We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Swakop, bar none!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wreck Restaurant

The Wreck Restaurant
1 Stint street | Vogelstrand, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
+264 64 414528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best food in Swakop, bar none!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Best food in town. No comparison. Delicious king klip, steak. Great quality desserts. Awesome views, right on the beach. Staff ok.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    64
    21
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swakopmund
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The food, service and price are Great, i have not had any better in Swakopmund. The location is a bit out of town but the view over the sea makes up for the trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund, Namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The Wreck Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Excellent view, excellent food and excellent service. Thank you so much. The sole was out of this world not to mention the white chocolate mouse.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“International standard - deserves its reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

From what we have experienced, the motto "don't go to Namibia for its food" is warranted, though in the case of the Wreck ths is definitely not true. We went with high expectations and we were not disappointed. Even on a Monday night the restaurant was full. We took the 2nd sitting but they let us come early at 8 pm. The menu was varied with a good range of fish and meat dishes (not much for vegetarians, though not our problem). We chose starters of Thai fish and veg soup and tempura vegetables. Main courses of grilled Kingklip. All the dishes were of a high international standard. There was a good wine list of S African wines. We were able to choose an excellent Sauvignon Blanc from Saxenburg estate. Service was very efficient. The waiters were kept very busy though everything happened to time with friendliness and courtesy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A top notch restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere. The view through the large windows overlooks the ocean, in the early evening surfers can be spotted and then a beautiful sunset to welcome in the evening. Great service, excellent portion sizes and a good selection of wine. The desserts are out of this world, the chocolate mousse is simply the BEST.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wreck Restaurant also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to The Wreck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wreck Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.