We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse to your Saves list
Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Plover Street | Vogel Strand, Swakopmund, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Walvis Bay, Namibia
1 review
“Warm & Cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We attended the wedding of Andrew & Nadine van Schalkwyk's. The rooms were modern and stylish. The wedding was held in the garden which was very intimate and romantic. The staff was friendly and the next morning for breakfast was very helpful and welcomming in the kitchen. Having an open plan and also being able to help and assist in the kitchen felt like home. Definately a villa to recommend! Wishing them only success in the future.

Room Tip: all rooms are stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
21
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prague, CZ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Maybe because we had very good lodges during our Namibian trip, before and after our stop at Atlantic villa, but the souvenir is only just ok.
Pro: clean room, very modern/ original design, nice breakfast.
Con: design not practical (the walls of the toilets and shower are only glass.... Difficult privacy!)
Cold room (the blanket was more than welcome!, no heating).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

What an absolute value for money stay it was!! beautiful well equipped rooms and a hearty breakfast!!
Thank you to all the wonderful staff, you will definitely see us again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

The new Suites at Atlantic Villa are a unique experience in comfort and luxury. They are spacious beyond imagination with incredible views of the atlantic ocean. The decoration of the rooms - WOW! - incredible luxury and modern gadgets, you can even listen to music under calming lights in the shower. Breakfast is top-class!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

This Guesthouse is certainly on the verge of becoming one of the most sought after holiday experiences in Swakopmund. Although there are still some building work in progress to create an even more impressive upmarket facility, there are so many opportunities to drink in the tranquility and beauty of the Atlantic ocean and the desert.
There are a variety of accommodation options from two nice big family units overlooking the desert, with bunk beds through to a 5 star "honeymoon-feel double room" with exquisite sea view. The fine "Wreck" restaurant 100m away overlooking the Atlantic adds further comfort in leisuring away and enjoying the peace around you.
Next time I will certainly take my spouse along!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We stayed at the Atlantic Villa for 2 nights in December 2008. Before flying to Namibia we were rather alarmed to read about the building works to the front of the guest house and considered booking alternative accommodation. We were glad we didn’t. While the building works would spoil the view for anyone staying in the room at the front of the building, the majority of rooms have a desert or partial sea view and so are largely unaffected by works. Our apartment had a light and airy bedroom, plus a living room/kitchen which was comfortable and with all the facilities you would expect. We didn’t spend much time in the apartment but it seemed ideal for someone spending an extended period in Swakopmund.

The Atlantic Villa itself is a modern building with lots of large windows which give it a modern, bright appearance. The breakfast area has sea views and the terrace is a great spot just to sit and look at the ocean. Another bonus is that some drinks and cakes are available and free for guests.

On the downside there is the building work at the front and this does block some of the view. The guest house is also on the outskirts of Swakopmund so you either need to drive 6 km to get into the centre or get an (expensive) taxi. Finally the car parking is a bit tight and it isn’t that easy to reverse a 4x4 out of the exit. However, our overall impression was that it was a lovely, modern guest house and one of the best places we stayed in Namibia.

While staying at the Atlantic Villa we took a trip down to Walvis Bay and booked a boat tour through Mola Mola. Our primary aim was to see dolphins which we saw briefly but which were completely overshadowed by prolonged sightings of a mother and baby humpback whale.

Our tour started with pelicans and seagulls flying alongside the boat to be fed by our captain. We were then visited by seals who climbed onto the boat for a fish brunch. As these seals are comfortable with people you can have your photo taken and even touch them. Then our captain headed for the whales which had been spotted the previous day. Seeing the whales was an amazing experience and our captain did his best to ensure we had great sightings of them, climaxing with the mother jumping out of the water at one point. After we left the whales we stopped for a lunch that included sparkling wine and really tasty oysters before we headed back to shore.

The Mola Mola tour was a fantastic experience. It would have been really good even without the whale sightings but the whales were a huge bonus as we’ve never seen them before and had no expectation that we would see them on this holiday. Awesome in the truest sense of the word!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

I booked 2 nights holiday at the Atlantic Villa in the "luxury suite" and was very disappointed. Not only was I not given the luxury suite that I had booked and paid for, but I was given a family apartment and told it was "big and luxurious" - for a family apartment it was sizeable enough but it was definitely basic and functional with bunk beds in the living area and not at all luxurious.

Furthermore, there is building work going on that has almost entirely obstructed the sea view - see attached photo for the view of a wall of a new building going up in front of the place from the shared living area (it also obstructs the view from the basic family apartment room at the back of the house).

Avoid Atlantic Villa if you don't want to be disappointed.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Being misled about the quality of the accommodation
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse

Address: Plover Street | Vogel Strand, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within sight and sound of the mesmerising Atlantic Ocean, The Atlantic Villa offers accommodation within walking distance from the beach, a few minutes drive from Swakopmund town centre and a quiet relaxed atmosphere complimented by its location. Our elegantly and luxurious decorated rooms offers spacious and comfortable accommodation.Our friendly staff will make you feel pampered from the minute you enter the Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse. Relax with a cup of freshly ground coffee in your room or unwind in any of our comfy lounges where you are welcome to play on our grand Piano, or just settle down with a cold drink on the terrace.Accommodation at Atlantic Villa consists of four main facets, namely the Luxury Suites, Deluxe Rooms, Luxury Rooms and Self Catering Units. Atlantic Villa has the facilities to accommodate a variety of travellers.The main house consists of five rooms of which two is luxury rooms. In addition three family apartments are available and suitable for self catering. To conclude our accommodation bouquet we also have 4 Luxury Suites with a sea view. Rooms are equipped with DSTV and internet while some rooms have a private balcony with views of the surrounding desert and ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.