We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deutsches Haus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Deutsches Haus to your Saves list
Hotel Deutsches Haus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Luderitz Str., Swakopmund, Namibia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
"Sundowners-Special"
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Swakopmund
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The dinner and lunch was very good. The breakfast from my point of view just average.
The location of the hotel is also just average, but Swakopmund is small enough and safe so you can just walk to all places you want to see.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    34
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
29
15
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The visit to Hotel Deutsches Haus in Swakopmund was very pleasant and I enjoyed it very much. The food was excellent. The service during breakfast could be improved by telling guests what is available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is New Years Eve and our family wants a treat. We booked a table in the Rastaurant at Hotel Deutsches Haus for 7 ppl. As we arrive, we are greeted by the Owner & nearly his whole Staff (so it seemed) and we felt like the Royal Family arriving for a Banquet. We were seated and all went well. The Food was EXCELLENT and we never had to ask for service,,,they came regularly around and checked if we were still OK. Our Kids loved the Fish tank in the Foyer and spent most of their time in front of it. About the rest I can't say much..just the Restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Tried to rebook us upon arrival at a cheap alternative and keep the difference on price themselves. Had booked month before. When arrived, was told another guest decided to stay, so they gave away our room. Was during New Years and had extremely limited alternative options.

Rude and unacceptable customer service. Stay clear.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munkelwitz, Owner at Hotel Deutsches Haus, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Due to our popularity of our hotel, sometimes small glitches may happen,
however we always endeavor to strive and give the best customer service we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked for three ppl & were given a two-floor "apartment" with two bathrooms. Perfect for a family with two grown children just before Christmas. The service & friendliness of the staff was second to none. And the hotel is a close & lovely walk from the beach, shopping, restaurants, and nightlife. Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I'd say that this hotel was a solid 3 star accommodation but I'm still disappointed by the fact that they promised us air conditioning in every room and we didn't have a/c. We selected this hotel because of the a/c so it was frustrating that they didn't have it. The room was sufficiently clean but not squeaky clean as there were some stains in the bathroom, breakfast was ok and service was mediocre at best. I think it was mostly in terms of what we had to pay to stay there that i was disappointed in the service overall so I'm somewhere between poor to average all in all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathu, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had dinner on christmas eve and the waiters was extremely friendly. The food was out of this world and surely the best restaurant we have been to in a very long time. We enjoyed it alot and would certainly visit again. Thanks for great service and great great food.

Room Tip: Did not stay there, only had dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Haus

Address: 13 Luderitz Str., Swakopmund, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Deutsches Haus is a cozy three star family orientated and business hotel with free high speed wireless internet excess and an excellent cuisine with daily seasonal specials at the coastal town of Swakopmund. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Deutsches Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.