We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilarious, but not in a good way” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Burning Shore

Save Saved
You added Burning Shore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burning Shore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longbeach 152/4th Street, Swakopmund, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 hotels in Swakopmund
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Hilarious, but not in a good way”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having high expectations coming into "luxury, 5 star accomodation" part of Protea's exclusive African Pride label in Swakopmund Namibia this was an utter dissapointment. Let me actually start out with the good (yes, there is some). The accomodation itself isn't bad. The two rooms we were shown were spacious, had decent facilities and a nice ocean view. Unfortunately, that is were the good ends. The "bad" list is a lot longer, and makes this 2500 ZAR per night hotel an absolute rip off:

- When looking for the hotel, the first thing one notices is it location. It is literally in the middle of a residential neighbourhood stashed away between appartment blocks. Expecting five star luxury this was a major let down

- Upon entering the first thing one notices is the receptionist. It is quite tough to get a hold of her as she is occupied on the phone most of the times (and no, these weren't guests she was helping)

- Then the restaurant. Yes, the restaurant, where can I start. In a way this was the most hilarious part of my trip as I've never encountered such. Not even in 1/2 star accomodations.
My first encounter with the restaurant staff was trying to order food during the afternoon. The three ladies all leaning against the counter did their best to see me out of the restaurant but I stood firm, being able to order food for people which arrived after 45 minutes in an empty restaurant

Chapter 2; breakfast. As poor as it can get choice wise. Two sorts of yoghurt, no pastries, a minimal selection of meat and some juices. 5 star luxury?

Chapter 3: going in to watch some football on a Saturday afternoon. The first thing the staff mentioned is that the tv couldn't be switched on because the remote had been "stolen". Again I stood firm and explained them that a tv also had manual controls. Visually upset, they managed to deliver us one round of beer during a 3 hour stay. One lady fled into the kitchen to have an afternoon long conversation about who knows what, the other one found a quiet corner to fall asleep, only to be woken up when we wanted to order coffee. After asking, they also managed to provide us some nuts to nibble on. I recognized these nuts from breakfast and they tasted like wood.

Chapter 4: Breakfast day 2. Walking into the restaurant I noticed the dinner from last night had not even been cleaned up at 9 am. So tables full with glasses of wine and empty bottles of beer to greet one at breakfast. When walking over to the buffet I noticed the same plate of nuts I had battled with the day before, and I almost wet my pants laughing. When the lady asked why the table hadn't been cleaned up she mentioned that "there were other people" on service last night, who had "just left". Quite remarkable as we were in the hotel bar the night before and saw her she was on duty. She was also drinking during her night shift, and looked hazy when we asked for a drink.

Some other notes:

- There is no swimming pool
- No gym
- The hotel set up is a maze
- Parking is on the street
- The "alfresco dining experience" consists of calamari rings and a beef patty burger, not a
high end dining experience
- The hotel is very poorly maintained. A lot of it is wood and visibly rotting. Restaurant chairs
are broken, lights don't work.
- The private beach is a lie. The hotel is beach facing, yes, but it is an ugly patch of coast

Concluding:

Do yourself a favor and look at one of the nice hotels in Swakopmund itself, this is just a rip off mainly due to some of the worst (although hilarious) service I've ever encountered. I can only hope someone in Protea's head office takes note of this and decided on rigorous action, as the days of Brad and Angelina are long gone..

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    5
    9
    6
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at Burning Shore. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff were great. Wonderful sea views right on the beach! The towels and bed changed each day. The restaurant has a good choice of menu and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed at Burning Shore for 3 nights. The rooms are spacious and clean. The friendly staff make you feel welcome and are pleased to assit. Excellent sea views from the bedroom and balcony. The bedroom linnen and Towels were crisp and changed daily. Restaurant offers a good menu which is reasonably priced. What a great place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koet, General Manager at Burning Shore, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding GUEST expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the priviledge of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Burning Shore again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Yes, this is the place Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie chose when they stayed in Namibia to welcome their first child together. This is a bed and breakfast in a great location righ on the beach, but quite a drive from swakopmund or walvis bay,the latter not worth a visit, and the former a quaint German town. The rooms were spacious albeit in need of a renovation. The carpets in the common areas threadbare ,the overall maintenance not up to standard .the hosts were nice and helpful ,but the location is what may put people off. You need a car to get around as taxis are unreliable. All tours and excursions recommended and booked were very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Actually set in the toytown development of Landstrand, some 15km north of the town and roughly half way to Swakopmund, this place hit the headlines when it bizarrely became the spot in which Brad and Angelina decided to stay whilst having their first child.

As a frequent visitor to namibia and particularly Swakopmund over the last several years, I decided that due to all the hype surrounding this place I would give it a try. The hype being the fact that Brad and Agelina stayed there a few years back for the week. The Hotel itself is set right on the beach front, but it is in a really strange area of development, which kind of resembles Toytown. The area is quite upmarket place, with lots of upmarket holiday homes surrounding it, but there is nothing to do other than walk the beach. If you want to get anything you need to drive 20 minutes into Swakopmund itself.

The Hotel accommodation is very comfortable and is comprised of five luxury suites, the one i rented even had a jacuzzi. Downstairs there is an comfortable lounge and dining area which has a garden. The food and service were pretty good, but you can only handle the same Restaurant a couple of times, hence the need to get out and go into town. Which by the way has some excellent Restaurant options.

Although it is a comfortable and reliable option, i cant see myself staying there again, as I much prefer to base myself in nearby Swakopmund.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms with great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Was in Namibia for two months...started and ended my stay at the Burning Shore. The bad hype is behind this property- excellent, friendly staff, lovely accomodations, and a great restaurant to boot! Exactly mid-way between Swakopmund and Walvis Bay in an area known as Langstrand, an upscale residential beach community. Dune riding and kayaking very nearby. Rates were not extremely high, as might be expected of a beach-side resort of this caliber, in this part of the world. Can't say enough about how attentive everyone was.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm. I enjoyed the Bay Room, just above the entrance to the restaurant. Kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koet, Manager at Burning Shore, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review upon your return. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.
We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Burning Shore again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luderitz, Namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had such a wonderful stay at Burning Shore! The staff is professional and friendly, the establishment is clean & tidy, the security was great, and we felt really at home there! The breakfast was delicious, with a wide variety of treats to choose from! If you're looking for warm hospitality, a home away from home, and a gem in the desert, THIS IS IT!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burning Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burning Shore

Address: Longbeach 152/4th Street, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burning Shore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the shifting sands of the Namib Desert swirl in time to an ageless rhythm, Burning Shore rises above the wilderness in an oasis of calm, like a soothing balm upon the scorched earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Burning Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burning Shore Swakopmund
Burning Shore Hotel Swakopmund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burning Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.