We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turnstone Tours

Turnstone Tours
| PO Box 307, Swakopmund, Namibia
++ 264 64 403123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 25 Activities in Swakopmund
Attraction details
Worcester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A fantastic day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked a full day trip to Sandwich Harbour. All the arrangements made by Turnstone were faultless. Our guide for the day was Ernst, who was fantastic. He made the day very memorable. The best way of describing Ernst enthusiasm and love of sandwich harbour - is to say that you thought you had been on one of his first trips to the place (I think he had been a tour guide in the area for the last ten years).

There is not much more I can add about the scenery etc that has not been said before. We loved the day and would recommend it without hesitiation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    2
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The most amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The highlight of my Namibian holiday was a day tour to Sandwich Harbour.

The scenery was spectacular, the tourist guide knowledgeable, friendly, an excellent driver and a good cook!

From Swakopmund we drove to beautiful Walvis Bay which is a tree-lined coastal resort, with multi-million dollar homes along its Millionnaire Mile Beachfront. The lagoon boasts a plethora of bird life including flamingoes and gulls. The salt mines provide tons of salt daily and the beaches stretch to eternity. The dunes are spectacular and, in my view, on a par with Sossusvlei.

It was extremely exciting to drive on sand along the beach at low tide and then speed up the dunes to view the Namib desert stretch to eternity.

Lunch was delicious - lasagne, pate, salad, desert, cheese and an excellent selection of cool drinks.
The setting was mindboggling with dunes all around and, despite midday heat, our guide found
an ideal spot in the shade of the vehicle.

Compliments to Turnstone for providing a tour which will remain embedded in my memory for ever.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We took a wonderful trip to Sandwich Harbour with Ernst in February 2012. What can I say? The landscape is amazing, the wildlife is spectacular, the food is delicious and Ernst is a wonderful guide. His genuine friendliness, knowledge of the desert and entertaining stories made this day trip a very memorable one. It felt like being with a friend. Thank you!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Spectacular, just spectacular!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Three of us booked 2 half-day tours on a recent visit to Walvis Bay, Namibia. when our ship paid a visit there. All our arrangements with Turnstone Tours were handled via email. Turnstone was VERY quick to respond with clear, informative answers. Based on the reviews here and the friendly professionalism of the e-mail exchange I felt comfortable booking the tours.
The first tour was an afternoon tour which could be described as an ornithological extravaganza. Now, none of us are birdwatchers but our guide, Ernst, knew so much about what we were seeing that we all were filled with his enthusiasm. Ernst took us literally off the beaten path to see flurries of flamingos, colonies of seals, avocets and more. When we returned to our ship and told fellow passengers of the tour, all said that they saw NO flamingos and that the guides on the ship-sponsored tours said the flamingos had already migrated away from Namibia.
Our second half-day tour was of the German town of Swakopmund and the dunes that are prevalent in Walvis Bay. Again, Ernst really knew his stuff and his enthusiasm spilled over on to us.
All this to say, Turnstone WELL exceeded our expectations and for a cost LESS than the ship's sponsored tours.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Spiritual Sandwich Harbour, Namibia with Turnstone Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Sandwich Harbour is a RAMSAR Site (The Convention of Wetlands) and it is vigilantly preserved.
For me Sandwich Harbour is a very spiritual place. There is an amazing energy from the dunes as well as the sea. As Namibians, we have been to Sandwich Harbour many times. This time we were treated by a friend to a full day tour and have just had the most wonderful, highly stimulating and energetic tour with TURNSTONE TOURS based in Swakopmund. Ernst Ritter, our driver and guide, and his son, went out of their way to show us everything we wanted to know about Sandwich Harbour: bird life, animal and plant life, geology, photographic views, geographic and historic places of interest and so much more. Driving up and down the dunes in a 4 x 4 we listened to the humming (a very deep, low tone) of the dunes, saw at close range a variety of dune lizards including the sweetest and colourful shovel-nosed and wedge nosed lizards, dung beetles, plenty of black-backed jackal (some sleeping on the dunes others actively foraging for food on the beach) and loads of magnificent wetland bird life.
At low tide we drove along the narrow beach, with the massive dunes rising above us on one side and the mighty Atlantic rollers on the other side. Ernst was always extremely cautious and safety conscious with regard to which dunes we were gong to traverse, as well as negotiating the tides. Driving up and down dunes is not an easy feat, as one needs to know the desert like the back of one’s hand. Ernst knows exactly that: he is a walking encyclopaedia of knowledge of the Namib Desert and indeed Namibia.
Included in the package is a pickup from and drop off in Swakop, a drive to Walvis Bay to obtain permits to enter the Park, the whole dune tour and Sandwich Harbour as well as a delicious lunch of salads, breads and soft drinks. Tables and chairs were set right at the top of the dune overlooking the ocean. What a breath-taking view.
We had loads of exercise climbing up dunes, walking amongst the dunes to little oases, examining different plants and tasting some seeds, seeing wind-swept and shaped sand castles naturally built in the middle of nowhere! All in all it is worth the money and I would highly recommend TURNSTONE TOURS to everyone - Namibians included - to take this opportunity to experience Sandwich Harbour for yourself. Put this awesome place on your bucket-list!
Genie Albrecht
Namibia

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turnstone Tours also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Turnstone Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turnstone Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.