We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brigadoon B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brigadoon B&B to your Saves list
Brigadoon B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Ludwig Koch Street | P O Box 1930, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tokyo
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The rooms are clean and well-appointed, the location is good, and Martha is helpful.
The breakfast is substantial if unimaginative.
The only drawbacks are a) the staff are only on duty part-time, so if you need anything after 5 or 6 pm, there's nobidy there, and b) to get to reception you have to go out into the street and back in again through another entrance; guests are not allowed to walk through the house, which is inconvenient.
There's no atmostphere, though - not at all cozy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    51
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
56
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Brigadoon. We arrived late one warm Sunday afternoon and were met by Martha's friendly smile. Our rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated and we instantly felt comfortable and at home. Martha quickly gave us a run down of all the best things to do in Swakopmund and places to eat. Between Martha and Agnes, they made all our reservations for dinner, boat cruises and quads - even going so far as to source a new tyre for my husband's bike. Our bed was wonderfully and dinner an sundowners were always only a short walk away. We had a fantastic time in Swakopmund and at Brigadoon and were really sorry to leave. Brigadoon is great value for money and you will not be sorry should you book your stay here whist in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very nice Bed and Breakfast with great location and excellent big rooms. Very clean and lovely service. Will go back again for sure

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We were lucky enough to be in cottage number 1, which is considerably larger than the others. It was comfortable and spacious. The otehrs looked ver small to us. We weren't enthusiastic about the breakfast, which was delivered to our small patio. You make your own tea/coffee from a flask of hot water, and if you would like a fresh fruit salad, then you have to make that yourself too from a fruit bowl that is delivered. The hot 'English breakfast' is small and hardly appetising. The lady who was on reception during our stay was hugely helpful and went to great lengths to meet all our information needs. There is a decent wireless service, but the selection of TV channels could do with augmenting.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

We stayed at the Brigadoon guesthouse for 1 night and had an excellent time. Our room was absolutely beautiful, luxuriously and trendily decorated, with a funky little front patio. Margaret really went out of her way to make our stay as pleasant as possible, she made dinner reservations for us, made sure we had a very early breakfast (on new year’s day!) so we could hit the road on time for our long drive to Etosha, and generally made us feel very at home and welcome. The guesthouse is also centrally located 5 mins walk from the town centre and the waterfront. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

The Brigadoon is a tidy little B&B with modern rooms. It is close to the waterfront, and walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. The staff provided excellent, personalized service, and were helpful in organizing activities in Swakopmund. I highly recommend Brigadoon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in Swakopmund and although this was by no means our first choice of accommodation, we would definitely stay here if returning.

Brigadoon is a short walk from the town centre and just a stones throw to the beach.

Our recently refurbished room had its own patio where breakfast was served by the extremely helpful staff who will also assist in booking excursions, restaurants etc.

Lots of activities in Swakupmond - highly recommend the 'buggy' adventures in to the desert but the dolphin trip from Walvis Bay felt very touristy. Lots of good souvenir shops here and a good choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brigadoon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigadoon B&B

Address: 16 Ludwig Koch Street | P O Box 1930, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brigadoon B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to town and restuarants, 150m from Swakopmund's main beach. Modern suites with patios in tranquil garden setting. Bed and full English breakfast served on private patios. New conference facility to accommodate 25 delegates. Free wifi access and satellite TV. Secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Brigadoon B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brigadoon B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.