We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cornerstone Guesthouse to your Saves list
Cornerstone Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   40 Hendrik Witbooi st, Swakopmund 9999, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I recently spent one night at Cornerstone Guesthouse and could not have been more pleased. The room was clean and comfortable. The service was excellent and ranged from making dinner reservations, to providing an early breakfast before we had to head out. We highly recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    42
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
155
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

And a nice change to the lodges. Our spacious corner room (6) was spotless and very well equipped. It had a fridge, kettle with tea, coffee etc, the only cafetiere we saw in Namibia, a TV (with Ashes cricket!), a heater, a small safe, a genuinely international power socket as well as a Namibian one, a spacious sitting area, an outside table and chairs, a great shower in the bathroom which also had 2 sinks, good wifi in the room and outside, laundry service. We were warmly greeted by Bettina. The staff are all very helpful, offering restaurant suggestions and making reservations. They were able to give us breakfast a little early as we were booked on a kayaking trip. The garden is very pretty and there's secure parking for about 4 cars. We were loaned a phone for emergencies but it was good to know that one can wander about Swakopmund safely even after dark. Presumably there are problems of thefts from cars if the prevalence of 'car guards' in town is anything to go by. We think, but can't be sure, that we were overcharged for petrol in the Total garage in town. We don't know how it was done but you might be advised to check that the pump is set to zero before they start filling your tank

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What charming people run this quality B&B... Swakopmund is an interesting place to visit on every level, but returning to this delightful guesthouse was always a pleasure. The attention to detail is important to the owners and it shows, always friendly and willing to offer help and advice. We had a small apartment which was a surprise and had more than enough space for our needs - the laundry service was much appreciated as was the excellent breakfast, which was served in a dining room on a level with most expensive restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have travelled quite extensively over the past few years and in my opinion, this guesthouse came out tops as far as facilities and service is concerned - well done Peter, you have the personality to make everybody feel so welcome and special and your decor is so refreshing. You also went out of your way to ensure that you had our dietary requirements for breakfast. We will certainly be back, and can recommend your guesthouse to everybody - keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

As far as B&Bs go, this is by far the best I have stayed in. We are gay couple and are often reluctant to stay at small B&Bs to prevent awkward questions at check in. This was no problem at all in this little charming place. The owner genuinely cared about all aspects of our stay, he was an absolute star right from the beginning. He organised a table at a restaurant for us in the evening, took care of our clothes who were in desperate need of a wash after having spent a week in the desert, gave us a local mobile phone in case we needed to speak to him at any time of the day, etc.

All the rooms are centred around a small garden. The interior of the room we stayed in was very bright, fresh decor and of great proportions. I genuinely have nothing to complain about.

The location is also good, you can reach the sea front or the town centre in less than 5 minutes walking.

Breakfast was the best we had in the entire country. It was beautifully laid out, eggs were made to order, great selection of cold meats and cheeses and the owner was always present to top up on coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were made to feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable and had plenty of extra blankets for the cold evenings. The location is ideal for walking around the town both day and night. We ate at The Tug and Kuchi's, I have added separate reviews for both. We also did the day trip with Turnstone Tours to Sandwich Harbour - this was a real highlight, don't miss it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Cornerstone Guest House. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The bed may have been a little firm for our taste but it was fine for 3 nights.
Location wise the guest house is ideal- set in a quiet residential area but only 2 blocks from the main B2 and two blocks from the town centre, enabling us to find the place easily and to get into town in the evening for a meal without the hassle of driving or getting a taxi.

Peter and his team gave us a warm welcome and this friendly and genuine hospitality and interest in their guests continued throughout our stay. Peter went out of his way to help us with a flat tyre we discovered one morning and saved us a lot of time trying to find the best place to take the car so we could continue with our day trip as planned. He even loaned us a hoover to clean the interior of our car which was filthy from the time we had spent in the desert. He also recommended a great fly-in safari to the skeleton coast which we enjoyed immensely.

Breakfast was also fresh and plentiful with a nice hot breakfast of eggs and bacon.

My only criticism was the rooms are acoustically challenged and we could hear virtually everything our neighbours were saying or doing and the plumbing in bathrooms is particularly noisy. Luckily most people went to bed reasonably early so this did not impact upon our getting a good night sleep.

Overall, Cornerstone Guest House offers very good accommodation at great value and great customer service and I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornerstone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Guesthouse

Address: 40 Hendrik Witbooi st, Swakopmund 9999, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerstone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small, private and peaceful bed and breakfast an easy walk to the sea and the town centre of Swakopmund on Namibia's fascinating Skeleton Coast.Occupying a quiet corner of Swakopmund's old town near the marine museum and the old brewery, Cornerstone Guesthouse offers the charm and intimacy of a family-run B&B combined with the modern amenities of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Cornerstone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornerstone Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.