We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa

AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida de Marginal, Pemba, Mozambique   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemba
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was looking for the perfect end to my friend's run across Africa, somewhere beautiful that would be worth filming, and I found it at Avani. The entrance is impressive, the reception (which Emma ran through) is beautiful and the sea front (where she finished) is gorgeous. The staff were very helpful, welcoming Emma and guiding her through the hotel to the beach. We stayed one night. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean. And quiet. I got up for an early swim in the infinity pool by the sea and then we had the biggest buffet breakfast I have ever had, absolutely delicious: fresh fruit, cereals, soya milk/milk, cakes, omelette, eggs, bacon, pancakes, waffles, tea, coffee, herbal tea, salads. Loads of food and it was all tasty. I would definitely recommend staying here and especially if you are planning a special event. There are all the amenities you would want: it all looks beautiful, there is a bar, restaurant, beach front, swimming pool and helpful, friendly staff. One of the best places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel is very nice and typical, the staff is friendly, the structure is very special.
An unfortunate event had happened. But after the clarifications with Executive Assistant Manager, the problem was solved. Only professionalism, kindness and caparbiety's some people can bring harmony in relationships.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Massimiliano B,

Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa.

Thank you for your recent review, it is very pleasing that the issue has been resolved to your satisfaction and we look forward to your next visit.

Please feel free to contact me directly when you wish to return, it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Jonathan Payne
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spend some time in this hotel and enjoyed it immensly!!

There are some many positive things about this hotel that I don't know where to start, the view from the rooms is stunning!

The rooms are great, nice and spacious and each with a lovely balcony. Inside the rooms all the services and facilities one expect is available, a good and solid bed and nice clean linen, mini fridge, mini safe, flat screen TV with a good selection of channels which are all nice and clear, a kettle, coffe/tea, hair dryer as well as a good AC and fan which works well. I found the free WI-Fi to be very unrealiable though. Maybe management can have a look at improving this.

Inside the bathroom there is a nice big bath as well as a seperate shower and everthing is nice and clean. Only complain is the towels are very small - almost hand towel size.

Outside the rooms there is a stunning pool overlooking the ocean, very nice!!

Breakfast is something not to be missed!! I travel a lot and spend many nights in hotels and it's been quit some time that I experienced such a lovely breakfast. Every morning there is a different selection to choose from - we even had lobster and prawns salads some morning with more lobster and/or prawns than salad - stunning!! This chef knows knows his job!! Lunch and dinner was also amazing!!

I would highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: There are some rooms almost right on the beach, ask for one of those, it's stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jacob312613,

Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit.

I appreciate your feedback pertaining to the size of the bath towels and this will be reviewed by our Executive Housekeeper.

It is very rewarding to know that you had such a memorable experience while staying at the hotel. I will ensure that your compliments are relayed to the culinary team who take great pride in serving our cuisine.

Please feel free to contact me when you wish to return it will be my pleasure to personally assist you with your reservation arrangements and ensure we take excellent care of you once again.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Payne
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a beautiful hotel! I loved the Arabian design and the 'open-ness' of the reception and public areas. My room was in the courtyard section with fab views of the Indian Ocean. The room was well-maintained and very comfy. Delicious breakfasts and dinners are served in the main hotel restaurant which overlook the gardens and ocean.There are 2 pools to choose from and an impressively-equipped gym for guilt-free indulging in seafood and caipirinhas! The Spa is also beautiful and well worth a visit for a treatment or 2...

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear GotPassportWillTravl,

Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit.

I am pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to experience some of the many highlights of this beautiful hotel steeped in culture.

Please feel free to contact me when you wish to return it will be my pleasure to personally assist you with your reservation arrangements and ensure we take excellent care of you once again.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Payne
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Staying at Pemba Beach hotel right now. There was no electricity from 8h30 to 15h30 and there is no water. It is now 17h30. is this a 5 star hotel????? Not at all. Service is slow, towels smell badly, wi fi works up and down, etc. The so called manager is not friendly at all. Please AVANI, come and take a serious look at this place.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear DanaPrista

Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your current stay with us.

After reading your comments I am pleased that I had an opportunity to meet you in person and apologise for any inconvenience incurred, while also providing us with an opportunity to reinstate your faith in the service that we provide prior to your departure.

Once again I would like to apologise that you have experienced some intermittent disruption to the supply of power, water & wifi to your room, unfortunately this was due to some unforeseeable technical issues that our engineering team have been working to restore. Your concern regarding the speed of service is duly noted and will be monitored by our newly appointed training manager.

Please feel free to contact me directly during the remainder of your stay should you require any assistance.

When you wish to return it will be my pleasure to personally assist you with your reservation arrangements and ensure we take excellent care of you.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Payne
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I have been here now several times and the quality as well as service is unchanged good.

Rooms are spacious and clean with fantastic views if you get one facing the sea. Sleeping quality is great as you hear the waves breaking in the background while you lay in bed.

The breakfast restaurant has a spectacular view and the buffet is generous with lots of options to choose from including freshly squeezed orange juice.

The entire facility is kept clean and tidy and the gym is star of the art guaranteeing for a good work out, but you can also opt for a run along the beach.

There are now several hotels and lodges to choose from in Pemba but the Pemba beach resort is still by far the best in town.

Room Tip: Seaview upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Sascha K,

Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your return visit.

I am delighted to know that your return to the hotel has been consistent with your previous visits and that we are continuing to provide the best facilities and service in Pemba.

Whether you are a keen runner or not, the beach at the hotel is an excellent place to get close to nature and enjoy some time. In the mornings the sea is dotted with local fishermen using the traditional and sustainable method of hand line fishing, creating a stunning view over Pemba bay.

Please feel free to contact me when you wish to return it will be my pleasure to personally assist you with your reservation arrangements and ensure we take excellent care of you once again.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Payne
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Avani Pemba Hotel deserves full points on the service they offer considering the location. To have this kind of set up and top class service is challenge on its own.

Rooms are big, nice clean beach, good swimming pool and well equipped gym.

Breakfast had a wide variety and great service at the restaurant as well as at the coffee shop. Check in and check out was fast.

Only glitch was the Wifi connection which was going on and off. Cant complaint with the power on/off every now and then. However the hotel staff keep me informed when there is a power cut when it will be back again.

Will highly recommend to book this hotel in Pemba.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Executive Assistant Manager at AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Dear Mohammed N,

Warm greetings from AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay.

I am sorry that you had experienced some minor disruption to your internet connectivity and electricity during your visit, where possible we always like to inform our guests of any planned essential preventative maintenance.

Our front office team will be pleased to be acknowledged for their efforts in providing a quick and seamless check in / check out experience.

Grab & Go our gourmet store offers a wide range of fine wines, artisan ingredients, luxury confectionary and Barista style Segafredo coffee. This is a great location to relax and enjoy an espresso coffee while sitting at one of our courtyard tables.

Please feel free to contact me when you wish to return it will be my pleasure to personally assist you with your reservation arrangements and ensure we take excellent care of you once again.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Payne
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida de Marginal, Pemba, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Pemba
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prime location, just minutes from town, is naturally beautiful, set on the headland between Pemba Bay and Wimbe Beach. Explore the ancient port town of Pemba and then relax at our striking hotel, designed with African and Arabian architecture, manicured lawns and towering palm trees, against a stunning Indian Ocean backdrop. Combining the efficiency of a business hotel with exotic splendour and a warm welcome, AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to gather for executive business meetings, enjoy superb leisure facilities and soak up lazy beach life. If you're looking for more action, try out thrilling ocean sports, island hop in the Quirimbas Archipelago and safari in the wilds of the Niassa National Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pemba Beach Hotel Pemba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVANI Pemba Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.