We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zum Kaiser

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zum Kaiser to your Saves list
Hotel Zum Kaiser
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4 Sam Nujoma Avenue, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia (Formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Liverpool UK
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Pleasant and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night after a tiring drive en route from Sossusvlei to Damaraland. As we approached the coast, we were surprised to encounter fog, and a decidedly chilly wind.But a warm welcome at this pleasant hotel revived our spirits. The hotel is situated in a quiet road just across from the promenade and ocean, with shops and banks nearby. Modern and clean, it looked a better bet than some of the other hotels we came across.
Our room was located above an adjoining restaurant, and could be reached by a small footbridge from the hotel, or directly from the restaurant steps. It was large and comfortable, with a wonderful bathroom containing bath and shower.
We took dinner at this restaurant ( I think it's called Zum Kaiser) in front of a blazing log fire, and food was good and reasonably priced (N$340 for two, including 2 large glasses of good wine, beer and bottled water).
There is a private car park to the rear.
All in all, a good little hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Ornsay,
Thank you for your delightful review of your recent stay at Swakopmund Boutique Hotel! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the dinner at the Zum Kaiser.
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Swakopmund!
Best wishes,
The Swakopmund Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
32
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We arrived in Swakopmund and discovered this gem! Close to the jetty in the middle of town. Very new, super clean and everything you needed! The staff were so friendly. We had a Tv in our room and could even watch some South African sport and MNET. The room also had a small balcony and sea view. Breakfast was in the building next door and they even packed us breakfast the last morning because we had to leave very early! Lovely bed and linen, really deserve at least 4 stars!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear 312659Coco,
Thank you for your excellent review and compliments to our staff and facilities.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Swakopmund!
Best wishes,
The Swakopmund Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Typical small business hotel, new, with no particular features but clean and in a good location by the ocean. The rooms are airy and quiet. The staff is very kind and always available to help. Wi fi in every room. Good breakfast

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Mariat68,
Thank you for your wonderful review and compliments to our staff. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia and Swakopmund.
Best wishes,
The Swakopmund Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

When we arrived @ the hotel, we were sooooo tired and jet lagged and were looking forward to our sea view room! Well, the view is contrived...and when we asked for a room with a real view, we were told that this room has among the best view we have! Certainly couldn't hide the disappointment and to our surprise, the charming Ms. Anna Jorge, the hotel manager showed up and apologized about not really having a view but wanted to offer everything possible in her power to make our stay memorable! From attending to our every need in detail, to getting us the best table @ at the best restaurant in town, to a fabulous dinner at the Zum Kaiser restaurant on the house! She has managed to induce the same energy in her team who go over and beyond to help you with a smile. In the end we didn't mind that the hotel really doesn't have sea views (except the roof terrace), but is steps away from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear SunitaJG,
Thank you for your review and kind words to our staff and manager. Glad we contributed to a memorable stay in Swakopmund.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia.
Best wishes,
The Swakopmund Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

we loved this hotel, loved the style and design, and especially the location in Swakopmund ..it really is walking distance to everything, beach, shops, restaurants, attractions in the town. Our room you could sit on the balcony a see the sea. Ultra comfortable beds and bed linen. good breakfast.BUT we had no hot water, it was luke warm! It was a cold winter night so that didn't go down too well. The young man on duty said he'd turned the temp up, but he hadn't, as it never improved , even by morning. So the hotel has a problem there. We will come back, even though it is quite pricey, just because of the ease of it. Very very nice.

Room Tip: best rooms are the higher floors for the seaview, and a corner room for the space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Bobbi833,
Thank you for your review. Glad you like the location, style and design.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Swakopmund.
Best wishes,
The Swakopmund Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. We had our 7 year old daughter with us and they gave us two adjoining rooms (Room 1 &2) with the internal door open and it made for a very comfortable stay with lots of room.
Rooms: Very nice, clean and comfortable. The beds are very comfortable and large. The bathrooms are clean. We had a little trouble with the hot water, it was warm at times, but everything else was excellent. The rooms are very modern in style.
Service: The front desk and all the staff are excellent and most helpful. They are always there, friendly and eager to help. They made dinner reservations for us, advised us on activities and other general advise.
Food: We had breakfast here in the mornings. The breakfast buffet was good, they had a better than normal selections of bread, pastries and fruit. eggs were cooked to order.
The location is great, on the main street, but at the end. All the restaurants, stores and touristy attractions are within easy walking. However, you miss out on the noise, especially late at night on the weekends.
Overall a great experience, highly recommended for your stay in this town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Khaja,
Thank you for you great review and recommendation. We are glad you liked our location and happy we could assist you with reservations and advise.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Swakopmund!
Best wishes,
The Swakopmund Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Very clean. Very nice rooms. Great service. Walking distance to beach Restaurant next door, excellent service. Great food. Very good menu. Will definately stay there again and again. I highly recommend that you check out this hotel before making your final decision of where to stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear MikeEmge,
Thank you for your fantastic review and recommendation. We appreciate all you kind words and are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Swakopmund.
Best wishes,
The Swakopmund Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zum Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Kaiser

Address: 4 Sam Nujoma Avenue, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia (Formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on Sam Nujoma Avenue in the picturesque Swakopmund, the luxurious Hotel Zum Kaiser offers direct access to the beach and the town's vibrant street life, quaint architecture, shopping and fine dining. This exclusive hotel houses 21 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, each featuring a full en-suite bathroom, television, coffee-and tea making facilities, bar fridge, electronic safe and wireless internet. The tastefully decorated hotel offers a combination of Court Yard Suites, Front Facing Suites and 3 family rooms with inter-leading doors. Each of the Front Facing Suites is equipped with a private balcony to enjoy splendid views of the historic town and partial views of the nearby Atlantic seaboard. Uniquely combining modern furnishings with a touch of classic elegance dating from imperial times, the Hotel Zum Kaiser creates a truly authentic and intimate ambiance. Enjoy delectable cuisine at the on-site Bistro Zum Kaiser and sip sun-downers whilst experiencing the spectacular sunsets over the Atlantic from the hotel's idyllic Roof Terrace. The Hotel Zum Kaiser is fully equipped and offers the ideal setting for conferences, banqueting and celebrations. Exciting activities in the area can be booked directly at reception. Let our attentive team welcome you to our kingdom and make you feel like an Emperor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Zum Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zum Kaiser, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.