We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Hotel

Save Saved
You added Safari Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 202, Nizwa 611, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Nizwa
Lancashire England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights, one being New Years Eve. The hotel is very basic and plain, and clearly requires a lot of maintenance, repair work and in parts needs finishing off. Our room was not very impressive it lacked comfort, decent decoration and imagination and was not as clean as I expect. Breakfast was nothing special either, there wasn’t much choice or quantity at all and it wasn’t organised well enough to cope with the number of people. The staff were pleasant enough but I can’t really recommend this hotel.
The hotel does not sell alcohol so on New Years Eve we went down the road to the Golden Tulip Hotel which looked a much better place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in November 2009 and booked it last minute because it was advertised as having a pool but on arrival it was closed for maintainance. I passed by the Safari again in November 2012 and stopped by. On speaking to the receptionist he told me that the pool was stillnot working and they had no plans to re-open it. Whilst I didn't stay here this time it looked no different to 2009 although a large LuLu supermarket is now open directly opposite.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nizwa hotels

Zwolle, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

You need a car to go to Nizwa. Breakfast was ok. The swimmingpool was empty. I really missed the (easy to create) opportunity to eat the breakfast in de open air in stead of the warm dining room. Positive: friendly guy at the reception and the possiblity to go (for free) on internet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had to stay here as everything decent in or near Nizwa was fully booked during the Eid break. There were three of us; a couple and a single, so we asked for a roll- away bed for the single. We received a dirty thin mattress to put on the floor and a dirty, lumpy pillow with no pillow case! The place was not clean, the shower head was broken so could be hand held only and the 1 towel looked like a cleaning rag or pet towel. Add to this the four flights of stairs with our own bags, as the lift was not working and it was definitely a negative experience. In the morning the view of the mountains was nice but looking down we spotted the empty, dirt pool; oh dear. Breakfast was included but in shabby surroundings and a limited selection. At 40 Omani rial this was not cheap....To be avoided if possible.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This hotel is located some way outside Nizwa - on a busy road - near the Firq rounderbout
this is good for long distance bus connections to Muscat, Salalah and beyond Nizwa
it was clean and met our basic needs
the swimming pool was empty, the lift was not working, and there was no security box (not reception/room)
recommended only if you need to visit Nizwa and everywhere else is full or beyond your budget

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

The safari hotel is a simple hotel, just okay for one night. It is not as clean and tidy as all the other hotels we have visited in Oman, but because of the fact that all other hotels were fully booked we had to choose this place.

The good thing is that it is close to the Spicy village restaurant, which is the finest and oldest multi-cuisine restaurant chain in Oman.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I think Safari is an ok place to stay one or two nights. We checked in total four different hotels in Nizwa and the others were either overpriced or disgusting. The location is quite far from the center but non of the hotels in Nizwa are in the town center and you would need a car anyway.
Our room was reasonable clean but don’t expect much for OR30 in Oman. Hotel prices in this country are high and never good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Hotel

Address: PO Box 202, Nizwa 611, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Nizwa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Nizwa
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safari Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.