We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alternative Space B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alternative Space B & B
Save
You added Alternative Space B & B to your Saves list
167 Anton Lubowski Street, Swakopmund, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent one night at this B&B after a few nights of camping and really enjoyed the hospitality and the very relaxed, informal atmosphere of the place. Breakfast is rich and varied, you can use the kitchen and do your own cooking if you wish. You can sit by the fireplace in the evenings to chat with other guests and the owners, a lovely couple with kids. There is lots of art in the house (sculptures, statues, paintings), some of them with a slightly erotic connotation - which is maybe why it is called alternative:-) We loved the place. It is a littlebit out of town, but that is relative, as Swakopmund is small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

In our first plan, we would only stay in Alternative space for one night. But thanks for the naughty Namibia Airways, we actually stayed 3 nights there which proved to be extremely wonderful. Alternative is located at the edge of Swakopmund, quiet place. The town is really small, so we quit our car and walked around. It's only 20 minutes walk across the town.
The rooms are lovely decorated and full of beauty of art. The cute garden is also attractive. we sat on the bench near the flowers every night, with a cup of hot tea provided in the kichen, sharing the feelings of the travel with each other. Quite relaxing and cozy.
Friendly couple who run this B&B were always happy to help. The restaurant they recommended was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lovely couple running this B and B which is stuffed full of interesting art. A little out of town which means you have to drive out to have dinner. We stayed 2 nights and the owners helped us organise a fantastic kayak tour and sand dune safari to Sandwich Harbour in Walvis Bay (highly recommended - Sandwich Harbour Tours)

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard are probably better than the ones we had near the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in the middle of our two week self guided trip and as the title says, this was a nice and much needed break from camping on top of the 4x4. We stayed in the room with the outdoor bathtub- fun! Facilities were clean and well maintained and the hosts were very welcoming. We enjoyed the city too- sunset on the dunes, pizza at the local place, and general exploring.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Alternative space. Everything was perfect except for the cold and humidity which seems to be normal for Swakopmund. Luckily they provide some electrical blanckets to heat up the bed before you go to sleep. They also have a cosy room with a fireplace and the only place in Namibia were we had so far good access to internet. The owners are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated and there is a secure parking. The fact that the place is a little bit out of town didn't bother us. By car you were in 5 min. in downtown Swakopmund.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This establishment lived up to its name by providing alternatives on many levels: the obvious architectural uniqueness then followed by the host’s insightful perspectives on various aspects of life in Namibia which proved to be extremely informative. Initially the parking arrangements appeared rather daunting but the hosts have a system going that soon put us at ease. You can enjoy a full breakfast which you are able to prepare yourself. This relaxed and informal atmosphere created by the hosts made this stay one of the highlights of our Namibian visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room furthest from the parking lot if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Here's a place that has character and atmosphere. Well-designed with different places to relax (swing, suspended chair/cocoon, fireplace area). Entire place is visual eye candy. Some of the nude art work has been taken down but overall I think it's tasteful. Fantastic value (it's easy to see this being a few hundred dollars/euros if it was in the US or Europe), a bit far out to constantly walk into town (15 mins) but the owners will give you a lift if you don't want to bring your car in. Everything here was done so well. Heck, spend an extra day just relaxing here. You will be pressed to find a nicer (or cheaper) place along your travels. If only other accommodation options had a fraction of Alternative Space's atmosphere, travelling would be much nicer. Along with a ryokan in Kyoto and a few other spots in the world, this is one of my favourite places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alternative Space B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alternative Space B & B

Address: 167 Anton Lubowski Street, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Alternative Space Hotel Swakopmund
Alternative Space Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alternative Space B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.