We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Living Desert Adventures

Living Desert Adventures
P.O.Box 1953, Swakopmund, Namibia
+264 64 405070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Activities in Swakopmund
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Desert Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Most interesting and enjoyable experience - didn't realise the amount of life in a sand dune.

Doug was a most informative guide and his ability to switch from English to German was impressive. This topped with his good sense of humour made the trip more enjoyable.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    5
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“A must and the best in Swakopmund”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The little 5 tour with Chris is simply amazing. Chris has a great sense of humour and a passion for the life in the desert. The tour is at the same time entertaining and very interesting. In 5 hours you discover all types of animals and plants living in the desert. Don't miss it if you visit Swakopmund. Make sure to book in advance. Highly recommended,

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best tour in Swakupmund”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I am so thankful that we opted out of the 'adrenaline tours' on offer and booked onto this tour. It was fabulous from beginning to end. Our guide, Chris, was full to the brim with interesting information about the desert and the critters that live there. He was able to clearly provide loads of information at a level everyone in the group - children and adults alike - could understand; his passion is infectious. We saw the 'dancing white lady spider', a charming Namib dune gecko, a chameleon (who gobbled up a tok tokkie beetle we'd collected), and sidewinder snake - what an incredible way to spend half-a-day! I will never look at a desert the same way again, and cannot recommend this tour enough.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A big delay in writing this review from July 2013, but prompted by the stories my children still talk about as we plan our 2014 vacation.
Originally we had planned on doing the desert safari with Tommy's Desert Tours, unfortunately they were fully booked the day we planned to visit and recommended Chris Nel's Living Desert Adventures. We booked via email a month beforehand, and paid after the tour.
We were picked up promptly from our lodge, and quickly the adventure started...
My children (both boys) 8 and 12, listened to the story of the Namib Desert, the wildlife and importance of conservation, given by Chris in such a way it was funny, detailed and not preachy.
We were very lucky, within 2 hours we saw all the "little five" close and personal (take a macro lens as you will get very close). the cartwheeling spider looks very scary from 2-4 inches a way looking through the view finder.
the tour continued with some off road sand dune driving that far beats the roller coasters of Florida, and finished with the boys climbing the dunes and rolling around in the biggest sandpit on this planet. Of many trips to Africa and from the 17 nights in Namibia in 2013, this day was one of the mod rememberable.
I will never be able to think of buffet or muesli in the same light.
We will absolutely do this again on our next return to Namibia.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Chris's passion for the Desert is Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

What a wonderful morning we spent in the desert with our guide Chris. His knowledge about the fauna and flora is wonderful and his manner is entertaining. Definitely the highlight of our stay in Swakopmund. I can't recommend this trip enough.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Desert Adventures also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Living Desert Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Living Desert Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.