We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel - reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pension Rapmund

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pension Rapmund
Save
You added Hotel Pension Rapmund to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Bismarck Street | PO Box 425, Swakopmund, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel - reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Good clean hotel in the heart of Swakopmund - we had 2 seaview rooms which were light and airy and very clean. Breakfast is also great and overall it's really good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gallarate, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Very clean rooms, very good breakfast and very good position because near shops and sea

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Last years always stayed here for 2 nights on our trips to Namibia because it has good location and good breakfast. The rooms however needed some updating - which I specified in an earlier review I think.

Now the rooms have been repainted, the bathrooms have been redone and the breakfast room has been updated in nice fresh colours and it's again a GREAT PLACE, really value for money !!
Believe me we went to different hotels and B&B's in Swakopmund and most of them were overpriced. Depending of course if it's value for money or luxury and fancy rooms you're after: we were looking for location, quiet room and clean bathroom.

The rooms are not fancily decorated, just a good bed with clean linen, 2 nighttables with a lamp, desk with chair, 2 easy chairs, cupboard with lock, a bathroom with shower and good towels.
What more do you need?

And the service has - luckily - not changed: a nice hearty breakfast buffet with juice, coffee/ tea, eggs and bacon the way you like, cold meats and cheese, marmite, jam, paté, Namibian salami, toast or buns, yogurt, fresh fruit salad...

Oh yes there's a little kitchenette (no cooking) that you can use which has a fridge and water boiler with free coffee/ tea/ sugar/ milk.

Do make reservations ahead when travelling in high season.
We will be definitely returning to Rapmund Pension for a 5th time :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Good location, clean room, everything works, pleasant staff, secure parking. Be sure to visit the excellent Swakopmund Museum nearby.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

The hotel is near the centre of Swakopmund, but as Swakopmund is fairly small this is not a particular selling point.

The rooms are basic (no radio, no TV!), but do have access to communal kitchenette facilities for tea, coffee etc. The balcony overlooks the parking area and any view of the sea is blocked by trees. The beds are not uncomfortable, but it is not really the kind of place where the hotel itself is "part of the holiday".

The breakfast buffet is not bad, and has a very German feel to it - lots of meats and breads.

The main complaint would be that the prices turned out to be higher than advertised on the hotel's website: I booked for four nights but was forced to cancel one, and was told that this would be no problem; I suspect that the owners took the four-night price and divided it by three instead, so I ended up paying for the night that we cancelled anyway.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

I have only positive remarks to make. The situation of the Rapmund is escellent, I could go everywhere on foot. The room was most comfortable witth well-appointed bathroom en suite. Everything was spotless and most comfortable, including an enclosed balcony with reading nook. The breakfast was sumptuous and the coffee especially was something very special, so was the service and hospitality shown by EVERY SINGLE MEMBER OF STAFF and management. I felt completely relaxed and at home and would like to return as soon as possible. The rates are most reasonable. THANK YOU Frau Sonia and your staff, auf Wiedersehen!!

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Located in the centre of town and close to restaurants and beach Rapmund is a good place to stay. We, a family of four, stayed at a family room which was actually an appartment with 2 bedrooms and a living room. Clean and simple but excellent value for money. Breakfast is OK and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pension Rapmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Rapmund

Address: 6 Bismarck Street | PO Box 425, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Rapmund 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Rapmund Hotel Swakopmund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pension Rapmund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.