We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Island in Africa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swakopmund Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swakopmund Guesthouse
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Hendrik Witbooi 35, Swakopmund, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Long Island in Africa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We loved this little guesthouse - everything is white and decorated Long Island Style. There are rocking chairs all over the veranda, and it felt great to be in such a clean chique place after the desert! The guesthouse is right in town, you can walk all over. Service is very friendly, and breakfast nice. A great place to stay! There is only one thing to consider: there is only one chair in the room and no lounge area - so after dark there is ni real place to sit, if it's cold out. Didn't bother us, but if yiubwant to soend time in the room, it's nit ideal.

Room Tip: Rooms 13-16 are in an extra building, situated ariund a very nice courtyard, they are more private t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
50
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The establishment is clean and comfortable with a good breakfast and in a reasonable location, but the rooms are really basic and we didnt get our room cleaned properly. When compared to all our other properties we thought it was out of alignment in terms of price.
To be fair I would give it 3.5 out of 5 not 3

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We loved our stay at the Swakopmund Guesthouse. It has a casual elegance about it. It is extremely comfortable, great staff, wonderful breakfast and very helpful hosts. It's also a great location. Would stay again. Loved it. We did the Seal Kayaking with Jan at Eco Marine Kayak Tours and it was amazing. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 1 week in March and absolutely loved our stay there. The room was more than could have imagined for the money. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Would defiantly stay again if I end up back in Swakopmund and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

After a couple of nights camping, we non-campers were looking forward to this stopover at the Swakopmund Guesthouse. Notwithstanding our very much lowered expectations after two nights slipping (not sleeping) in nylon sleeping bags, we appreciated almost everything about Swakopmund Guesthouse.

It is extremely clean and comfortable, even without air conditioning. (Remember, we just had two nights in boiling hot tents, so I guess it's all relative!) The beds were a good size, and the spare bed which was put into our room for our 9 year old son was also a decent size. Decor wise, it is 'Germany at the Beach', but we liked and appreciated this. There is zero clutter, and it has a bright and beachy feel. Not having many television stations wasn't a problem for us, as we were out and about. We managed to pick up the South African News channel and not Al Jazeerah, so maybe this issue has been sorted out since some of the other reviews.

The location is excellent and close to the town centre which meant that we did hear a few comings and goings outside late and night, but not enough to complain about. The breakfast is definitely German in theme, and the bread selection is particular is excellent. It is a handsome breakfast fare and there is something for everyone.

The only negatives that we could comment on were the lack of room cleaning (it was left half done on one day with no change of towels) and the very firm scolding from the owner for daring to sit at a non allocated breakfast table when the whole room was otherwise empty.

We did not find the Guesthouse atmosphere to be overly warm and welcoming, but after camping, we didn't mind this too much. We were there for the comfort, cleanliness and the location, and it definitely ticked all of those boxes and more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Me & my husband stay in this guesthouse for 2 nights in September 2011.

Ideally located, 5 minutes walk to the city centre, we found ourselves in good size, comfy and clean room, with nice and big bed.

Great breakfast in the morning, staff were friendly and helpful.

I can't really say anything bad about Swakopmund Guesthouse and would reccomend to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were made very welcome and the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable and had a fridge, air conditioning, a television and safe. The guesthouse does have free internet and we had no trouble sending email so long as we were in reception or on the patio just ouside our room. The guesthouse is well situated for central Swakopmund and restaurants such as the Tug. We were there two nights and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swakopmund Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swakopmund Guesthouse

Address: Hendrik Witbooi 35, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swakopmund Guesthouse 3.5*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swakopmund Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Swakopmund Guesthouse to your Saves list