We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raft

The Raft
The Esplanade | The Lagoon, Walvis Bay WB1, Namibia
00264 64 204877
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Walvis Bay
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Raft has a unique location, and is arguably one of the best in Namibia. Built on stilts in the Walvis Bay lagoon, you will be entertained while enjoying lunch, dinner or a relaxing drink in the bar, by seals, dolphins, flamingos, pelicans, jackals and also the acrobatic antics of the kite surfing fraternity on windy days. The Raft is also widely regarded as the very best location for experiencing outstanding sunsets.
Port Gentil, Gabon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We went to the Raft for Namibian Mother's Day and the food was excellent. Ask for a table close to a window to enjoy the beauty of the lagoon, and to see people windsurfing or kite-surfing around the restaurant. Definitely a very nice place. The service was also very good.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    92
    33
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“what is sooo special?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We went there on a late afternoon for a sun downer. The fast food appearance with an extremely long queue and screaming kids were not very inviting for us. Not even to talk about a space to sit down. We found it overrated!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Owner at The Raft, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Susanne, Thanks you for your review, feedback is always very important to us whether it is positive or negative, which we are proud to say is very rare these days. We are therefore very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. As you visited in the late afternoon then I gather that you were in the bar/bistro area which is open from 11 a.m. until midnight and certainly has a relaxed atmosphere where children are welcome and we serve pizzas and burgers etc. However, I'd just like to point out that our Main Restaurant is open from 12.00 - 15.00 and 18.00 - 21.30 and serves a higher standard of food, has a higher standard of service and a slightly less relaxed atmosphere which I think you may have enjoyed more than the bar/bistro side. So, hopefully, if you visit Walvis Bay again you might book a table there and we can show you 'the other side' of The Raft experience. Until then............warm regards, Sarah, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor service! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We went for lunch and were just ignored by the waitress. Again and again. They were out of a bunch of things on their menu and wouldn't serve chips with our burgers because 'they had turned their fryer off for the day'. At lunch time. Overall we waited around 45 minutes to get our food (and 20 for drinks). Would not go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Owner at The Raft, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi nyx_sa, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Feedback is very important to us in our strive to maintain the highest standards in terms of food quality and service, be it positive or negative, which we are proud to say is very rare these days. Consequently we are very concerned that you were disappointed with your experience. First of all, just to clarify a couple of points; we are sometimes out of stock of items on the menu due to suppliers being out of stock, but generally it is only a couple of items, for instance today, as I write we are out of Fresh cream because Namdairies have a problem with their cream making equipment, sounds incredible....bit it's true. Certain fish can also be a problem at times due to the depleted world resources...during June (which, by the date of your review, I'm guessing is when you visited..) we had a problem sourcing Butterfish. We show on our 'Specials menu ' every day what is out of stock and those are the only two items on record for that period, so if there were other items that you asked for and were not able to have then I would be very grateful if you could let me know. Regarding the serving of chips with burgers; during quiet months, namely May and June, we turn the fryers off between 2.30 p.m. and 5.30 p.m. (I'm guessing you came for a late lunch which would also explain the delay with your food as there would have been a skeleton staff in the kitchen) unless it is busy or we have bookings. To keep them burning for the odd customer who may arrive without a booking, is not financially viable or eco-friendly. Regarding your experience with the waitress, that is absolutely not acceptable and I humbly apologise. If there's any chance you can advise me of her name (it would be on your receipt if you still have it), I'd be very grateful, so that I can address the issue with her, my email address is sarah@theraftrestaurant.com
In the meantime my apologies once again and I do hope that maybe one day you will visit again (maybe in our Main Restaurant which has a wider menu selection, a higher standard of service and a slightly less relaxed atmosphere). Warm regards, Sarah, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Watching a Seal from the Window”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

After few days in Walvis Bay I realized that this is one of the main landmarks of the City. if you have never been in Walvis Bay and you want to meet with someone you can easily tell them to meet at the Raft. Everyone in that town knows what it means. I end up going to this place 3 times...After all there are not really that many options in Walvis Bay. But Nonetheeless The best plate I had is like a Busherman Plate or a similar name that included multiple cuts of meet including Crocodrille. and other antilopes. Around the restaurant there are plenty of beutiful seagalls, and flamingos and many other birds but the one we likes the most is to see some Seals from the window. They have local namibian on tab that is actually pretty good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

DO NOT judge this book by it's cover!!!! Not alot to look at from the road but the inside is great!
You can choose from two different experiances, one is bar casual and the other is nice cozy sit down dinner. What ever your mood they have something for you!
We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raft also viewed

Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 

Been to The Raft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.