We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
Save
You added The Secret Garden Guesthouse to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   36 Bismarck Street | P.O.Box 2609, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 44 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ultimate getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed her with the wife on a spur of the moment trip to Namibia. This turned out to be one of our highlight throughout the five day trip. We stayed in the cottage in the garden. Small, but extremely comfortable and very unique. It is very clean, comfortable and safe. Owners are super friendly and helpful. Oreo (their dog) was a pleasant companion at breakfast time and made us smile every morning.

The guesthouse is very conveniently located in Swakopmund and a very close walk to the pier and some pubs and restaurants. Definitely planning a trip back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
12
47
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just had the pleasure of spending 2 weeks at the Secret Garden Guesthouse. It is perfectly situated within close walking distance of the CBD. The free wi-fi also ensures that you are still in contact with family, friends and the outside world. The guesthouse is situated in a very quiet area so you are ensured of a good night undisturbed rest. The rooms are clean and comfortable and despite what others have said about the owners I found them to be very accommodating and friendly just like the rest of the staff. I would definitely recommend this establishment to any traveler looking for good affordable accommodation perfectly located in Swakopmund.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for but even the (budget) standard room will provide you a good comfortable nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just enjoyed a great few days at the Secret Garden. we liked the big rooms, and artistic garden. We found the owners and staff friendly and very helpful when recommending places to visit. We didn't eat at the bistro, but it looked lovely, and we hope to return again, and try it next time.

Room Tip: Maybe ask to be away from the dining area over the weekends if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We arrived with a big group consisting of 9 adults and 7 children last Friday. We had a variety of rooms between us so we got a good impression of them all. They could also provide 2 cots for 7 month and 18month old as well as a eating chair.

I specifically loved the 2 family units, each unit can sleep 4people very comfortably, and it's got a small kitchen for preparing baby bottles (or keeping a bottle of wine in the fridge).

Normal rooms do have tea/coffee facilities & hair dryer, but not fridge or TV only the family units. Safe parking was also available.

From the moment we arrived we felt at home, the children could play in the garden and we loved sitting and enjoying a drink before exploring town. Peter and Adelheid (ouma) was very attentive.

In the morning breakfast consisted of a variety of cereals, cheeses, cold meats and even pancakes!

They do have 3 dogs but all friendly, so no problem with the children.

They have a little Bistro which definitely serves the best pizza in town (maybe even in Namibia)!Inge (daughter) run the bistro and her hubby makes the pizzas, she also served a great freshly home made sangria!

They also walking distance from the beach, town center and a variety of restaurants.

Overall a very good value for money experience.

Room Tip: S1 and S2 is great for families, the cottage is great for honeymooners. First few rooms 1-3 is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Lovely little guest house with clean bright rooms situated around a lovely internal garden. Run by a Piet and his wife who are most helpful to travellers. Smashing buffet breakfasts, and a great little pizza restaurant attached which is run by the owners daughter and son. We only planned to stay 2 days but it was so good that we ended up staying for 4. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All seem to be similarly good with some being larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Secret Garden Guesthouse was a very pleasant experience and the owners are conscious of guests "coming in from the desert" and that they may be tired or wanting a shower etc..
Hosts Peter and Adelheid are most accommodating. Peter comes across as a little gruff, but can be won over with a little persistence. Adelheid is more of a people person and is sociable and immediately friendly.
It helps to like dogs, as a number of them have the run/use of the communal lounge and courtyard and use these places they do.
Overall it's A1.

Room Tip: The hexagonally shaped room may not be to everyon's taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are good, breakfast is fine, the bistro is ok. The place is conviently located in the center of Swakopmund. Parking is safe but not very handy. Staff is friendly, but the managent is not. They were not helpful and sometimes even rude. A real pitty, it could be such a perfect place....

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGarden36, Owner at The Secret Garden Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Mich Lien,
We are sorry to hear you found management unfriendly. could you please be more specific as there must be a reason. Regarding the parking, why do you find it not handy? We are the only guesthouse in Swakopmund that offers a alarm protected parking area. At most guesthouses you park in the street , which you are welcome to do if you find the alarm system cumbersome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Secret Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Guesthouse

Address: 36 Bismarck Street | P.O.Box 2609, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Secret Garden Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Guesthouse Hotel Swakopmund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.