We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another positive experience with Gemma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Namibia Private Day Tours and Safaris

Discover Namibia Private Day Tours and Safaris
Swakopmund, Namibia
+27 (0) 28 312 3133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Activities in Swakopmund
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Namibia is a Namibian Tourism Board registered company.We offer privately guided day tours in Windhoek and Swakopmund as well as a selection of longer tour options.Bookings can be made via telephone or e mail.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Another positive experience with Gemma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We used Gemma to book our trip to Etosha, Chobe and Victoria Falls in June 2013.
Like others, we found her to be responsive, helpful and efficient.
Her recommendation to include Onguma Bush Camp in lieu of staying at Namutoni was particularly appreciated - Namutoni looked very tired and run down when we called in for lunch, while our 3 days at Onguma in a waterhole chalet were just delightful - excellent accommodation, service, food and drives. Could not have been happier.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    1
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“An unforgettable trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I learnt about Gemma Dry, her staff and company by reading Trip Advisor reviews and I was not disappointed by my experience. I contacted Gemma a few months prior to arranging my flights to Namibia. The turn-around time for a response was almost immediate. Never did I feel that my many questions about the country and our trip were a burden to Gemma and her team; all emails were answered promptly, politely and patiently. The Discover Namibia staff were very insightful when it came to commenting on my intended itinerary and also made additional recommendations to me about locations, prices, activities and our time frame. Our two week schedule was jam-packed, as per our wishes, but the experience itself was absolutely wonderful. The team was able to figure out what best suited our tastes in terms of accommodations and activities and every lodge we stayed at was elegant, well-located and demonstrated excellent service. All of prearranged activities were well-organised, memorable and overall, the experience felt reliable and safe.

All reservations were investigated and confirmed within 24 hours of us agreeing to an itinerary and we paid the full amount beforehand, which worked out very well, as we carried less money and were not presented with any surprises in regards to paying afterwards. One of activities was cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances and a refund was arranged immediately.

The tour guide provided was extremely kind, friendly, knowledgeable and patient, and we would absolutely request the services of the same guide and the Discover Namibia company when we return again. The company also made helpful travel provisions for us, such as providing bottled water at all times, multiple travel converters and offered to provide sleeping bags, etc., had the need arisen during our trip. During our time in Namibia the staff provided us with a 24 hour phone number to call in case of any problems, of which they were none, and even sent us a Welcome Home message upon our return.

I was extremely pleased with my experience of using Discover Namibia to arrange our holiday and feel confident recommending their services, especially to first-time Namibia visitors.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We did a lot in one day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our day with Francois. He is very knowledgeable and experienced with the desert. We agree that our desert tour was too brief but he put an lot into the time we had and we will enjoy the memories and pictures. Thanks for putting this tour together for us.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Planning our trip to Namibia was a breeze using this company. They gave us really good advice and definitely contributed to the enjoyment of our holiday. We changed our minds a few times and it didn't seem to phase them at all - they just kept coming back with alternatives until we were completely satisfied. The info pack supplied was extensive and we had no problems navigating the route although a couple of times the left or right turns indicated on the map would have resulted in us ending in the sea or dessert. No harm done though as it was pretty obvious which way to go. We would definitely use them again and can recommend them with confidence.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent 2.5 weeks coordinated by Disover Namibia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We worked with Discover Namibia and Gemma to create a 2.5 week itinerary through Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe. They were incredible not only through the planning process but during our trip. Any questions we had, Gemma was always quick to answer emails and text messages. They answered so many questions for us that we felt other tour operators ignored or were annoyed by. I cannot reccomend them enough and we look forward to working with them on a return trip in the future!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Namibia Private Day Tours and Safaris also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Discover Namibia Private Day Tours and Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Namibia Private Day Tours and Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.