We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant and compfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kucki's Pub

Kucki's Pub
22 Tobias Hainyeko Street, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
+26464402407
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 47 Restaurants in Swakopmund
Price range: $0 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Vibrant and compfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This vibrant bar/restaurant offers great food and a good atmosphere. The traditional German influence in the town came through in the food, and despite the very full restaurant, we were comfortable there. The bar was busy, full of locals and travellers, making it an interesting place to be. Make a booking in advance though, since this seemed to be a very popular place to eat/drink!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    177
    69
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great food in a pub environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The atmosphere was great with the pub buzzing all the time. The food was really good and all six people in the party commented on the tasty food.

Ask the owner about the story behind the piece of aircraft fuselage attached to the wall.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good honest food that wont break the bank.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

As a family it was handy finding a restaurant that has a menu that catered for a group. The food is reasonably priced the drinks the same. while not a gourmet restaurant the atmosphere is great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We booked a table for about 15 for 8 pm, second session and had to wait over two hours for our meals to arrive. One meal was returned as it was not cooked well but others where not and some where cold but others where good like mine. The thing that was most irritating was the smoking in the restaurant. How can anyone enjoy their meal with all that smoke? I have been there every time I come to Namibia, but this time it was not enjoyable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad dish, unwelcoming service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went to this restaurant on a recommendation from our guesthouse. After driving all day and eating mostly gas station food, we were really looking forward to eating. I ordered a side of asparagus and I am very glad that I did. It was delicious and the only good thing about my meal. As an entree, I ordered the Butterfish. Perhaps this is where cultural differences came into play. I assumed that Butterfish was the delicious, rich fish, that I've eaten on occasion in the states. What I received was a tough, fried, unrecognizable serving of fish with butter on top. It literally made my stomach hurt.

In addition, the service wasn't great. I cannot give a specific action as an example, so take this with a grain of salt. But we felt as though we were a nuisance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kucki's Pub also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Kucki's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kucki's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.