We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Swiss oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Giardino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sam's Giardino to your Saves list
Sam's Giardino
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   89 Lubowski Ave., Swakopmund 0000, Namibia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
West midlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The perfect Swiss oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Sam's attention to detail is evident in everything about this small hotel in a Swakopmund suburb within easy reach of the town centre. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The breakfasts, with the odd Swiss touches, are excellent. Sam will recommend Swakopmund restaurants for dinner but don't miss an evening in - with his reasonably priced and excellent quality five course dinner

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
54
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

For the price Sam's was an ideal location for a few days rest during a driving trip around Namibia. Sam himself although slightly quirky was an extremly helpful host arranging restaurant bookings and reconfirming activities for us. Breakfast was very good and we also had supper one evening, which again for the price was very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

Firstly, this is just an ugly hostel, not a hotel. The place is damped and moldy. The employees looked like they would rather be dead than there, and the receptionist was the rudest, most miserable person we encountered in the whole of Namibia. The owner - Sam- looked like he had not taken a shower or washed his clothes in months. Most of the time we felt like we were intruding when using the common areas, as it was not unusual to find Sam sleeping -mouth open and snoring- in the small living room which one has to cross when going to the reception.

We were there for three nights and every night we killed a cockroach. There was a dental floss in the bathroom floor when we checked in and it was still there when we left -it probably is still there today!- We could not leave this horrible place as it was the end of Easter week and everywhere else was full and so were the hotels and campsites in our next destinations.

Breakfast was horrible, flies everywhere and the two huge dogs, although very pretty, were always in the dining room –during breakfast and diner as well- harassing you for food. They will just sit next to you salivating, coming to the very edge of the table. This dogs were as tall as the tables so it was like they were sitting having breakfast/diner with you. It rained everyday, so you can only imagine the smell of these dogs and therefore, the smell in the enclosed dinning room.

One good thing, Sam really knows about wines, but the wine tasting can be skipped; Sam does not make it fun and enjoyable. It is more like a lecture with a very serious, stone-faced teacher.

We know this is Africa, but in our 20 days visit to Namibia, we stayed at much cleaner, friendlier and cheaper places, these including campsites across Namibia.

Sam's Giardino should not be considered a hotel, and should not be listed in the "high end, top end” sections in Loney Planet, Footprint, ...

There are nicer, cheaper and cleaner places in Swakopmund.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

First of all this establishment should not be advertised as a hotel...it is only a guest house...and a poor one at that.
It offers extremely small rooms with no airconditioning or fan, a view of the neighbours roof and an icy receptionist that has lost the touch in dealing with customers.
My recommondation is ... stay away... there are far better establishments in Swakopmund.
We ended up booking out and booked in at "The Burning Shore Hotel " situated about 15 Kms outside Swakopmund. We absolutely loved every single minute and where overwhelmed by the excellent service received from the friendly and effecient staff. The view from our room was simply stunning. A most enjoyable stay!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2006

We stayed at Sam’s Giardino two nights and found the stay very pleasant. The rooms are not terribly large, but that’s reflected in the price, obviously. The room that we stayed in was very clean and quiet with the usual amenities. We couldn’t fault it. The hotel has a small but very attractive garden and there are some secure parking spaces in a lot at the back. The food and the service were both very good, particularly the breakfasts. The hotel is located a few blocks away from the centre of town – it probably took us about ten minutes to walk to the main street. However Swakopmund seems to be a fairly safe place (relative to, say, Windhoek), so we didn’t mind the stroll in, even at night.

The best feature of this place is that the quietly-spoken Sam clearly loves Namibia and he does make a real effort to share his knowledge of the country with his guests. We arrived at the hotel after dark and we hadn’t really planned properly what we were going to do the next day. However Sam quickly put us in touch with a local guy who runs nature tours of the dunes (there’s a surprising amount of wildlife in those vast piles of sand). This was an inspired choice and the next day we enjoyed one of the best tours of our whole African holiday. Sam also maintains a well-stocked library of books and videos about Namibia in the small, but comfortable, lounge area of the hotel. We watched a video about the Skeleton Coast with some other guests before we were called to the evening dinner.

This hotel is not a five star establishment and doesn't pretend to be, but I've given it the maximum score because, in my opinion, it would be very hard to improve upon it without increasing the price per person.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sam's Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Giardino

Address: 89 Lubowski Ave., Swakopmund 0000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Giardino 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Giardino Experience surrounded by an intimate atmosphere and creative spirit - from the wine cellar filled with the Cape`s finest and candle-light gourmet dinners to libraries of books and travel info. Our tranquil gardens invite you to relax over sundowners, after exhilarating excursions, while our comfort rooms decorated in mostly natural materials ensure that you feel pampered even in your sleep. The Giardino is a haven to those who love all the good things in life ... and Bernese Mountain Dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sam's Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.