We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oure Tera Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oure Tera Beach Resort to your Saves list
Oure Tera Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kanumera Bay | BP 170, Ile Des Pins 98832, New Caledonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Hotel is located on one of the world's most beautiful beaches. Food in the restaurant is pricy but very good. The service was very good, with my only real complaint being that they ran out of shampoo! We were told it was supposed to be in on the boat but never made it...desolé messieur lol! This kind of thing has to be shrugged off in New Caledonia as most people have a very passive attitude which after time, despite it's inconvenience, becomes part of the charm. Other complaint was that our pillows were terrible, however we still managed to get a good night's sleep after spending our days exporing the island.

We stayed for three nights, and our departure flight was not until the evening of our last day. They provided us with a key to an empty bungalow to take showers and freshen up, which was a great service and much appreciated after a full day of hiking and salt-water swimming. We took the half day trip to Nokanhui and Ilot Brosse with the company next door and it was the highlite of our four days. Hard time deciding which island was more beautiful, I'd have to say they tied as the most beautiful places I've yet seen.

The pool is nice and it's heated, which is not common in NC. Snorkeling just off the beach is nice, and the fact that they close the beach to the thousands of cruise ship passengers is much appreciated.

This was our third stay in Ile des Pins and by far the nicest hotel (others IGESA and Kuberka) - though you have to pay for it! We used the passeport gouremand, which entitled us to 1 night free for two nights payed, so it made alot of difference to the end bill.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone willing to pay a little extra to enjoy the island and relax in what is surely one of the world's most beautiful places.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    83
    20
    17
    3
See reviews for
43
110
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney and Dinard
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in a Beach Bungalow - no more than 10 metres from an excellent swimming beach in a protected bay. There is good coral and a variety of fish starting only 30 metres off shore.
The bungalow was modern and well furnished.
The restaurant was good but the menu was exactly the same for the three days we were there. As all the hotels on l'Ile des Pins are separated from each other there is not much choice unless you rent a car.
The buffet breakfast was OK, but they should learn to cook the bacon a bit more crispy.
Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Transfers to and from the airport worked well.
The Island is lovely (we did rent a car one day, from the hotel). The Piscine Naturelle is worth going to (not far from the Meridien on the other side of the island) but is a bit of a walk from the carpark. About 1km each way.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Avoid this place...especially if you only speak English! But, don't get me wrong...Isle of Pines is a beautiful and unique tropical island in the South Pacific. Unfortunately, there is NO developement and we were unable to find one place to purchase food (not even a candy bar). As a result, we were a captive audience of this terrible hotel. The staff barely speak English and will go out of their way to give you a hard time and make your stay unpleasant. The prices in the restaurant are outrageous and the choices are horrible; they offered a lunch buffet one day (with about two hot food choices) for 50USD! I begged the manager for a sandwich instead and he said "no" with a little laugh. When I asked the receptionist at the front-desk if I could rent a bike, she said "no," also and laughed. And she conveniently forget to mention that the hotel right next door has them! They seem to love to say "no" to guests at Hotel Oure . They also called our hotel room every night and tried to trick us into making expensive dinner reservations that we did not want. We stopped picking up after the first night and the phone would just ring and ring each evening...so annoying! We ended up living off of some dry foods and candy that we brought with us for three nights! We also got really bored on the island and quickly ran out of things to do...we couldn't even swim because the water was too cold. There is nothing to do! If you dream of visiting this tranquil place, do yourself a favor and come for a day trip from Noumea! You'll see it all, enjoy the scenery, and you won't have to starve or deal with the rude and useless staff of Hotel Oure. We didn't even want to see their faces any more by the last day!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed at a garden bungalow at Hotel Oure for 3 nights and loved it. The location was perfect with a secluded beach which was stunning. The rooms and grounds of the hotel were also beautiful. The hotel had a great restaurant and a tourist office which helped booked tours. The free snorkeling and kayak equipments were also a bonus. Little touches like fresh flowers in the room, use of showers after checking out and great cocktails made the experience even better. The only issue we had was communicating with staff. They were also not very proactive in helping us. For example, when our flight was delayed, we sat in the lobby with other people waiting for the transfer and the receptionist did not tell us of the delay until we went over to ask, 20 minutes after the transfer was due. The hotel also mixed up a restaurant reservation but instead of trying to resolve it, they got very defensive which was disappointing. So all in all definitely a wonderful place to stay but just be prepared to follow up on things.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Beautiful location, soft sand and water, we were excited when we arrived, but things surrounding the service spioled our holiday, particulary the bar service was appalling! The staff spoken little or no English and wouldn't know how to mix a coctail if they 'fell over one' We had to vacant our rooms at 10.00 which was fine but as a diabetic I had stressed to reception that my Insulin had to be kept in a fridge until departure time( 8 hours later). I was assured this would be done but when I went to collect my belongings the insulin had been left out in room tempreture all day and was useless as a result. I had 2 more days left in Noumea which were spent miserable because of the staffs incompetent service. They kept saying sorry but what good it that! I will never return there.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

OK, Ile des Pins is expensive and although I have heard Hotel Oure described as being moderate, it is expensive but oh so good. The staff were all very warm and efficient. The grounds are nicely planted and maintained and the rooms felt very private. It feels a little bit luxurious and special, but still very relaxed. Kanumera Bay is stunning, with the finest white sand and water as clear as glass. The beach is really sandy so it is lovely for swimming - no reef shoes needed. There are lots of sunloungers and lots of shade if you want it. Parts of the beach can get a bit windy but it is very sheltered where the hotel is. Another bay - Kuto Beach is just 5 minutes walk along the beach and through some trees and across a road. The swimming pool is pretty and pristine. The hotel has an activities hut where you can get your beach towels, kayaks, snorkelling gear - all for free. Grab the snorkelling gear early though because they ran out on the day we wanted to snorkel. However, we ended up walking to the sacred rock at the other end of the bay and looking at fish while just swimming around in chest-deep water.
The restaurant is expensive but with tasty food, generous portions and unlimited fresh hot bread with rolls (gotta love that about the French). We ate dinner there on our first night because we couldn't be bothered looking for somewhere else but Hotel Oure's location is perfect for getting to other places to eat: a quick 2 minute walk on the beach to Gite Nataiwatch next door for a cheap (by Ile des Pins standards), about a 7 minute walk along the beach to Hotel Kou-Bougny's restaurant (the best value seafood platter in New Caledonia is on the lunch menu), 20 minutes to Gite Kuberka. Take a torch as there are minimal street lights on the Ile des Pins. Also 20 minutes walk to the local grocery store, 25 minutes to the local bakery, also with a grocery shop attached (cheap, freshly-baked baguettes every morning). If you do want to eat at other places you have to make reservations which is a bit of a pain because you can't be spontaneous. A couple of times we had a glorious lunch of cider, fresh bread, French cheeses, terrines and pates from the little grocery shops. Next time we will get a bit organised and bring some food over from Noumea.
We stayed in a garden room (half of a garden bungalow with interconnecting door for families). All the rooms/bungalows had a huge balcony with luxurious sunloungers. There was one day where we spent most of the day on our balcony lounging around and drinking our duty-free bottle of rum with cola from the grocery store. The rooms are spacious and modern and very clean with a huge bath. The type of room we stayed in didn't have a stand-up shower but had a showerhead that you could use while sitting in the bath. The water pressure was brilliant and hubby had a couple of good long soaks in the bath whilst feeling a little built guilty about the amount of water he used! The bath soaps were from L'Occitane (tres posh). There were a couple of odd notes - a bit of mould on the sealant used around the bath and one of door handle fittings looked crooked. These didn't bother us at all, they just seemed a bit of an anomaly given the overall well-maintained feel of the place. We walked everywhere but the hotel had cars for rent if you wanted and Gite Nataiwatch next door had bikes for rent. The hotel also offered lots of different day trips. I would happliy stay there again (when I could afford it). I think this is a perfect part of the island to stay in because it has the best beaches and a bit of variety for places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miyagi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We stayed at a beachfront bungalow which was spacious, clean and lovely. The reception formalities were fine. The location on Kanumera Bay was fantastic. Lots of white sand beaches, pacific pine trees and an amazing coral formation just off the beach. Snorkeling a must.. The restaurant food was fine. Staying on Ile Des Pins means dining options are rather limited. Try the giant escargot. Delicious. You can see them crawling in the gardens outside, too.
Rent a car to drive around the island. Went to the Piscine Naturelle near the Le Meridien. It was well worth the trip.
Now the downsides: Due to the unusual conditions at the time we experienced some torrential downpours. It made me realize the value of sunshine and good weather when vacationing in a place such as this. Also, we left some snorkeling gear outside on the verandah which 'disappeared'. Travellers should be careful about their belongings here.
Then we had the misfortune to experience an invasion of cruiseship tourists who descended en mass onto the beaches. Despite the hotel having put a sign up indicating that this was a private beach, most of these fellows decided to tresspass and take videos/pictures of the stunned guests on their verandahs. I felt like being in a Zoo. The hotel should enforce their pivacy policy more strictly . At such high room rates it was the least one could expect.
If you want privacy and can afford it, I would recommend staying at the Le Meridien and rent a car to come down here.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oure Tera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oure Tera Beach Resort

Address: Kanumera Bay | BP 170, Ile Des Pins 98832, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Ile Des Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oure Tera Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oure Tera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oure Tera Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.