We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alila Jabal Akhdar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alila Jabal Akhdar to your Saves list
Alila Jabal Akhdar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot No 4 Al Roose Jabal Al Akhdar, Nizwa, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nizwa
Salon de provence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent two days at the Alila Resort and I must say we definitely loved the time there. The place is amazing and the view is breathtaking.
People are very nice and warm. The infinity-edge-pool gives a fantastic view on the mountains surounding the resort.
If you go over there, and you really should, take time to enjoy the sunset.
The perfect place to rest isolated from the rest of the world in an fantastic spot.
Prices are very correct for such an hotel and the food was very good.
Just perfect !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    39
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
88
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Last Saturday we drove for more that 2 hours from Muscat to visit this hotel. We arrived to the gate and the guard asked us if we had a reservation. We explained him that we just wanted to have a look. He said that he needed to ask his manager because we couldn't enter without a reservation. After waiting still in our car on the front gate, the guard came and told us that was impossible to enter inside because it was weekend and the hotel was full. We tried to explain that we have driven more than 2 hours to arrive and that we just wanted to see the property, the landscape and what they offer to plan a visit with some other people, and due that we were both working the rest of the week, it would be imposible for us to come another day. The answer was NO.
I just wanted to say that we never felt so openly rejected to enter a place with the only intention to have a look and decide to make a reservation for another weekend.
If this is the way that you treat your guest or potential guests, I this the direction should review some things and some manners.
For sure, we will not come back and we will absolutely not reccomend this place to nobody.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

So a couple of weeks after the soft opening of the hotel and still with many rooms not available the hotel was very quiet, we stayed for 4 days which was about the right length of visit. The setting and views are fantastic - it is a beautiful design and cannot be faulted. The mountain view suite was gorgeous and made for a very relaxing stay. The pool area is elegant and the pool itself is a lovely design. There are 2 outdoor jacuzzis but unfortunately these did not work until the day we were leaving. The spa is perfect, Balinese staff amazing massage and products - best part of the hotel at the moment. Restaurant had a number of issues - limited menu with items not available, service variable and quality ok. This will improve if suppliers are better and once staff are fully trained. No alcohol kept the bill down - should be in place in a couple of months. All the staff were incredibly friendly and responsive - just not quite up to speed yet. In a few months the hotel will be a must visit destination. So 9/10 for effort, 6/10 for restaurant, 10/10 Spa and 9/10 for staff attitude and helpfulness.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The long drive from Dubai (5 and 1/2 hrs) was certainly worth it. The scenery is spectacular and the temperature was 25 C during the day and 15C at night! Perfect after 40 C in Dubai.we stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which was huge! Bathrooms lovely and the sitting rooms nicely furnished in a simple, rustic style. The Spa was wonderful and the staff throughout the hotel were all amazing- helpful and friendly always! My only major gripe would be that the menu is still very limited ( but as the hotel has only just opened I would expect that to improve dramatically.)
Just sitting on the terrace by the pool and looking at such amazing scenery was just magical!
All in all a wonderful place to relax for a few days to recharge!

Room Tip: Take a good pair of walking shoes as it is very rocky but certainly wonderful to explore the nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Incredible hotel high in the mountains, 2 + hours from Muscat. Newly opened, sits beautifully in her surroundings, very sensitive architecture.
At this time of the year, when temperatures in Muscat hover around 45deg. it's a joy to be in a 30 deg climate. The hotel is child friendly, sadly, there is only one, very large swimming pool, full of noisy children & their equally noisy parents. The rooms facing the pool became very loud until late at night.
The hotel needs to either build another pool further away from the main hotel for kids or ban them!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel, not facing the pool,outside villas are too awkward to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

A new hotel with character, a great site, and very good food.

We (two couples) caught site of this hotel and had to stop and check it out. We ended up stopping for lunch. We sampled all their salads - first rate, enjoyed cool drinks - refreshing and took in the view from the patio - amazing.

We could not stay but it is on our to do list.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Went there with a few friends. Left Muscat at 10am when it was 37 degrees and got to Alila by 12pm to 24 degrees. This is amazing for the month of May! The resort looks really good. All the buildings are made of the local stone so does not look out of place. The gym is small but very functional, and the pool is excellent with an infinity edge and views of the canyon. The only thing that they need to improve is the food. This is acceptable as they just opened last week. Still no liquor license but they are accepting it soon. Vet friendly staff. All in all a great experience. Will definitely go back. A good getaway during the hot summer months!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alila Jabal Akhdar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Jabal Akhdar

Address: Plot No 4 Al Roose Jabal Al Akhdar, Nizwa, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Nizwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nizwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Jabal Akhdar 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Alila Jabal Akhdar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alila Jabal Akhdar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.