We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful holiday hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Salalah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Salalah to your Saves list
Hilton Salalah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sultan Qaboos St, Po Box 699, Salalah 211, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Salalah
Voehringen, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Having travelled the world and stayed at so many good hotels we can congratulate wholeheartedly. All the members of the staff from reception, F&B, swimming pool and health centre are so well trained and friendly and eager to comply the guests´ wishes that we cannot but instantly feel the good spirit of the house and feel at home far from home. We want to point out that some members of the staff are even outstanding for their friendliness, courtesy and even cordiality.
We were very much impressed by the wonderful barbeque dinners on Thursday evenings, and the lot of work the staff had to accomplish to carry out all the furniture on the grass and lay the festive dinner tables. Afterwards they cleared everything so quickly, and next morning we could not notice any traces of what had been going on the night before - just like witchcraft.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader H, Manager at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Robby_Bambi, Many thanks for your constructive feedback and for giving us the chance to know about your experience. Pleased to learn about your satisfaction with your stay. Your comment as one of our most valuable guests is very much appreciated! Rest assured that myself and the hotel team will continue providing the excellent service which will keep you and your good family loyal to our company. looking forwarded to welcoming you back to our resort Till then, wish you and your good family all the best.
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    143
    61
    28
    4
See reviews for
95
162
30
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in November which is low season for this city but climate at this time of year is pleasant and although the hotel was full it didn't feel overcrowded. Staff here are excellent as mentioned in other reviews here and there's obviously a top down approach to service. We had a standard room and these are quite large, well appointed with a good king bed, seating area which included a settee and desk and chair. TV is 32" but channels are limited but still had BBC World. In-bath shower was good with a well designed shower curtain which didn't glue itself to your body as soon as the shower was turned on. All the usual room amenities that you would expect in a 5 star with the great exception of WiFi which was only available in 2 of the restaurants and wasn't reliable. Wired internet was available in the room but at a charge. When will hotel's stop ripping guests off for internet charges in-room at a rate that is greater on a daily basis that you would would pay for a whole month at home? Many are now beginning to realise that it's a reason to stay with them when you can get free WiFi throughout the property.
The hotel has 3 main restaurants and we tried 2, both of which were good (see separate reviews).
The beach is a brilliant stretch of white sand which has a view to the right of the container base about 2 km distance which might put some off but I found the coming and going of container ships quite relaxing. Indeed all the cranes at the base light up at night which gives the place a 'corniche' look. Biggest criticisms would be the sun beds which are a bit dated and rickety and the old fashioned towel service which requires a card for a towel which has to be returned to after the session to regain your card or you will be charged for the towel. Also one towel does not cover the sun bed. All a bit 3 star Spanish Costas of the 1980's!!
There's no pork station at breakfast so if you want proper bacon you'll be disappointed but there is beef bacon and turkey ham which is not to my taste but this is a Muslim country so expected.
We hired a local guide (Suhail Alkathiri) complete with Toyota Landcruiser for a couple of days recommended by the Concierge and had a very in-depth introduction to the area.
All in all a great hotel for exploring both east and west Salalah.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader H, Manager at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Rollsjohn, Many thanks for your constructive feedback and for giving us the chance to know about your experience. Pleased to learn about your satisfaction with your stay. Your comment as one of our most valuable guests is very much appreciated! Rest assured that myself and the hotel team will continue providing the excellent service which will keep you and your good family loyal to our company. looking forwarded to welcoming you back to our resort Till then, wish you and your good family all the best.
Wish you very nice day!
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had diverted my journey from Miami to Brussels, to Muscat and then Salalah so that I can once again enjoy their extraordinary hospitality
I was able to talk to so many members of the staff that I was oblivious to who else was staying there. The staff are happy to work there, they help each other and despite being from Egypt, Pakistan, India, Philippines, Indonesia, they are well integrated. It reflects well on the management and I was lucky to meet the GM, Mr Nader Halim.
Sumptuous breakfast, beach without an end, sky without a cloud, delightful cuisine at night.. and I had come to rest! This is an excellent place to forget about the rest of the world. Congratulations to you, Mr Halim

Room Tip: The suites facing the mountains are good, but it does not beat the seaview rooms. I was very happy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear aungkhant, Many thanks for your constructive feedback and for giving us the chance to know about your experience. Pleased to learn about your satisfaction with your stay and looking forwarded to welcoming you back to our resort Till then, wish you all the best.
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have been to Hilton Salalah several times, and had a very relaxing time each visit. The standard of the hotel is very good, with large comfortable rooms. The breakfast area which also serves as the buffet restaurant in the evening does not quite live up to 5 star quality any longer when it comes to the furnishing, and we miss the sushi restaurant which closed down. But what the hotel itself lacks in 5 star quality is more than compensated by staff giving you a positive and professional service with just the right personal touch. I dont have all the names but a few really stand out from our last visits. Bindu and Shirley in the restaurant. Philip at the reception, so nice and professional, really giving the best of service.
Some may perhaps find the distant view over Port of Salalah a bit disturbing, but once you are at the hotel you kind of get used to it, as well as the industrial area which can be seen in distance. Not ideal but give it a day and you no longer care, as you get settled quickly and enjoy the friendly and relaxing atmosphere of the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mrs_Sthlm, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Salalah Resort, Sultanate of Oman and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standard. Your positive scores about the overall satisfaction have been noted and shared with the team members (it really makes everyone so happy:-).Kindly be acknowledged that your comments regarding the breakfast area furniture are noted and will be communicated with the concerned department.Looking forwarded to welcoming you back to our resort till then, wish you and your good family all the best.
Have a very nice day!
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice hotel at a quite good location. Beautifull beach. Staff is there for you. Liked the breakfast choice. In-room internet has to be paid and free wi-fi at the specified spot sometimes works well sometimes does not. As i neede to be in the west of Salalah, this hotel was very well located.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear irmantas V,Thank you very much for you nice comment and looking forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future, till then, wish you all the best.
Kind regards
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I am a regular stayer at the Hilton Salalah.
The Salalah Hilton has all the amenities I require for an enjoyable stay.
Recent changes like the renovated "Sea Breezes" outdoor bar have added a further dimension to the Hotel.
I have always found the Hotel and staff both friendly and very welcoming through out my stays.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable and the sea view room we have has given us the opportunity to observe the dolphins each morning from our balcony.
This is quite an enjoyable and exciting occurence.
I therefore have no hesitation in giving the Salalah Hilton high praise for all aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Derek131, Many thanks for your constructive feedback and for giving us the chance to know about your experience. Pleased to learn about your satisfaction with your stay. Your comment as one of our most valuable guests is very much appreciated! Rest assured that myself and the hotel team will continue providing the excellent service which will keep you and your good family loyal to our company.
Wish you very nice day!
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Nice hotel to be honest, but not up to normal hilton standards. Nice to relax by the pool after a long flight so I was refreshed to join my ship the next day. Camel burger is very tasty and well worth trying! Rooms were not ready on our arrival and we had to wait up to two hrs. That may be my company's fault or the hotel though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Terry S ,
Many thanks for your constructive feedback and for giving us the chance to know about your experience. Pleased to learn about your satisfaction with your stay. Your comment as one of our most valuable guests is very much appreciated! Meantime, please accept my apology for the room incident.
Looking forwarded to welcoming you back to our resort till then, wish you all the best.
Have a very nice day!
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Salalah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Salalah

Address: Sultan Qaboos St, Po Box 699, Salalah 211, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Dhofar Governorate > Salalah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salalah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salalah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Salalah 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Salalah Resort is a relaxing retreat, surrounded by vibrant bougainvilleas and lush palm groves. This beachfront Salalah hotel is set amidst landscaped gardens and all of the Salalah hotel rooms and suites offer tranquil views of the Indian Ocean and Arabian Sea, as well as the dramatic Dhofar mountain range. Relax by the Hilton Salalah Resort's freeform pool overlooking the white-sandy beach, browse the shopping arcade, work out in the gym or unwind in 6 restaurants and bars at this Salalah hotel. Dine on fresh seafood at Palm Grove Restaurant or enjoy authentic Arabic Cuisine at Al Maha Restaurant. Sip your favorite cocktails in Sea Breeze Bar, located on the stunning beachfront, or treat yourself at Sheba's Steak House with premium steaks, flavorful sauces and matching wines. Pamper yourself with an outdoor massage in one of the Caribbean style beach pavilions at this Salalah hotel, entertain the kids in the playground or enjoy a day sightseeing and visit the Old Souk, the Bird Sanctuary or follow the Frankincense trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Salalah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Salalah Hotel Salalah
Hilton International Salalah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Salalah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.