pleasant. The best situation on the beach of any hotel we saw; leafy floral gardens; a selection of lovely pools (beautifully looked-after); airy spacious rooms; comfy beds; and a surprisingly good restaurant - right by the sea. The buffets had a different cuisine every night, and you could sit outside and listen to the waves. Delicious salads, your own freshly cooked bbq, and endless arty puddings that the staff lined up meticulously. Oh - and friendly too.

I'll make this as honest and helpful as I can though, 'cos you don't want to pick the wrong hotel. The Hilton is probably a little more elegant (Crowne Plaza has high/slightly garish ceilings in the foyer!) but the beach setting is not as good. The Juweira is sleek, and boutique-y designed but the area is not finished yet, so it feels a bit of an outpost. Unlike the Crowne Plaza, the beach is not right on its doorstep - you'd end up spending your time in the pool. It's also more expensive. The Marriott is just too far to get to (and we were pretty adventurous with the car). Salalah is not a metropolis but it's nice to be near a bit of civilizatoin.

So the Crowne Plaza gets our vote. They also welcomed us with a chocolate cake in our room for our wedding anniversary. Nice place!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the sea/garden side. (And buy a fresh coconut from the line of le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Furhatt,

It was very pleasing to read about your honest feedback on your stay with Crowne Plaza Salalah.

Firstly we are extremely glad that we did not let you down as you had to make a difficult decision driving down to each hotel before you could choose the best hotel for your rest and rejuvenation holidays.

It was a pleasure to read your review and to know that you appreciated so many aspects of the hotel, right from the location, the gardens, the pools, the rooms, the comfortable beds our dining option right by the sea offering a variety of themed dinner everyday and above all our team who you found to be warm and friendly.

We were further delighted to hear that you had chosen us as the hotel to celebrate your anniversary and we were able to be a part of this celebration by offering a cake which was just a small gesture to make your day special.

We thank you for this wonderful review and hope that you travel with us for success, so that we can be part of such auspicious celebration in your life.

Kind Regards,

George Verghese
george.verghese@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Close to the airport and the hotel is right on the beach so that is deserving of a good rating. The rooms are fine, good bed but small room if you have one with a balcony. The restaurants are mediocre although breakfast is quite good.

The gym is fine but the spa is so disapppointing. There is really no spa area so not relaxing at all and when in treatment, there is no soothing music or light but rather loud noises from the gym machines on the floor above. The massage therapists were good but the experience was not.

Overall, the beach experience was amazing (although one could not swim most days due to red flag warning) but I would most likely not choose this hotel again should I go back.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with a high view overlooking the sunset as the other side has no sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting this review on your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Salalah and we value your feedback.

It is only through such valuable critics and constant improvements based on these comments we can ensure that our services reach the standards to meet expectations of all our guest.

Whilst we are extremely delighted to hear the positive tones of our services such as the location, the beach, the bed and the breakfast, we are disappointed to hear that this time we fell short of some of your expectations on our recreational services.

At Crowne Plaza we continuously strive to provide seamless services based on our guest comments such as yours and allow me to assure you that this just an one off experience which will not deter you from using our services again.

Assuring you of our best attention and services next time.

Kind Regards,

George Verghese
george.verghese@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salalah, Oman
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I visit the restaurants at the Crowne Plaza regularly for some time now, and I must say it is getting better and better every day.

The service staff is great and friendly. Even if the restaurant is busy which is the case these days with the European tourist season going on they remain warm and cheerfull. The food has always been great.

I come here because of the relaxing and picture perfect sea side ambience and the friendly and timely service.

They have also added a duo band who play great music which is entertaining and relaxing. A must try place if you are in Salalah. You will love it.

Room Tip: Sea View room should be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We at Crowne Plaza Salalah wish to thank you very much for your time writing this review.

It gives us immense happiness for us to note from your review that you enjoy the time spent at our Dolphin Restaurant. We equally enjoy serving you and are glad to have you with us regularly for dining or just to have a puff of the wide range of shisha flavours that the restaurant has to offer.

We thank you once again for this review and looking forward to patronize your presence more regularly.

Kind Regards,

George Verghese
george.verghese@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah

Address: Al Khandaq St, Salalah 211, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Dhofar Governorate > Salalah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Salalah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salalah
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Salalah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah is situated in 45 acres of lush tropical garden, overlooking the Indian Ocean and on a long stretch of pristine white sandy beach. The resort enjoys an ideal location for Business Traveler's, Meeting & Events and for Families. Just 10 minutes drive from the Salalah International Airport, 8 minutes from the city center and 15 minutes from the Port of Salalah. All 153 rooms including 9 suites and the 19 three-bedroom family villas are stylishly well appointed and equipped with private bathroom, radio, International direct dial telephone, voice mail, interactive television including satellite channels, and mini-fridge. The Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah boasts of the only 'Green' 9 hole Par 3 Golf Course in Oman. The THREE meeting rooms at the Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah are tailored to meet the ever-changing requirements of the discerning travelers and meeting communities alike. The ballroom is equipped and caters to any social or business event, such as gala dinner, wedding, cocktails, meetings, seminars and conferences, product launches and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah Hotel Salalah
Crowne Plaza Salalah
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salalah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.