We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Welwitschia Plains, A Scenic Drive

Welwitschia Plains, A Scenic Drive
Swakopmund, Namibia
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Attractions in Swakopmund
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Depending on how you like your cup of tea this drive will NOT appeal to everyone.
I think young children will find it extremely boring however, if you are into geography you will love it.

The "Moon Landscape" and the Welwitschia plant was were my highlights.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Have to DO!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you are going along the drive past the Luna Landscape, you go to the place in town and get a key for the route signs. Along the route are numbers. Each one has a story about that area.

The Welwitchias are the last stop on the route, its worth it to go and have a look although really these are not very beautiful plants. It merely to understand the dessert.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

An easy drive, accessible with any car. The moon landscape is fantastic, the welwitschia's interesting. Remember to get a permit in town - we didn't know about that, and were stopped - unfortunately the park ranger was clearly angling for a bribe, but thankfully we didn't bite, and he let us off with a "warning".
Unfortunately the signage does not give any clue as to where to get the permit, so ask your hotel/B&B before you venture out!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A very worthwhile drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Melanie and I drove to the plains on a Saturday. A very quite drive, few cars and we it was worthwhile. We can recommend it to anyone.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Great activity in Swakopmund”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We did the drive in September 2011 after picking up a map and permit in Swakopmund city.

It is a fun drive to do and the Welwischia is definitely a unique plant. The map provides information about the landscape and the various desert plants that grow there.

Very interesting to pass a couple of hours with!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welwitschia Plains, A Scenic Drive also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Welwitschia Plains, A Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welwitschia Plains, A Scenic Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.