We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must - Beautiful location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Point Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Point Lodge to your Saves list
Pelican Point Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Pelican Point Peninsula, Walvis Bay, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must - Beautiful location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I loved the interioir, the food and amazing view...just wish they had a view over the ocean...360 would have been amazing, so you can see the ocean while dining....but except for that it was amazing!!! Thanks Christa and Bertus we enjoyed it, you and your team are doing great!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maun, Botswana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Can't beat the location. It's unique, beautiful and quiet. You'll need a 4x4 to get there though. The food was decent but we really enjoyed their baked goods. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Lovely setting, tranquil & peaceful, very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful room (Captain's Cove), good dining.
Suggestions: Wider variety of wines, fresh seafood, additional activities e.g. kayaking from old jetty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We decided to visit Pelicant Point Lodge for a quick break-away to take some time off our hectic schedules and what a place it turned out be! Managers Christa and Bertus made us feel special and welcome from the moment we arrived and continued spoiling us with fantastic meals and treats. We stayed in the huge Captain's Room with a private deck and views to die for. (Being grateful for the upgrade to the premier room at the lodge, I should mention that the room has no curtains or blinds and for the light-sensitive sleepers, this might be a bit disturbing). The meals were just beautiful and prepared with so much thought. Fresh ingredients were a pleasant surprise (as this is a luxury in Namibia - even at some very posh establishments). The winelist is limited, but offers some great quality wines from South Africa.

Don't expect televisions and mini-bars in the room (thank goodness) and note that the generators providing electricity to the lodge are switched on intermittently. As I always travel with a headlamp, this was no inconvenience for my late-night reading habits. It does, however, also affect the water supply and therefore the flushing of the WC. But even this could not detract from a most unforgettable weekend.

The attention to detail in the decor, amenities and service should set an example for other lodges in Namibia. It is without any doubt a most unique establishment in terms of location, decor and service. One can only hope that the new management team (due to take over in January 2014) will continue to wow visitors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH AFRICA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What an experience staying at Pelican Point Lodge.We stayed there for two night in October. We where the only two booked in and what a personal experience we had. From the time we where picked up until the drop off. The food was 5 star the accomadatiomn was just awsome. The managers Bertus and Christa made our stay even better with the attention to detail.They are one of the best management teams we have seen. For a romantic weekend you cannot choose any other place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden route
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Driving past a wooden roadsign it look absolute impossible to find a lodge in this area.Following the reliable Tracks for Africa map I decided to see if this lodge really exist.What a surprize to follow.In the distance I can see a light house and will soon discover this is actually the lodge.6 Star accomodation in the old lighthouse building and restaurant to compliment it.The Captain room is fit for a king and the perfect spot for a honeymoon of a lifetime or just a breakaway from reality for a weekend.
Contact Melanie direct on her website;pelicanpointlodge.com and be as surprize as i were.Expensive but you pay for the service,setting and privacy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent location, Private and one in a million lifetime experience
I will go back anytime
We stayed in the Captains den room which offers a 360°C view
The food was amazing 5 Coarse dinner made by a Top Class chef
I see this as the Top location for any person that requires a lot of privacy with all the 5 star experience that any lodge or hotel can offer

Room Tip: 360°C View from the room Need a 4x4 vehicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Point Lodge

Address: Pelican Point Peninsula, Walvis Bay, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Walvis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Walvis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pelican Point Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the semi-remote solitude of a peninsula overlooking the ocean, the bay and entry port of Walvis Bay, a lighthouse breaks the horizon signaling that home is nearby. Pelican Point Lodge aims to extend professional individual service, in this exclusive and unique setting surrounded by sea and sand, guaranteeing your privacy and comfort in 9 luxury en-suite rooms, with private balconies. The presidential suite/honeymoon suite offers a breathtaking 360˚ view. Tranquility will strike the soul with inward relaxation and peace and guests will experience the opportunity to come in close contact with cape fur seal colonies, dolphins, whales, sunfish, endangered Damara tern, jackals, flamingos and pelicans. With the provision of luxury accommodation and dining to tantalize, all coupled with exclusive activities that are on offer, living the experience of Pelican Point Lodge is simply to die for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Pelican Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Point Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.