We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jetty washed ashore” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jetty 1905

Jetty 1905
Molen Road | On the Pier, Swakopmund, Namibia
+264 64 40 5664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Swakopmund
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Sushi, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on Swakopmund's historical iron Jetty which, after being closed for 10 years was renovated and reopened to the public by The Lighthouse Group on 6 August 2010. Breathtaking views looking back from the Atlantic ocean to land, or out to sea. A varied menu serving seafood dishes, sushi, steaks and more. Perfect for that romantic date or special occasion. A must for every visitor to SwakopmundBookings essential: +264 64 405664
Somerset West
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jetty washed ashore”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been regular visitors to the Jetty 1905 Restaurant in Swakopmund. The setting is great and the food used to be even more gastronomic. Unfortunately we have noticed a decline in the quality of food over the past few months. No more fresh salmon for sushi, fried chips are old, even the bacon for salads are as dry as the desert and has no taste. The service at times are as bad as the food. It was embarrassing to say the least, to see my friends battle through their meals which was overcooked, tasteless and had no visual appeal. I booked a particular table in advance and was given another one! Not the first time. Unfortunately the chef Tshepo, who is a qualified Sushi Chef, is no longer there, probably because of the quality of produce that he had to work with. I suggest, management take a serious look at the type and quality of produce they provide. The Jetty is on a slippery slope and is sliding towards the desert faster than the waves can carry them. Do not think you are going to get good quality for your hard earned cash.

There are plenty other good restaurants in Swakopmund. Location is not everything.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    138
    47
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Superb setting overlooking the ocean with food to suit all tastes, good staff and service. Would highly recommend a visit to anyone in Swakopmund!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea Gardens
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. Had the seafood platter and it was one of the best with both fresh and cooked 'treats'

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lovely Seafood, Good Service, Ideal Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really enjoyed the sushi and seafood here. Food was well presented and the service was good. Lovely atmosphere, wolud have loved to come during the day to be able to see the views or even at sunset.

The only downside to our meal was the dessert, we orderd the hot chocolate pudding, recommended by our waitress, it came warm and hence did not taste amazing. Should have gone with the red velvet cake instead, which looked divine!!

If you like sushi and seafood - it's definately worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Food and Great Sea Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went there expecting fantastic seafood but were let down the seafood was okay but not what we expected and for the restaurant being mostly empty the service was very slow. On other visits we have had the burgers, fries and the stuffed jalapeño all were good and very enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jetty 1905 also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Jetty 1905? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetty 1905, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.