We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated and not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Hill Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Hill Resort
3884 Park Way, Off Route 394, Ashville, NY 14710   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ashville
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outdated and not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Unit was in desperate need of maintenance and updates. Bathroom door would not shut, shrubs and flowers needed groomed and trimmed. Patio furniture was dingy and old. Roofs have moss growing on them. Meanwhile, staff utilizes John Deere Gator ATVs for transportation all day long. Spend some money on your units, not your toys.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cuyahoga Falls
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Our whole extended family has been coming to Pine Hill Resort for well over 10 years. Before that we used to stay at Bemus Point---across the lake. But, after much investigation, we found that Pine Hill and the Brown family offer clean, quiet relaxation, access to their own beach and dock for swimming and fishing and boating, and quick access to Mayville, the Insitute, Lakewood, or most anywhere else on the lake because of their central location.

The Browns are very nice people and the cabins have a simple rustic appeal (along with some updated appliances). This combination offers some real peacefulness for our vacation.

Pine Hill also has three higher priced cabins which are more like high gable-roofed chalets. The insides of these are very wide open and big.

The Pine Hill Resort is a very fine vacation spot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We would rather have stayed outside in tents than in this mildewy, outdated so called "resort". I'm not sure how they came up with the term "resort" to name this pathetic, cheap and run down place. It is more like "Pine Hill Shack". It was a total waste of $$$ and we could not wait to get out of there. We would NEVER recommend this dive! :(

  • Liked — proximity to the lake
  • Disliked — uncleanly "smelly" outdated cabins and way too pricey!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

very musty smell in unit. Stayed in the effeciency. Mildew throughout entire unit set off our allergies. Very dated with pealing paint and doors that would not lock (Safety was a concern). Unfriendly manager made stay unpleasant.

very over priced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Mold and mildew
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Definately not as advertised.

Mold and Mildew set of kids allergies. Very overpriced, Doors to unit did not lock and was very dated. They were obviously aware of moisture in the unit when we checked in all the doors and windows were open to air it out. Needless to say it didn't work.

Did I mention door to unit did not lock , no key needed to enter unit felt this was unsafe to say the least.

Entire unit reminded us of the Movie Vacancy with Luke Wilson google it or rent it and you will see. Stayed one night.

I'll post pictures on later date as I've not downloaded yet.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — mold in unit
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed here this year and while it is not horrible by any means, it is way too over priced. We stayed in the 'hotel' and it is so outdated and mildewy. The bathroom is not real clean and they never change your sheets while you are there, they simply pull the covers up.
We weren't always stocked with soap and toilet paper and had to get some. They do not put paper towels in the kitchen so bring your own.
The dock isn't as big as it should be for how many accommodations there are. It was so crowded every day and perhaps it's the area, but there were so many snobby people who wouldn't budge or dream of sharing the dock, even with young children.
There is a small beach area to play but don't expect to fish from the dock if there is someone there already. Seems like one family sits on the dock and hogs it all and you have to 'wait your turn', which unfortunately for us didn't happen until our last day.
The one plus is the variety of restaurants near by. The BoNars Mayville diner is fantastic and greatly priced.
If you're just there to fish and hang out on the water and don't care about your room, you'll be fine. If you're a germ conscious mom with children, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2004

The Messersmith brothers are inveterate fishermen, and our bi-annual family reunion for 20 was held at the Pine Hill Resort on Lake Chautauqua in July, 2004. The Browns were very cordial and accommodating throughout our weeklong stay. They have a range of options for reasonably priced lakeside housing, from motel efficiencies to chalets for up to eight. We stayed in the latter, appointed in knotty pine, which was very spacious and a great place to gather. The docks and small beach are well maintained and provided good fishing for the younger set. We will accept in good faith existing photos of the many walleye and muskies caught by others at this fishing paradise. The resort is close to the renouned Chautauqua Institute, Jamestown, and other local attractions and activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Hill Resort

Address: 3884 Park Way, Off Route 394, Ashville, NY 14710
Location: United States > New York > Ashville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ashville
Also Known As:
Pine Hill Hotel Ashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pine Hill Resort to your Saves list