We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Historian Tour with Kuiseb Delta Adventures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuiseb Delta Adventures

Kuiseb Delta Adventures
Lagoon Chalets | 8th Road West, Walvis Bay, Namibia
+264 81 128 2580
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Educational Historian Desert Quad Bike & 4X4 Tours
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
“Desert Historian Tour with Kuiseb Delta Adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This tour was a wonderful combination of adventure and historical information about Namib Desert. Fanie du Preez shared his knowledge of the formation and changing environment of these desert sand dunes and the inhabitants, both human and animal, that live there. The quad bikes are an exciting way to get around the area and Fanie offered a safe and satisfying adventure that should be part of your visit to the Atlantic coast of Namibia.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    8
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“what a fun way to learn about the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

loved this tour... from the safety lessons of downhill braking to whizzing over the dunes, finding human and not so human remains, the bugs, the plants, the footprints, donkey carts, digging for water and especially the chickens sprinting (yes really!) towards us at the Topnaar home visit. Fabulous. worth every cent. The guide really makes sure that everyone enjoys the time spent from the nervous nellies to the invincibles. Passion and love for his "work" is obvious and appreciated. Go and see for yourself.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Thanks, extremely interesting and educational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I'm very happy I found this quadbike tour, we were on a family vacation (I being the youngest at 29 but everybody else being 50+) and I was looking for something fun which everyone could take part in. I settled on this tour as I was sure the oldies would be more interested in the "Historian Tour" rather than just going dune bashing. Fanie gave us a great introduction, made sure all the guys and girls were comfortable with their quads before taking us out into the dunes. I was worried the 4 hours would be too long...at the end I think we were all wishing there was more time!

Fanie took us to see interesting things, from insects to desert plants and ancient villages where there's nothing but bones left of the people who once lived there, to visiting with some of the modern day peoples who still make their home in the desert. We all had a great time. The men managed to do all the dune bashing they wanted, whilst the ladies were taken round a much easier route, so Fanie kept everybody happy, as well as giving us options if we weren't comfortable riding down a steep dune. All in all a great family outing - recommended I think from teens and upwards.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
“Definitely a fun way to teach our kids (and us) about the Namib Desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went on this tour while holidaying in Walvis Bay and though we planned loads of desert sports fun, we also wanted to learn about the desert itself.
So we went on Kuiseb's Historical Tour. Our guide Fanie was very organised, offered lots of advice, gave great directions and has a good sense of humour! My husband and I went on this tour with our two kids aged 8 and 3 and he didn't charge for our 3yr old.
Be sure to read all the information he e-mails you before you go on the tour as this helps you appreciate all you actually see on the day. And if you've never tried quad biking before, Fanie makes it look soooooo easy and will definitely have you going up and down steep-sided desert dunes like you're a pro (yes, even with kids on board!)
Our tour was from 8:30am till lunchtime and we were there during winter, so we wore jackets. However, we also wore beach sandals, sunglasses and hats and took lots of water with us.
We saw the desert wildlife, loads of evidence of ancient civilisations and animals and even drank water Fanie dug in the sand for!
We also had a little time to chat with a local (Topnaars tribe) who live there.
The whole family loved the experience!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The only way the desert should be experienced...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

is on a quad bike... as part of a tour... and early, misty morning. It was one of the most thrilling experiences of my life. The tour guide (a guy called Fanie from Kuiseb Delta Adventures) was fabulous and his love for the desert was obvious. We saw animal life and artifacts that would have been invisible if we braved the desert on our own.
I don't think a visit to Namibia is complete without this tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuiseb Delta Adventures also viewed

Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 

Been to Kuiseb Delta Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuiseb Delta Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.