We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3* Hotel with 4* facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruwi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ruwi Hotel to your Saves list
Ruwi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P. O. Box 2195, Ruwi 112, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ruwi
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great 3* Hotel with 4* facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Ruwi Hotel is located in Ruwi, Muscat.
Hotel is 5 min walk away from Ruwi town with many shopping, restaurants ike Indian & Arabic food, KFC & Saravana Bahwan Vegetarian restaurant (well known South Indian vegetarian restaurant with branches in major cities of the work like London, New York, Dubai & Kuala Lumpur amongst others.
Rooms are spacious with window facing either Ruwi town or rocky hills, clean with big bathroom, large long writing table, minbar, and sofa. Basic bathroom amenities like toothbrush, soaps, shampoo's & shower caps. Hot water shower (nath tub / shower) works extremely well.
There is a medium sized open air pool, with covered sitting area (good working area in mornings), 1 restaurants that serves a good buffet breakfast (with made to order egg counter), lunch & diiner. There is a meeting hall too. Lobby is spacious with sitting sofa & bathroom in lobby area. Friendly service. There is a bar with live Filipino ban. Even though it is officially 3*. I will rate it 4*

Room Tip: Th eroom facing Ruwi town have better view ( right side of reception)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Ruwi Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We at Ruwi Hotel- Muscat, sincerely thank you for patronizing our hotel and posting your comments on trip advisor.

The management of Ruwi Hotel is endeavored to provide all our guests “a quality product which has excellent value for money”.

Thank you once again for posting your comments on trip advisor and we look forward to welcome you again at Ruwi Hotel - Muscat

Harsha Theverapperuma
General Manager
Ruwi Hotel,
Muscat /Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    89
    55
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
40
52
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is ok, although the restaurant is poor and the service isn't great, the pool side bar is good. I travel to Muscat quite a lot and would stay here again, although I prefer to stay at other hotels

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Ruwi Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We at Ruwi Hotel- Muscat, sincerely thank you for patronizing our hotel and posting your comments on trip advisor.
We are pleased to inform you that rooms are being upgraded by introducing LCD television units and in room tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast menus at the coffee shop have been upgraded with more western food on the buffet. The training programmes on customer courtesies and guest relations are being conducted in order to provide better services to our valued guests.

The management of Ruwi Hotel is endeavored to provide all our guests “a quality product which has excellent value for money”.

Thank you once again for posting your comments on trip advisor and we look forward to welcome you again at Ruwi Hotel - Muscat


Yours sincerely,

Harsha Theverapperuma
General Manager
Ruwi Hotel-Muscat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This 3* hotel gives excellent value for the price. It is very conveniently situated by the Ruwi roundabout which gives easy motoring access to Muscat, the beaches at Qurm or the airport etc. Parking is free and the restaurants and shopping in Ruwi are minutes away by foot. The hotel staff were always wonderfully helpful. Unlimited free wifi is available in bedrooms and public areas (unlike many other hotels). Breakfast is excellent. Rooms are very comfortable. Comparing this hotels with others in the price range, it offers good value. All staff speak good English. It is relaxing to sit by the pool or in the lobby. I have been twice over the last few months and will return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain have more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Ruwi Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

We at Ruwi Hotel- Muscat, sincerely thank you for patronizing our hotel and posting your comments on trip advisor.

The accommodation facilities are being further upgraded by introducing in room tea/coffee making facilities and LCD televisions. The management of Ruwi Hotel is endeavored to provide all our guests “a quality product which has excellent value for money”.

Thank you once again for posting your comments on trip advisor and we look forward to welcome you again at Ruwi Hotel - Muscat

Your sincerely,

Harsha Theverapperuma
General Manager
Ruwi Hotel-Muscat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seongnam
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The location was bit hard to get to with a rental car. Ruwi area is the most confusing section of Muscat to drive in and we struggled to get there at first. However, they were cool about us checking in early. They also let us check out late at 4pm without additional charge. Couple of bars are on site but prices are outrageous. Pool outside is pretty decent and they allow people to use it until 10pm. Wifi is pretty weak and you won’t be able to get any important stuff done since it’s so slow. Prices of hotels in Muscat seem high in general anyway, so I’d recommend a better location such as Mutrah, Old Muscat, or Qurm. The room was okay, not dirty but old. I found it adequate for my 2 nights though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Ruwi Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We at Ruwi Hotel- Muscat, sincerely thank you for patronizing our hotel and posting your comments on trip advisor.
We are pleased to inform you that Wi-Fi connectivity at Ruwi Hotel is upgraded, please also note that rooms are upgraded with special amenities such as in room tea/coffee making facilities and LCD televisions. We have also introduced special beverage promotions in our restaurants and bars.

The management of Ruwi Hotel is endeavored to provide all our guests “a quality product which has excellent value for money”.

Thank you once again for posting your comments on trip advisor and we look forward to welcome you again at Ruwi Hotel - Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Good location in Ruwi area (central but slightly away) and a short drive to the corniche...very close to where you can get cabs and minibuses (and buses if you are going out of town) but watch crossing the roads near the roundabout!
Rooms were nice.
Staff were ok but not overly helpful...don't expect them to go out of their way to help you get around or to recommend anything (a chapter from lonely planet is more reliable).
Internet and computer near lobby was VERY SLOW!
Breakfast was good and restaurant staff were attentive but room service seemed pretty expensive.
Seemed a bit pricey for what it was but looks like that's just how it is for Muscat hotels...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Ruwi Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We at Ruwi Hotel- Muscat, sincerely thank you for patronizing our hotel and posting your comments on trip advisor.
We are pleased to inform you that Wi-Fi connectivity at Ruwi Hotel is upgraded and special food and beverage promotions have been introduced in our restaurants and bars. The training programmes on customer courtesies and general knowledge on surrounding areas are being conducted in order to provide better services to our valued guests.

The management of Ruwi Hotel is endeavored to provide all our guests “a quality product which has excellent value for money”.

Thank you once again for posting your comments on trip advisor and we look forward to welcome you again at Ruwi Hotel - Muscat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Hi,
I stayed at Ruwi for 3 nights. The hotel is located a taxi/drive away from main attractions, however it is convenient to get on freeways to go out of town if you have a car. I also found it handy to explore Muscat, Muttrah and Al-Qurum beach, as the hotel is smack half way between these towns.

Reception stuff have been helpful and even found me a car to rent. the rental company brought the car to the hotel for me.
My travel notes you may find useful. http://travel-notepad.blogspot.com/2012/01/oman-travel.html

Room Tip: Choose a room that is as high up as possible as they have a noisy club downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Ruwi Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Ruwi Hotel is a hotel priced at three star rate with four star facilities. Also its in the heart of the city,so your travelling expenses is also reduced since you have walking distance access to shopping malls etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I was busy in the city and wanted to relax so I went directly to the hotel. With the price of the room, it is just fine. A clean hotel with ample storage space in the room. I was in the sixth floor which was quiet. Although the toilet was old but it was clean and the WC was a new one. The hotel is located very close to the busy Ruwi high street where various types of shops are available. Clinics, hospitals, malls are close to this hotel. Buses and taxes are easily available 2-5 minutes’ walk.

I checked in the morning at 0920 and checked out in mid night.

Room Tip: The higher the better, away from noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Ruwi Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We at Ruwi Hotel- Muscat, sincerely thank you for patronizing our hotel and posting your comments on trip advisor.
We are pleased to inform you that rooms are being upgraded by introducing LCD television units and in room tea/coffee making facilities.

The management of Ruwi Hotel is endeavored to provide all our guests “a quality product which has excellent value for money”.

Thank you once again for posting your comments on trip advisor and we look forward to welcome you again at Ruwi Hotel - Muscat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruwi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruwi Hotel

Address: P. O. Box 2195, Ruwi 112, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Ruwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ruwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruwi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ruwi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruwi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.