We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Average from a facility that should do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Ogeyi Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Ogeyi Place to your Saves list
Le Meridien Ogeyi Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Tombia Street | GRA Phase II, Port Harcourt 500-001, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Port Harcourt
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Average from a facility that should do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Clean rooms, good food, nice service. But am a bit worried about the parking space. Little space for parking and you may be forced to park on the streets.

The food was good and the restaurant well located just by the reception. But there's something am not comfortable with at the check in. I can't put my finger to it, but some finesse need be brought to the check in desk. And who were those girls hanging around the reception and accosting people?

My advice is to pick a room with view to the polo field so as to savor the greenery.

Room Tip: Choose room with view to the polo field to enjoy nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vindi S, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Ogeyi Place, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Victor O.
Your kind and positive comments as regards the state of our Rooms, Food, Services and Restaurant location is very much appreciated.

About the Parking space, we share your concern but i must confess that getting additional space has been quite a challenge, nevertheless, we are looking into it.

Guest Satisfaction to us is paramount, we will do all we can to address all your complaints and observation.

Thank you for your Patronage, We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
5
4
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The breakfast buffet was terrible, the staff did not seem to be interested in serving me. So I decided to have room service for all my other meals. Food was better and service was good. AC in the bedroom did not work the first night, a call to the front desk and it was fixed within 30 minutes to acceptable, not cold. Forget he gym, it is not nice and most machines do not work properly. It is time to change the linen it has seen some better days. Cleanliness is still good. Once again, this hotel could be much better with a little bit of attention to details.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the generators as they will be running most of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vindi S, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Ogeyi Place, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Ontheroadagain5154,

Thank you for your observations.

As for the Buffet, I assure you that it will only get better. Concerning the Gym, effort will be

directed at ensuring the equipments are in full operational status, likewise the linen which

already is in Progress.Once again we thank you for the Feedback as we look forward to

welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good property. Definitely the best property in Port Harcourt. Internet speeds are good. Airconditioning could get better, especially in the lobby and bar and restaurant where it is really bad. The buffet food is not so great and is a little expensive so order a-la-carte.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uchenna E, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Ogeyi Place, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Mr Charit1,

Thank you for your great observations.

As for the buffet, i assure you that it will surely get better. work on our cooling system is in progres too.

We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

It is always refreshing and empowering to return home to Nigeria and feel the same old fashion sense of caring, loving, and security that I have experienced and enjoyed in my many years of stay in the United States of America. Le Meridian Ogeyi Place - Port Harcourt not only re-assures and confirms to me that Nigeria is no different from any other five star hotel in New York city or Chicago, but Le Meridian Ogeyi Place - Port Harcourt is actually and uniquely better in many respects, because of its diverse offerings of indeginous dishes and those of the internationals. Every member of the staff, especially the sales segment and the front desk of the hotel went out of their way to offer assistance at all times, and made my stay a memorable one. This friendly and professional treatment are factors that will bring me back to stay at the hotel in the future.

Room Tip: This hotel is welcoming environment for all your needs .....business or pleasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uchenna E, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Ogeyi Place, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Mr Gndukwe,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Starwoodhotels ensures we give uniform and consistent service while adapting to local culture.

We would be glad to welcome you again when you are in Nigeria.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel and my opinion has not changed; it is overpriced, dated and over rated. The rooms, beverages and food are all over priced. Most of the facilities need updating, especially the bathrooms which have fungus in some crevices. Customer service is average and be prepared to demand to be served in the restaurant.

In my opinion, one of the few positives of this hotel is the secure location and the security provided by armed and unarmed guards within the premises; in Porthacourt, security is priority over comfort and luxury.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you have a confirmation number for your reservation and you dont stand at the check in counter by latest 4pm you dont get your reservation honored by the hotel- that is what we were told by the reception staff.

Our company called on the day of our arrival to reconfirm our booking AND to inform the hotel of our delay of check in time. When we drove up to the entrance, the parking lot filled up with exceptionally expensive car. The lobby had a very impressive ambiance - too bad that the attitude of the hotel policies do not match the first impression of the wauw factor.
The attitude rapidly changed negatively towards us, once the reception staff realized that we were not "Arig crew". We were arrogantly turned away with a lousy explanation, guests who do not check in by 4pm, are not entitled to have their confirmation number honored.
Simply shameless and unacceptable- considering the fact that our company had taken the trouble to phone the le Meridien on the same day of our arrival to keep them informed and to secure our bookings.

There are only 3 hotels in Port Harcourt known in the market to be safe and of 5 star quality.
These hotels are mostly fully booked as there is not any competition. Clearly the Le Meridien does not have to practice any respect towards their guests or common decency with regards to clients services. Never mind the fact that we are Starwoods Rewards Card Holders.

Given the choice in any way shape or form, the le Meridien will be the last hotel on my list of choice WORLDWIDE
........but as I can imagine with the short sighted attitude of the hotel, they couldn't care less about their business reputation

Room Tip: check in before 4pm to get a room or go home
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uchenna E, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Ogeyi Place, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Chancebychance,
Thank you for your review.
At Le Meridien Ogeyi Place, we value our guests and their patronage. We also understand how frustrating it could be for someone to arrive and not have a room available however, we recommend that our valued guests guarantee their booking by any form of payment to avoid such experience.
We apologize for any inconvenience and assure you that your encounter is not our practice. We hope that you would return and give us an opportunity to prove that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I came in on a Business trip for the first time to Port Harcourt and stayed at the Le Meridien. The staff was extremely warm, friendly and quick/prompt at delivering services(requested for an iron and dental kit and within 3mins after my phone call, they were at my door step). The room I stayed in was very clean-carpet, beds and bathroom,. AIr conditioners worked perfect, it was a bit too cold sometimes. Had an amazing polo view also from my room-beautiful horses. The food on the other hand was not so great. I would say that was the downside of my trip. They need to improve greatly with their food or change chef. Besides that, I had an awesome experience. Lovely place,lovely people, will recommend it to anyone :)

Room Tip: Always choose a room with the POLO VIEW. AMazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uchenna E, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Ogeyi Place, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Veronica,

We are glad to hear these great commendations which indeed is our standard as it were.

From your review, we observed that you would have preferred your room temperature not to cold, again this we have noted in your profile.

Your F&B concern is being addressed and I assure you that you would have a great meal during your next visit.

While looking forward to welcoming you soon, please be assured of our warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Ogeyi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ogeyi Place

Address: 45 Tombia Street | GRA Phase II, Port Harcourt 500-001, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Rivers State > Port Harcourt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Harcourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Ogeyi Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Ogeyi Place is the first international hotel in Port Harcourt with a fusion of local and international lifestyle for travelers desirous of chic decor and art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Ogeyi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Port Harcourt
Port Harcourt Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Ogeyi Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.