We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Salalah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Salalah to your Saves list
Hilton Salalah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sultan Qaboos St, Po Box 699, Salalah 211, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Salalah
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Salalah Resort from 24-28 July 2013. It was chosen as it had the best overall recommendations of the three international chains in Salalah (the other two being the Marriott and the Crowne Plaza). Arrived for check-in at 2am. Receptionists extremely friendly and showed us to our room quickly. Special mention to Jose and Florian for their hospitality. The only problem came upon check-out where it took 20 minutes, even though we were the only ones at the counter. The staff on that particular shift were unhelpful.

The most disappointing aspect of the hotel was definitely the room. It was musty and full of insects. The rooms are tired and outdated and they are definitely not "Hilton" standard.

The rest of the facilities in the hotel are limited - only two restaurants currently open. Fairly reasonable food. The pool is nothing special and it somehow manages to have a bit of a budget hotel feel about it.

If you plan to use the room simply as a base to go out and explore the surrounding area, the hotel is still recommended and hopefully the rooms will be renovated in due course. Location wise, it is good, but hiring a car is essential. On a final note, non-Muslims should consider that Salalah is quiet during Ramadan and that being able to eat, smoke or drink outside of your bedroom is not possible during daylight hours.

Room Tip: The rooms are divided into "A Wing" and "B Wing". The A Wing offers pool and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear brettkershaw, I would like to start my reply with an appreciation note for the constructive and detailed feedback and pointing to the good things which you have experienced in our resort. Kindly be acknowledged that your comments are noted and will be communicated with the concerned department. Please feel free to contact me personally for the next visit while I ensure you that the team and I will do the utmost to accommodate all of your requests and preferences. Look forward to welcoming you back to or little paradise' Hilton Salalah Resort ' in the very near future.Kind regards
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    145
    64
    28
    4
See reviews for
97
164
31
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salalah, Oman
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This Hotel & Resort at the Bank of Indian sea, it suitable for leisure, Business trip, family vacation and to spend good time with Friends too. The staff is well educated and friendly in nature. You can expect all latest amenities like Swimming pool, Gym, Children play area, beach, good breakfast, free wi-fi (limited areas) varieties of food options around clock, laundry. The rooms are also well maintained and personal care taken by staff upon special request. The personnel is friendly & flexible. During Khareef season Salalah is good place to visit and sea around. Do not expect free Internet at room and Vegetarians has very limited options to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Chandra S, Many thanks for your constructive feedback and for giving us the chance to know about your experience. Pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive scores about the overall satisfaction have been noted and shared with the team members. Looking forwarded to welcoming you back to our resort till then, wish you and your good family all the best.
Have a very nice day!
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doha, Qatar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

it was a very good stay with all comforts and facilities. The location and views also are very good. Next time when I come to Salalah, definitely I will stay in Hilton. As a travel agent I will strongly recommend my valued clients to stay will Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Sayed Mohammed, Many thanks for your constructive feedback and for giving us the chance to know about your experience. Pleased to learn about your satisfaction with your stay and looking forwarded to welcoming you back to our resort. Till then, wish you and your good family all the best.
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muscat, Oman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

very good to stay and secirity wise its very nice and open for all. nice view from anyside of the hotel. it was very nice experience. need to arrange more activity for kids. hotel staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Vikas C, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you took to send us this message regarding your recent stay in our Resort. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to make your experience memorable. Please rest assured that your comments will be passed on to the relevant departments for their review and immediate follow up.Looking forwarded to welcoming you back to our resort till then, wish you and your good family all the best.Kind regards
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hitlon has always been our escape in Salalah. We enjoyed spending time by the pool,dining in the restaurants ,playing tennis i can definitively say it has really changed in the past 5 years. We loved the Sea Breez and the freshness it brought to the hotel,the food and location are great,lovely parties,really friendly and helpful staff.
I will always miss the time we spent at the Hilton and will always be one of my favorite hotels.
I highly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Suzy A, Many thanks for your constructive feedback and for giving us the chance to know about your experience. Pleased to learn about your satisfaction with your stay. Your comment as one of our most valuable guests is very much appreciated. Rest assured that myself and the hotel team will continue providing the excellent service which will keep you and your good family loyal to our company. looking forwarded to welcoming you back to our resort Till then, wish you and your good family all the best.
Wish you very nice day!
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel needs urgently a renovation and they really should focus on insulation against humidity which is creating an uncomfortable and bad smelling environment. The room furniture are old and at least is should be polished to look decent for a Hilton hotel. Restaurants are average in variety of choices and taste, nothing special and this is a pity because this could have been their competitive advantage as the area has nothing special to compete with. Only Staff saves the day, which is very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Stavros C,Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Salalah Resort, Sultanate of Oman and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standard. Rest assured that the management has seriously taken your valuable comment into consideration for the immediate action. We look forward to welcoming you once more to Hilton Salalah Resort .Kind regards
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hilton is located away from the main Salalah town, towards the Salalah port, on your way to the breathtaking Mughsayl Bay Beach and Marneef Caves. Perhaps it's the only decent resort-type 5 star property in Salalah - even though there are a couple of brand names available as options.

The hotel can be singled out for its steady relaxed setting, its great housekeeping and room services, its garden at the back with pool, its excellent in-house restaurants, bars, and of course its great rooms - quite big ones even at the entry level. The backside long open beach with white sands, is not hotel maintained, but can be accessed independently, as many visitors do. We particularly enjoyed the long walks in the gardens within the property, which offers mysriad vies of the ocean nearby and the adjacent greens. One can really have a relaxed stay for 3-5 days, in absolute peace, without the hustle bustle and commercial manifestations.

We stayed in the hotel during Ramadan, and despite Ramadan restrictions, were able to have sumptuous buffet breakfast expected out of such a property, at the Al Maha Restaurant. The Palm Grove Restaurant is one place perfect for a relaxed evening facing the ocean, while you listen to the waves. The seafood ordered was served hot and I can still feel the delectable taste of the lobster fresh on my tongue.

A few areas which perhaps could be addressed by the hotel management are:
1) Improve Access to the hotel from the main road. Currently one has to take a long drive ahead and then take a U-turn, to reach hotel
2) Staff Training - Particularly the Omani staff needs to be trained, as they sometimes seemed to dumb in reactions - although always friendly and eager to help.
3) Damp Smell coming out of AC Blower - Salalah being a humid place, is prone to remain always a bit moist everywhere - even in dry season. Hence the AC seems to be not working even though you feel the difference when out in the open.
4) Color / Decor within rooms - The one which we stayed was done in Blue and Yellow dominant setting, which seemed quite awkward / cheap at first sight, given the sophistication and quality of the hotel.

Despite the above drawbacks, the hotel is a great place to relax and de-stressed.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors at the backside facing ocean are great. Choose winter for relaxation. Avoid Kh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoumayaBenAli, Executive Secretary at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Shantanusengpta, Many thanks for your constructive feedback and for giving us the chance to know about your experience. Pleased to learn about your satisfaction with your stay. Please rest assured that your comments will be passed on to the relevant departments for their review and immediate follow up.Look forward to welcoming you back to or little paradise' Hilton Salalah Resort ' in the very near future.
Kind regards
Soumaya Ben Ali
On behalf of
Nader Halim
General Manager
Hilton Salalah Resort
nader.halim@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Salalah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Salalah

Address: Sultan Qaboos St, Po Box 699, Salalah 211, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Dhofar Governorate > Salalah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salalah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salalah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Salalah 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Salalah Resort is a relaxing retreat, surrounded by vibrant bougainvilleas and lush palm groves. This beachfront Salalah hotel is set amidst landscaped gardens and all of the Salalah hotel rooms and suites offer tranquil views of the Indian Ocean and Arabian Sea, as well as the dramatic Dhofar mountain range. Relax by the Hilton Salalah Resort's freeform pool overlooking the white-sandy beach, browse the shopping arcade, work out in the gym or unwind in 6 restaurants and bars at this Salalah hotel. Dine on fresh seafood at Palm Grove Restaurant or enjoy authentic Arabic Cuisine at Al Maha Restaurant. Sip your favorite cocktails in Sea Breeze Bar, located on the stunning beachfront, or treat yourself at Sheba's Steak House with premium steaks, flavorful sauces and matching wines. Pamper yourself with an outdoor massage in one of the Caribbean style beach pavilions at this Salalah hotel, entertain the kids in the playground or enjoy a day sightseeing and visit the Old Souk, the Bird Sanctuary or follow the Frankincense trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Salalah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Salalah Hotel Salalah
Hilton International Salalah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Salalah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.