We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and comfy beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hansa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hansa Hotel to your Saves list
Hansa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Hendrik Witbooi St., Swakopmund 9000, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Swakopmund
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Central location and comfy beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This classic hotel is in a great location in the middle of town with easy walking access to the shops,cafes and waterfront. Great comfortable clean beds with the warmest duvet I had ever had!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    65
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
76
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Nice room that opened onto the garden, nice big bathroom, comfortable, quiet, well-groomed, a feeling of being surrounded by "old-school" values and the nicer things. But not a special place, not warm or charming. Did not eat dinner there so perhaps missed the high point of the place. Breakfast good but again, not special. Its location is its best feature, an easy walk from everything in downtown Swakopmund, restaurants, shops, museum, etc.

Room Tip: ground floor garden-facing room was very nice, not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walvis Bay, Namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Having travelled extensively in Europe, South Africa and parts of Asia, we rate the Hansa Hotel in Swakopmund, Namibia, as the best dining experience ever.

Service is impeccable, the quality and presentation of the food is always exceptional and the wine list out of the ordinary.

Even their casual lunches are very good and well priced.

We have been going there for over 35 years and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Really helpful staff who gave a great welcome and were extremly helpful. Even to to point of posting me back the camera battery I left there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces the garden as there is no air con and you need your balcony door open to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upington, Northern Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Great to be a guest at the Hansa. Everything works and the staff is well trained and very friendly. Managment is always on the premises. Excellent food and rooms and public areas. Charming and very effective. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. 10 out of 10. Wow

Room Tip: We prefer non-smoking rooms and stayed in the rooms from 1 to 10, but all rooms are tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

It was an absolute pleasure to stay at the Hansa... My business trip required continuous internet connectivity and the efficient staff offered alternative rooms in the event that the connectivity was not to my liking.

Friendly, helpful and very efficient.

The rooms are spacious and neat and as a coffee addict, I was pleasantly surprised to have ample coffee sachets in my room where only two are supplied in most hotels.

Lovely hotel and I will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The hotel experience was great. I moved to this hotel after I stayed at the Swakopmund Hotel for a night and did not like it. The Hansa was great. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff were professional and competent and the food at the restaurant was very good. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. Overall, very nice hotel and the best place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in the second floor with a room facing away from the street. Room was very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hansa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansa Hotel

Address: 3 Hendrik Witbooi St., Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Swakopmund
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hansa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hansa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansa Hotel Swakopmund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hansa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.