We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grateful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kucki's Pub

Kucki's Pub
22 Tobias Hainyeko Street, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
+26464402407
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 41 Restaurants in Swakopmund
Price range: $0 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stellenbosch
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Grateful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We decided on a whim to pop in and have dinner at Kucki's Pub on our way through Swakopmund. We didnt realise that the place was so popular. However, the owner (I assume he was the owner) made space for us at the end of the bar and we ordered a couple of Erdinger Weiss Bier's and I had a sirlion while Gail had the Sole. If people were not watching me I would probably have licked the plate clean it was so good.

After knocking back a few Underbergs (around 4 or 5 - maybe 6) with the owner and one of his mates from Gobabis we finaly weaved our way back to our B&B - though I suspect we took the scenic route.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    157
    55
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good food and popular hang out spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A locals bar/restaurant and was busy when we went. There is a seating area outside on the street but that is where the smokers congregate. We booked (good idea where places are popular) and were a party of 4 and had - 2 grilled prawns, (excellent and a great portion), kingklip (cooked to perfection) and a Wiener Schnitzel ( great). With 3 starters and drinks - bill came to NA$ 846. A beer was NA$ 21 and a glass of white wine was NA$ 14. Great value!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere with average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I came here for dinner with fellow tourists as recommended by our tour guide. The location was so covenient being at the central part of seaside town. Most of us had seafood.. presentation of food can still be improved as with every meal each of us had. Though the portions was just right, taste was average.

Do not come when you are too hungry to wait as it took a while for our food to be ready.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had dinner here on or first evening in Swakopmund. Far too busy and noisy with lots of large tables accommodating tour groups. Fish soup did not taste like home made but have to say my Kingclip was delicious. Think this place is way too overrated.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The place you will return to!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

First things first!! you want a meal, book your table in advance. It seems that half of Swakopmund comes there. And there is a reason!!!! Very good, fresh food, great service and general feel. Staff is trying hard and managing!! There is a few places around with such good service!!! So do not waste your time for such places as The Tug, and go where people actually care!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kucki's Pub also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Kucki's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kucki's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.