We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, lacking 5 star service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Ile des Pins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Ile des Pins to your Saves list
Le Meridien Ile des Pins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie D'Oro, BP 175, Ile Des Pins 98832, New Caledonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great facilities, lacking 5 star service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

After spending 4 nights in Noumea we took the Betico to Ile des Pins - this was a great alternative to flying - we left port at 7am, could take extra weight in our luggage and arrived at 9.30am. We had arranged a pick up with LeMeridien. The island is beautiful with a mixture of palms and pines surrounded by every colour of blue. The hotel itself was lovely with a beautiful white beach, lots of sunbeds and cabanas. The water is fairly calm so great for kayaking and also to try paddle boarding for the first time - all the equipment is there and free to use. Also table tennis, snooker etc. the thing that we did find a little disappointing was the service was not what we would expect of a 5 star resort. Also every night it was the same menu for dinner all three nights which become a little boring. Appreciating we are on an island but you could change certain things to make it a little different. Also we were told you could walk to the natural pool in 15mins and given a map in Japanese (they had none in English) the map was not clear at all - be sure to know where you are going! Overall a relaxing four days with an amazing view....

Room Tip: If you want a king bed request a king and not 2 twins pushed together...also the pillows are terribl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Good morning JacindaLeeDavis,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedbacks on the Isles of Pines and on Le Méridien. I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the water sport facilities and the walks around the hotel. We are always happy to help and explain what to see around and how to get there if the map. Regarding the menu, I would like to precise that there are 11 main courses, 6 fish dishes, 5 meat dishes, vegetarian plate, 6 desserts. Our guests normally find in that choice different dishes to taste every night. I am very sorry you felt like the menu was the same every night because the restaurant offers a great variety and normally pleases our guests.
With Best Regards,

Romain Chanet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    101
    45
    24
    14
See reviews for
66
226
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Fisrt all there are something not exisit in Il Des Pin and especially around this hotel
- Supermarket: Nevery try to find supermarket. Chips that hotel sell is the only thing you get
- Taxi: I heard that there are only two taxis and taxi fare is extremly expensive here
- Downtown: Even you get on the taxi, you have no where to go
- No artifical entertainment: Never dream about it

This is the place for whom want to rest you body and soul, not bothered by any out-side world. Everything is natually reserved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Eun Sil N,
The Isle of Pines is one of the latest natural site where all there is to enjoy are the numerous beaches of the Island, some wonderful walks, boat trips, snorkeling...It can be of a real experience not to be surrounded by shops and modern entertainments. Of course it can also be surprising if not prepared but for many visitors this is one of the positive aspects. We do propose excursions to visit the Island, some taxis are also available and there is always the option to rent a car. Driving here is easy due to very low traffic and offer a great way to explore all the beauty of the Isle of Pines. Keeping such a natural site as a price, no modern life! I hope you managed to enjoyed that exclusive site and you will keep good memories of all this relaxing time.
Warm Regards,
Romain Chanet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure to stay in this little paradise the second week of October.
We enjoyed it from the moment we checked in until the moment we left.
As simple as it is!

The location doesn't really need much explanation, you find yourself in the middle of a tropical garden, where nature is still free to grow and fishes are not scared of you.
The hotel is built at the end of a sandy bay, protected by the coral reef on one side and by another island on the other. This configuration allows extremely quiet and warm waters right in front of it, with chances to see turtles, sting ray and a multitude of fishes.
Right in front of the beach lay a small rock, covered by plants. Underneath, all around, blue and purple coral grows free surrounded by even more fishes.
It might gets windy, but only once outside the hotel bay, so don't be scared to get a "pedalò", a kayak or a paddle board! This are the amenities offered by the hotel, all free of charge.
I would have loved a little Cat or windsurf, but it might be a bit dangerous, due to the fact that there is no real control from the beach.

I red a few reviewers complaining about the age of the hotel structure. True, it's not brand new, but the maintenance level is kept on a very high standards.
Rooms always properly clean, twice a day, as well as towels, changed on daily basis.

The only restaurant, "La Pirogue", has a large selection to choose from.
Food has been always nice, prepared with care and attention, leaving us always happy the moment we finished.

Overall an experience that we hope can be repeated again as soon as possible.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Il Citadino,
It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again in Le Méridien Isles of Pines. We are always delighted to read positive comments and to see that our guests have had such a good time while staying with us. It seems that you have fully enjoyed the beauty of the natural surroundings and relaxed during your holidays. Our chef, Benjamin, was also very happy to reed that you have enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. Soon a new menu will be proposed, an other good reason to visit us again.
Thank you very much for such a nice comments and hope to meet you personally when you return.

Warm Regards

Romain Chanet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I are both in the hospitality industry and we frequently travel for both work and pleasure. Our recent trip to Les Meridian Ile des Pins was one of those pleasure trips. After working in Noumea for a month, I was dying to get away from it all - to relax and unwind somewhere special. To be honest, we debated for a long time on whether to spend the extra money and time flying across to Ile des Pins and staying. In the end, we decided the experience was a 'oncer' and had to be done after all the recommendations from the locals in Noumea. We were definitely not disappointed by the island or the resort. We arrived early morning and although we could not check-in straight away, we were welcomed warmly, offered a drink and told about all the places to see and go in our rental car (which we had hired for the day from the airport). After having a wonderful exploration of the island, we returned to the hotel about 4:00pm and was immediately given our room key. Our second floor room overlooked both the pool and beach/lagoon, as well as all the common areas of the hotel. We had a lovely large balcony which we spent the remainder of the afternoon and early evening on drinking French bubbles and feeling like we were in heaven with such a splendid view of a truly special place in the world. Our room itself was very large and well appointed in darker wood tones...it really made you feel as if you were on an island in t he tropics. The bed and pillows were super comfortable and I loved that the toilet was separate to both the walk-in shower and walk-up dual basin. That night, we had a stunning dinner in the hotel's restaurant. We were seated outside overlooking the pool and had friendly and efficient service. The food was also very good with lots of variety on the menu. Dessert was the highlight though - with chocolate lava cakes made specially by the on-site pastry chef. To die for!! The following day after a wonderful breakfast buffet in the dining room (huge variety of items to chose from), we grabbed our snorkelling gear and towels (which are free of charge by the way from the resort) before walking the 20 minutes to the Piscine Naturelle. If you have ever dreamed of swimming in an aquarium (or fish tank for that matter), then going here is a 'must do'. Waist deep crystal clear water teaming with fish life and coral. WOW!! We ended up spending may hours here and my husband who is normally quite mellow was like a little boy here. He just loved it! Our flight out that evening was not until 7:00pm, so the remainder of the afternoon was spent at the resort swimming in the infinity pool and in the lagoon during high tide. We also tried stand up paddle boarding (free of charge from the resort as well) for the first time as the lagoon provided a very safe and easy environment for learners. A late lunch by the pool was also had and I thoroughly enjoyed my prawn ceasar salad!! All in all, our experience at Le Meridian Ile des Pins was EXCEPTIONAL in all aspects. I would highly recommend making the journey to New Caledonia and this very special island and resort. You will not be sorry!!

Room Tip: Most accommodation is in individual private cabins overlooking the lagoon or estuary/river, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Liseepoo,

Reading the details of your stay with us at Le Méridien Isles of Pines is like re-discovering the place again. Of course, I can see that spectacular view from my office and I work with the entire team to deliver good services but your message is just like a wonderful way to see it all over again! Yes, the hotel is in a unique place that we can call close to "paradise" and yes, the team is trying every day to welcome the guests so as to make everyone feeling very good. But your message is more than that, it is a real sharing experience and I would like to thank you very much for all the positive spirit of mind that you bring to us. It surely encourages all of us to carry on along that line and to be dedicated to our guests.
We hope to see you again on the Isles of Pines and again a very warm thank you for your message.

Kind Regards,

Romain Chanet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A "2" rating is in regard to the hotel, not the setting. Clearly SPG hierarchy don't check on their more remote locations as this hotel falls well short of what we expect from the group. The one restaurant is the only option to eat at with a very limited menu and very average food at that. The fish (surely a perfection dish at this location) was dry and lacking taste. With such an abundance of seafood outside the door, this was a huge disappointment. The boredom of the restaurant forced us to room service on two nights with the fish and chips the best meal of our four day stay, just not good enough. Then our tray remaining outside our room for almost 24 hours shows a total lack of effort, even after room cleaning. Some staff do try hard, the head woman in the restaurant professional,polite and helpful but all downhill from there to almost a total lack of interest. Our cabin was lovely and spacious in a lovely setting but forget staying in touch on world events, no English TV at all. The guide says 3 English channels but when asked, received a Gallic shrug of the shoulders with a "poor signal" as an excuse. Funny how the other 12 French channels all worked perfectly. This hotel seems to lack any cohesive management at all. Looking at previous postings over many months with many similar comments, clearly there has been no attempt for improvement. The mattress on the bed was appalling given the global move to quality bedding and an insult for this price range. For what you pay, this is a very substandard hotel as part of the SPG group. Having said all this, the location is nothing short of spectacular and worthy of lower expectations to appreciate the natural wonder of the island. We spent 4 nights but in hindsight, 2 nights is more than enough. Perhaps one night on this side, then one night in Vao is the perfect amount seeing both sides of the island.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Good morning,
I am very sorry to read that our services were not to your expectations. Due to the size of our hotel, wish is crucial to offer an authentic and peaceful atmosphere, we only have one restaurant. I am sorry that you find our menu limited because it offers 10 starters, 12 main courses and 7 desserts. The fish may not have been to your taste but I can affirm you that it is fresh and directly coming from the island lagoon. I confirm what has been explained to you during your stay with us that due to technical issue, we could not provide the 3 English TV. This has now been resolved. Moreover, we are working on a more balanced set of channels so as to provide an even better access to foreign programs to our clients.
We will obviously take in account your comments and make our best to improve our services when required.
With Best Regards,

Romain Chanet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were not in fact on our honeymoon being about to celebrate 50 years of wedded highs and lows. However, it did occur to me that the beautiful tree top apartments would be perfect for honeymooners. They had delightful retractable ladders directly on to the gorgeous white sand below and one could chose to use all, or part of the hotel facilities or not.
We had a lovely suite directly overlooking the beautiful pool which looked absolutely stunning
when lit up at night. Unfortunately in August it was a little too cool for us to actually make use of the pool. We were there with another couple and they experienced health issues due to drinks that had been made with ice. Just a warning for prospective visitors that the water is not potable and the ice machine is plumbed directly into the water supply - do not drink anything containing ice.

Room Tip: Pool side 2nd floor rooms have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for sharing your comments on our hotel. I am glad to see that you have many good memories of your stay and enjoyed the beauty of our site. As you've mentioned, it is an ideal place for couples who wish to have intimacy but also for those that want to experiment more lively holidays. You are right when saying that the pool may seems slightly too cold in august especially because it had just been refiled at your period of stay. It is getting warmer and warmer every day. Regarding the health issue, we are obviously very sorry for that couple. Due to heavy rains this summer, the municipal potable water system encountered some problem. We tried to prevent any negative effect for our clients. The situation is now back to normal and the water is obviously drinkable.

We sincerely hope to see you again and hope that time you will enjoy the swimming pool.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is probably the nicest place to stay when visiting Il-de-Pins, the location is wonderful. The bay is white sand and turquoise water and there is nothing to disturbe the peace (but our children, 3 & 8, did their best to make the hotel more lively...). Except for our family, there was only one other child under 10 there during our 4 days, the hotel seemed to be favored by honeymoon travellers.

We stayed in a very nice de luxe cottage, which was meant for 2 + 1 persons, but got an ok to squeeze in the 3-year old without a separate bed. The cottage was big and there was lots of space to play for the children. The bath/dressing room was nice and big and bathrobes were provided both in adult and child sizes. Everything was very clean and fresh and cleaning service was very good, with an extra round of offering new towels being made in the evenings. The only thing that bothered us a little were the earwigs in the toilet/shower and one bigger spider the first evenining. Two of us (1 child, 1 adult) got ill at the end of the stay, one was vomiting and one had nausea with fever. We didn't drink tap water (bottled water was provided), so there may have been something with the food, but it's hard to say.

The restaurant served very good and tasty food and the menu was extensive, also the children's menu was good. We all enjoyed the food very much, but you had to wait very long (40-45 minutes) for the food to get to the table, which was a challenge with the kids. The youngest one regularly fell asleep on the chair in the evenings, sometimes before his food had even arrived.

The hotel offers a good meal plan for children, where you pay a fixed price per day and they can order whatever during the stay. The food is reasonably priced also for adults.

The surroundings are fabulous and the beach is very child-friendly, you actually have to walk very far out to be able to swim. The natural pool in the vicinity (20 minutes walk, ask for a map at the reception) is a must for snorkelling, but go there early in the morning to avoid the crowds. And go at low tide.

The service is very friendly and smiling, we felt very welcome and it's a place we could gladly return to again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Communication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello,
We are delighted to read your comment.
We hope to see you again at Le Méridien Ile des Pins.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Ile des Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile des Pins

Address: Baie D'Oro, BP 175, Ile Des Pins 98832, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Ile Des Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Ile des Pins 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise is shaped like this. Le Meridien Ile des PIns overlooks the pristine white beaches of Oro bay, just 15 minutes from the island's airport, and is nestled in a centuries old coconut grove, redolent with the scent of lush, tropical vegetation. Le paradis ressemble a cela. Le meridien Ile des Pins donne sur les plages blanches immaculees de la baie d'Oro, a seulement 15 minutes de l'aeroport et implante au coeur d'une cocoteraie seculaire, regorgeant du parfum exhale par une vegetation tropicale et luxuriante. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Ile des Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Des Pins Hotel Ile Des Pins
Meridien Ile Des Pins
Ile Des Pins Meridien
Ile Des Pins Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Ile des Pins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.