We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turnstone Tours

Turnstone Tours
| PO Box 307, Swakopmund, Namibia
++ 264 64 403123
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great day out but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoyed our day trip to Sandwich Harbour as the scenery was spectacular and this part of the coast felt so wild and isolated. The drive there and back was fun with the driver having to stop every so often to dig us out of the sand. Driving in the dunes was equally fun.
It was an expensive day which of course we knew it would be when we booked it. However the food could have been better as apparently the driver's wife who normally does the cooking was away. No consideration had been made for the vegetarian in the party; there was no substitute for the meat lasagne that everyone else was eating. Yet the same fee was charged.
We had to wait for some time in the landrover whilst the driver attended to some business in Walvis Bay which was not great considering how much we were paying.
Very disappointed that an item we left behind in the landrover and which was apparently found a few minutes after dropping us off was not returned to us that day & no effort was made to contact us at our hotel. We tried to contact Turnstone Tours but could not reach anyone, and consequently were not able to retrieve the item before we left Swakopmund. So make sure you check that none of your possessions have fallen on the floor during the dune driving..; an expensive mistake for us.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    3
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved every moment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Turnstone Tours ticked all the right boxes for us on our day trip to Sandwich Harbour.
Our guide: Ernest was friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. An excellent driver too, he quietly but thoroughly assessed each situation and took the right line every time. Essential merits considering the conditions of the drive. He truly loves his job, and it showed.
The place: The coastline we traveled on our way to Sandwich Harbour is remote, desolate and dangerous; while at the same time incredibly beautiful.
The wildlife: We saw jackals and springbok; but the highlight is the incredibly prolific birdlife from the guano platform near Walvis Bay all the way to Sandwich Harbour. We were lucky enough to see the American skimmer in Walvis Bay, although at the time we did not know that it was a special sighting and I have included a photo of it with my review. Especially for you Ernest ... !
The food: We were treated to a delicious picnic lunch in the middle of the dunes.
Sandwich Harbour is surely a place to put on your bucket list. And, if you do go there, go there with Turnstone Tours.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A fantastic day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked a full day trip to Sandwich Harbour. All the arrangements made by Turnstone were faultless. Our guide for the day was Ernst, who was fantastic. He made the day very memorable. The best way of describing Ernst enthusiasm and love of sandwich harbour - is to say that you thought you had been on one of his first trips to the place (I think he had been a tour guide in the area for the last ten years).

There is not much more I can add about the scenery etc that has not been said before. We loved the day and would recommend it without hesitiation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The most amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The highlight of my Namibian holiday was a day tour to Sandwich Harbour.

The scenery was spectacular, the tourist guide knowledgeable, friendly, an excellent driver and a good cook!

From Swakopmund we drove to beautiful Walvis Bay which is a tree-lined coastal resort, with multi-million dollar homes along its Millionnaire Mile Beachfront. The lagoon boasts a plethora of bird life including flamingoes and gulls. The salt mines provide tons of salt daily and the beaches stretch to eternity. The dunes are spectacular and, in my view, on a par with Sossusvlei.

It was extremely exciting to drive on sand along the beach at low tide and then speed up the dunes to view the Namib desert stretch to eternity.

Lunch was delicious - lasagne, pate, salad, desert, cheese and an excellent selection of cool drinks.
The setting was mindboggling with dunes all around and, despite midday heat, our guide found
an ideal spot in the shade of the vehicle.

Compliments to Turnstone for providing a tour which will remain embedded in my memory for ever.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We took a wonderful trip to Sandwich Harbour with Ernst in February 2012. What can I say? The landscape is amazing, the wildlife is spectacular, the food is delicious and Ernst is a wonderful guide. His genuine friendliness, knowledge of the desert and entertaining stories made this day trip a very memorable one. It felt like being with a friend. Thank you!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turnstone Tours also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Turnstone Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turnstone Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.