We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore the interior of Oman” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Nizwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Nizwa to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Nizwa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hai a Thurat, Nizwa 611, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Nizwa
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good base to explore the interior of Oman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is large and busy, though we were pleasantly surprised with the fact that it is quiet once in the room and if you eat inside, as we did both nights, it doesn't feel too crowded at all. I agree with the room tip - we had a room with a terrace onto a courtyard which was very pleasant indeed. Breakfast was fine, though very much caters for the international traveller so my husband was a little disappointed there wasn't more in the way of Middle Eastern cuisine. Having said this, the spread was good and I'm sure there'd be something for all tastes. The carpark is big (which was really important to us driving a 4x4 for the first time, which we'd just picked up at Muscat Airport!!). There are LOADS of things to do within a few hours' drive if you have a vehicle. We found it hard to find the hotel at dusk, as the maps we had didn't really tally with the road (welcome to Oman!), so maybe familiarise yourself with the location a bit better than we did...

Room Tip: A room onto the courtyard, not the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Tulip N, Sales Coordinator at Golden Tulip Nizwa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel! Thank you very much for taking your time to review us. We are pleased that your stay has been comfortable and that the breakfast spread has met your expectations. Your suggestion on the Middle Eastern variety has been noted as well.

On another hand, we regret that you encountered difficulties in finding our location. Our GPS coordinates are published on all our online channels and a static map is available on our Facebook page too.

We hope that you left from us with good memories and should you visit Nizwa again, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.


Best regards,

Mirela Sterea

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    82
    33
    5
    0
See reviews for
31
67
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent two very pleasant nights at The Golden Tulip Nizwa while exploring the villages of Jebel Akhdar. Golden Tulip is about 20 km from Nizwa and very close to Birkat al Mauz--the gateway to Jebel Akhdar.
The spacious lobby and interiors are decorated in lavish Omani style and are colourful and welcoming.

We had a large, well appointed room overlooking a quiet courtyard and enjoyed the peaceful surroudings.The room had tea and coffee facilities,a safe, tv and wifi. Our experience would have been further enhanced by a working exhaust fan in the bathroom.

The breakfast buffet was varied and well cooked and the menus for other meals had many options.The Golden Tulip is in a rather isolated location and there are no other food outlets nearby. The hotel offers packed lunches to carry on trips.

The swimming pool and surrounding area seemed popular with families and is a lovely place to relax after a day's exploring.

The hotel is ideal if you want to spend time in the many villages and orchards of Jebel Akhdar. We enjoyed returning to the peace and comfort the hotel offered after driving up and down the mountains every day and hope to return!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Tulip N, Sales Coordinator at Golden Tulip Nizwa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel! Thank you very much for your generous and extensive feedback shared with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you have enjoyed each and every aspect of your stay. Our talented team members take every effort to create wonderful memories for each of our guests. Should you visit Nizwa again, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back and on behalf of the team, many thanks for your genuine comments.


Best regards,

Mirela Sterea

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Golden Tulip is a great place to be, but not a great place to get to. While the inside of the hotel is well appointed and the facilities are excellent, the location several km outside Nizwa means that this is not a great place to explore the town from. The swimming pool and the food are both worth a special mention though. Wifi however was very slow (though I opted for the free rather than the premium version).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Tulip N, Sales Coordinator at Golden Tulip Nizwa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel! Thank you very much for taking your time to review us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our facilities, food and swimming pool. Our dedicated team members take every effort to create wonderful memories for each of our guests.

Concerning the remote location, it was projected to serve as a starting point to the main local attractions, be it Jabal Akhdar, Birkat Al Mawz or Nizwa city. As most of our guests come either to explore the area or just to unwind by our relaxing swimming pool, the serenity of the premises proves to be very restful after a busy day tour trip or a long working week.

Should you decide to visit us again, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back and many thanks once more for your genuine feedback.


Best regards,

Mirela Sterea

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent one night here while touring with Oman Day Tours. The hotel seems new, quite big, but perhaps above all feels a bit like a place where tourists come in busloads to spend their nights on their way somewhere else. It's near Nizwa, but certainly not close enough to walk. It's in a quiet location and the rooms were quiet -both very important for us. It seems just right for what we needed it for - a night between two days of seeing the sights. Friendly staff, clean rooms, decent enough restaurant...works for me.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Tulip N, Sales Coordinator at Golden Tulip Nizwa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel! Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with our TripAdvisor community. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you left with beautiful memories. Our talented team members spare no effort to accommodate each of our guests. Should you visit Nizwa again, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back and many thanks once more for your genuine comments.


Best regards,

Mirela Sterea

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is a very good business standard hotel with larger than usual rooms and every facility wished for. Very clean rooms with a terrace (or balcony) are nice for couples and with its size also an option for families.

Impressive is the evening dining facility next to the pool in the hotel garden with a buffet worth some 5* hotel.

Room Tip: If possible avoid the ground floor rooms at the pool garden as evening dining activities are happeni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Tulip N, Sales Coordinator at Golden Tulip Nizwa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel! Thank you very much for taking your time to review us. We are absolutely delighted that you have enjoyed each and every aspect of your stay. Our talented team members take every effort to create wonderful memories for each of our guests. It will be definitely our pleasure to welcome you back in the future and many thanks once again for your genuine feedback.


Best regards,

Mirela Sterea

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This is probably Nizwa's most luxurious hotel although in truth it is about 11kms outside the town just off a main road but at the foot of the mountains. I only stopped here for a bite to eat so cant comment on accommodation. However it is certainly a fine hotel which would definitely be your choice if you were looking for the kind of facilities you would expect from a quality establisment. Expect to pay the prices that go with it, but the hotel is attractive, boasts excellent facilities and good service.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Tulip N, Sales Coordinator at Golden Tulip Nizwa, responded to this review, March 29, 2015
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel! Thank you very much for taking your time to review us. We are very pleased that our quality standards have met your expectations and that you found our property to be very attractive. Our talented team members spare no effort in creating wonderful memories for each of our guests.

Should you visit Nizwa again, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back and many thanks for recommending our hotel to our TripAdvisor community.


Best regards,

Mirela Sterea

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

decent hotel around nizwa as they have very few start properties. very close to HM palace so a lot of dignitaries stay here often. they have a good pool and out door restaurant. property is little far away form nizwa city . however its worth the distance to go for.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Tulip N, Sales Coordinator at Golden Tulip Nizwa, responded to this review, March 25, 2015
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel! Thank you very much for taking your time to review us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in our property and that you left from us with good memories.

The location itself is at the crossroad of main tourist attractions like Jabal Akhdar, Birkat Al Mawz village or Nizwa city and proves to be very restful after a busy exploring day trip. The serenity of the premises is sought for long lazy weekends alike.

Should you visit Nizwa again, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back and many thanks for your genuine feedback.


Best regards,

Mirela Sterea

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Nizwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Nizwa

Address: Hai a Thurat, Nizwa 611, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Nizwa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Nizwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Nizwa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel is a 4 star deluxe property built in the charming traditional Omani style architecture. Recently renovated, the hotel is furnished with care and beautiful taste offering all the comforts and amenities for business and leisure travellers alike. The 120 rooms property is surrounded by rugged Hajjar Mountains range and is strategically located for adventure tours through Oman's exciting interiors. The dramatic sceneries around the hotel are soften only by the renowned local hospitality. The famous Omani dates and kahwa (coffee) which welcome guests from the four winds in the lovely Sultanate are complimentary served upon arrival in our hotel lobby as well. The former capital, Nizwa, with its colourful souq and imposing fort are 10 minutes drive away. Other major attractions include the ancient mud houses of Birkat Al Mawz village, the pottery town of Bahla, fascinating Jabrin Castle and the picturesque mountain villages of Al Hamra and Misfah. At the end of all hectic explorations, you are welcomed back into the warmth and care of Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel, indulging you with traditional authentic hospitality discreetly blended with the hotel modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Tulip Nizwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel Nizwa
Nizwa Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Nizwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.