We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASANT STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Falaj Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Al Falaj Hotel to your Saves list
Al Falaj Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 2031, Ruwi 112, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Ruwi
Madurai, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“PLEASANT STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Front desk staff was very helpfull.Japanese restaurans is very famous in town as well as the tasty food served there.Rooms are nice and renovated.Housekeeping staff is very friendly. Souk cafe served breakfast which has many variaties.

Room Tip: new wing rooms with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Client

We appreciate your comments and your valuable time taken to give us your valuable opinion about our services. Without such feedback we will not be able improve our services or upkeep our standards.
It is always good to hear from clients when things are right. Thank you once again taking sometime to tell our clients about our services and products.
Kind Regards
General Manager
Binny Ramachandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    138
    80
    18
    11
See reviews for
34
64
37
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

supposed to be the oldest and most traditional hotel of muscat. very good rooms and the renovation done will definitely keep you happy meeting the present day standards.

decently priced and centrally located and very famous around there

food and the bar also good

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Client

It is wonderful to hear frorm valuable clients and get their feedback .I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services exceeded your expectations. In reference to your comments about our room yes we are very competitively priced hotel with recently refurbished rooms and lobby. It is the oldest and one of the well known properties in Muscat.

Thank you once again and choosing Hotel Al Falaj as your preferred place of stay in Oman.
Look forward to see you once again next time you are in Muscat.
Kind Regards
General Manager
Binny Ramachandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed this wonderful hotel last weak. excellent service and the breakfast is great. The restaurant in 8th floor is excellent in service and quality. the rooms are spacious and clean bathroom. we have enjoyed our stay, and we will always recommend this property for business and leisure trips.

Room Tip: Good Location Value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Client

We appreciate your comments and sparing your valuable time to give us your feedback. It is very heartwarming for us to hear that you enjoy your stay with us and our services to exceed your expectations. I have taken notice of your comments about our food and thanked our Kitchen team for that.

Thank you once again and choosing Hotel Al Falaj as your preferred place of stay in Oman.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Binny Ramachandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Located in a great area where all the business hubs are near by. If you have to up to ruwi souk it's just 1km away. Same as banking and commercial area. Mathra souk is the traditional shopping and leisure destination you can calm your self in the evening. Breakfast room was delighting as well as the helpful staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guests
Thank you for writing about our services and thank you for choosing Al Falaj Hotel as your preferred place of stay in Oman. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and find our staff very attentive.
Look forward to serve you once again next time you visiting Muscat.
One again think you for the feed back

Kind Regards
Benny Ramachandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very good location. Value for money. Good food excelkent service. Friendly staff. I will deffenitely recommend this property. Will be back soon.
Me and our team had a wonderfull stay this hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Client,
Your response is very encouraging to the entire team. we are happy that your experience with us is as per your expectation. Thank you for taking the time to write about us. we appreciate our clients who write about their experience with us. This is the only way we could get the endorsement of the good quality service we provide to our guests.
We are committed to give an exceptional service to our clients at the highest level and feedback from clients help us in this achieving this. Thank you for the complements and on behalf the team thank you again for your choosing Al FALAJ Hotel as your prefer place of stay We look forward to welcome you again next time you’re in Muscat..
Kind Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have just returned from a 14 day tour of Oman and Salalah and as part of our package we stayed at the Al Falaj Hotel and I do not believe this was worth the 4 star rating it has and I know you get what you pay for and for us it was just a place to rest our heads at night time. 1) The breakfast bar was good and Santoosh (think thats his name) the waiter was fantastic, wifi available in all areas which was pretty good. 2) The front counter staff were not at all over friendly, the two supervisors in the restaurant were very serious and smiling almost seemed like an effort, the rooms were very average and a little outdated and our mini bar was not even stocked with any drinks of any kind and most hotels in Oman give you a couple of complimentary bottles of water each day but not at the Al Falaj, it needs a cafe as the one it has is very ordinary and just stuck there and never looked like it was open.

The hotel is within 3km from the souq but appart from that it is a little out of the way.
This is quite an old hotel and I think for that price you could find something a little more comforting.

By the way this was our second visit to Oman and our trip was fantastic.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke make sure you ask for the non smoking level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you for your feedback and alerting us to the experience you had with us during your stay.. We do appologsie and . certainly understand your frustration for not having your expectation met.
We have taken a note of you comments about about our staff at the restaurant and front of house and we will certainly be using this information in our training program’s to improve quality of our services.
In reference to your remarks about the hotel it may of ineterst to you that Al Falaj Hotel is a well known and of the oldest and most competitively priced Four star hotel in town. recently.All our rooms and bathrooms and ,Lobby, Restaurants have been fully refurbished very recently around traditional Omani Cultures.
In all our rooms we provide fully stocked Mini Bars. In addition to that we provide Coffee making facilities and two bottles of water free of charge to all our clients and replenished daily. We have a Souk Café opened form 6.00 am in the morning till 12.00 Midnight.
One can reach most major location from the hotel within 15 minutes distance and very close to some of the forts and museums.
Please get in touch with us directly when you are in Muscat next time so that we will make your stay memorable one.
Once again Please accept our sincere apologies. We appreciate your business and will do everything we can to serve your needs.
Kind Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruwi hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is dreadful. I just checked in and got a room on the 6 floor. The window was not closing properly and you could loudly hear the propellers from the AC on the ground floor. So I asked for another room. On the 4 floor, facing the other side, it is exactly the same. Loud AC propellers on the ground floor. The room is very small and smelly, there is some dirt on the bathroom door which cannot be identified. Also the walls would urgently need a reprinting. The bathroom is unhygienic and I would not enter without shoes. There is also no nice view at all. This is by far one of the worst rooms I have ever had. Don't come here you'll regret it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Client
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your unfortunate experience during your stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the status of your room. It may of be of interest to you that all our rooms are recently refurbished this include all our bathrooms too. All our rooms have either the city view with the view of Majestic Mountain of Muscat or the sea view of the Arabian sea..I have taken up your comments about room cleanliness with our Housekeeping staff and we will looking in to the details. We have a firm commitment to our clients to provide exceptionally good quality service and value for money accommodation. Thanks again for your helpful suggestions on ways to improve our services.
One again thank you for wring to us about your experience and we do apologies for the awful experience .Please do get in touch with us directly next time you are in Muscat .So that we could take care of your stay personally and make your stay as memorable one, .your valuable feedback certainly help us improve our services
We look forward to see you one again next time you are in Muscat.
Kind Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Falaj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Falaj Hotel

Address: PO Box 2031, Ruwi 112, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Ruwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Ruwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Falaj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Al Falaj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Falaj Muscat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Falaj Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.