We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Cafe

Strand Cafe
Palm Beach | Mole Beachfront, Swakopmund, Namibia
+264 64 400935
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 47 Restaurants in Swakopmund
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast
Otjiwarongo, Namibia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were 4 guys visiting the Strand Cafe. Well, one cannot complain about their service....THERE IS NONE!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Timing.!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Me and my friends were sitting at the strand cafe we waited 15 min for service and our table was dirty we asked it to be clean. Our food was great a pork schnitzel but our food came before our drinks. the waiter was friendly and everything but not recomended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Super Strand Cafe Swakopmund”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Recently we had a very good lunch at the Strand Cafe, Swakopmund. It was a simple meal (my husband had fresh fish-of-the-day and chips, and I had a huge Greek Salad filled with olives and feta cheese) yet overall beautifully presented and absolutely affordable, including drinks and tips. Service that Saturday was impeccable.

But best of all, we had our little doggie with us and they immediately brought out a bowl filled with water for her, without asking. We were highly impressed. When I mentioned this to the manager he said, "We welcome dogs." Highly impressive as very few restaurants do this.

The Strand Cafe is an outdoor cafe, with a beautiful view of the beach and sea. We always have a lunch there when we are in Swakop: I highly recommend the Strand Cafe as they lived up to their motto, "A great place for a great meal" - it certainly is!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice beach bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

It was a beautiful day and we felt like something light to eat. Good to note that when it’s not high season in this little village, most of the restaurants are only open at night or over the weekend so we struggled to find a place.

While walking along the beach front we spotted the Strand Cafe. The best choices by far were the fish & chips and the calamari dishes. Our waitress was incredibly friendly although we were warned by locals not to expect too much when it came to service.

I think if you are spending the day on the beach and feel like a quick lunch this is a perfect fit for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The biggest burger ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The restaurant is outdoor close to the beach and a very nice spot to relax. We ordered 2 of the biggest burgers, and the are BIG!!! ( see photo) also the ciabatta with salmon and fries was good.
The couscous with dried tomatoes tasted also very nice.
A nice place for a lunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strand Cafe also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Strand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.