We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meike's Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Meike's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meike's Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   23 Windhoeker Street | P.O.Box 2858, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We understand wel that Meike has been voted one of the best places in Swakopmund. She is a great host with a lot of good advices. Rooms are spacious and very clean and so are the bathrooms. Breakfast is just amazing with anything you want. We were sitting there for quite a while talking to Meike. She was very helpful phoning friends and the car rental agency to find out about the paperwork entering the Mata Mata Gate at the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. That was extremely helpful and saved us a lot of money. Wifi worked fine in the breakfast room and around. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
61
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We were given the family room which was nice and spacious, a bit basic furniture but everything you could possibly need was there and all was very pleasant. We would have rated it very good if not for the owner Klaus who upon arrival was very helpful and made our experience truly excellent. To the great joy of our little daughter he gave a big box with lot's of lego to play. He recommended the very best tours without ever being pushy. We were trying to last minute arrange a visit to sossusvlei but did not really have enough time and did not want to travel so long by car with our daughter. Klaus recommended another place called Gobabeb with equally great dessert hills and stunnig views. It was not in any book nor on internet, it
turned out this is a research and training institute in the middle of nowhere which facilitated tourists. Truly this was our very best experience, exciting to explore and not be on the tourist track, basic but very complete accommodation up there with kitchen and even a basic swimming pool, expect nothing fancy but totally recommend to visit it after staying with meike's guesthouse, what an interesting place and yes we climbed the beautiful sanddunes! Klaus, thank you for your excellent hospitality and great tip! Definitely recommend meike's guesthouse!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our family of three recently stayed at Meike's Guesthouse. it was the beginning of our Namibia trip and a wonderful way to settle into traveling after the long flights from the states. Meike and her husband were perfect hosts, looking after all of their guests' needs. They would have gladly arranged tours for us but we had already determined our itinerary. Having said that, Meike made sure that our transport to Walvis Bay and had many suggestions for sightseeing in the area. The rooms are lovely, cheerfully decorated, spotless, the beds comfortable, and the location excellent. The rooms are arranged around a beautifully landscaped garden. Breakfast was a cold buffet and excellent with home made jams, a selection of breads, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, juices, cereals, fresh fruit, and excellent coffee. Meike even provided soy milk for me as I am lactose intolerant. She directed us to some wonderful restaurants and made sure that t the tour guide who collected us on our last day knew of my dietary issues. I would definitely return to Meike's Guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

A really cosy and welcoming guesthouse. Meike is incredibly friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Absolutlely recommend this place.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were on an overland tour and needed a break from the group. This place is right around the corner from Anapurna Backpackers where lots of the overland companies stay. Great rooms, great breakfast, great location, one of the friendliest people I've ever met that runs the place - what else could you want?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanzibar4
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

What a great guesthouse!

I got a bit of a easter feeling when I arrived there after a dental problem. The rooms are bright, yellow sheets ( that's why the easter feeling) and spotless,

Meike was not there but her husband was very friendly and helpful with any info requested!

The highlight though was there breakfast!! What a treat... nice cheeses, pate's!!!

WELL DONE! We wish them all the best but we are sure there love in this place will sell by it's self...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

This is the first time that I have ever posted any review of anything on the web. Yes, i know that you don't beleive me but because of Meike and her wonderful guesthouse I have to start.

First the guesthouse. Meike's guesthouse is set up like a traditional B&B. The rooms are all off a central patio surrounding by lush plantings. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortably furnished with everything you need to feel at home. Breakfast is served in a separate dining area where you can chat with other guests. I would say the breakfast is continental with lots of choices. We never left feeling hungry. The guesthouse is within walking distance (5 minutes) from the shops and restaurants. It is located on a side street in a quiet residential area and there is parking for your car off-street.

What made our stay there so wonderful was Meike and her husband-the hosts. We arrived in the evening and immediately Meike was booking reservations for us at a place for dinner. She knows all the great places to eat and is very knowledgeble of Swakomund and Namibia in general. She also booked our trip out to Sandwich Harbor for the next day with the tour company of our choice (her choice as well)! We were a little afraid that we wouldn't be able to do it on such short notice so that was a bonus.

Here's the thing.... my bags for our five week trip to Africa didn't arrive in Windhoek. Meike spent a good part of her time checking up on my bag's whereabouts and keeping me informed. She lent me a jacket and binocular's for our trip to Sandwich Harbor. She even offered, in case my bags didn't arrive, to let us stay in the unfinished loft since her rooms and everyone else in town was booked up. I have never, ever had someone at any hotel go out of their way like that for me. It made the world of difference in that we could enjoy our first nights in Africa without 1) having to worry and 2) us having to be on the phone dealing with the airport or baggage claim. Looking back on our entire vacation these couple of days at Sandwich Harbor and Swakomund were highlights! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meike's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meike's Guesthouse

Address: 23 Windhoeker Street | P.O.Box 2858, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meike's Guesthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Meike's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meike's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.