We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK option in Pemba” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pemba Beach Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Pemba Beach Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pemba Beach Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida de Marginal, Pemba, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pemba
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An OK option in Pemba”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had an overnight stop here on the way up to the Quirimbas Islands. I get the impression there is not much choice in the area, so this hotel did the job just fine. The rooms are very 'holiday inn', but perfectly comfortable. The beach bar ( well actually there is no beach) had decent bar food and plenty of cold Dois M, what more could you need. Very much had the impression this is a business hotel, lots of people sitting around reception and the bar on their computers making use of the wifi. So good for a stopover, but probably not where you would want to come on holiday for a week!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    37
    16
    11
See reviews for
13
21
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chingola, Central, Zambia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night as a group of 19. The hotel is well designed with big archways and has a real East African/Arabic feel to the design which we all loved. Rooms were all very spacious, clean and cool (good AC). There is a lovely infinity pool which overlooks the ocean, a small sandy beach, a gym and a spa (didn't try the latter two). Food was buffet style and perfectly adequate. Staff all seemed very friendly although do not speak much English. This hotel is used by corporates who come to Pemba for business and by tourists as gateway stopover before heading out to the Quirimbas and Niassa. I can't imagine spending a week here but one night was lovely. While the hotel is clean it was sad to see the rubbish that lines the streets of Pemba. Plastic is soon going to be Africa's national flower... very sad...

Room Tip: Would suggest asking for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was a single traveller on business so it is difficult to comment on the long stay issues. However, I was pleasantly surprised.
Check in was completed very quickly and efficiently, and in fact the only issue was that one guy was looking to copy my passport, whilst the other one had already done it and returned it!
Golf cart to the rooms was good, aircon was already on, rooms were large and clean with good amenities, decent tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TV, and good bathroom accessories.
Dinner was great. Stay with the local dishes (prawns, fish, periperi chicken) and all is OK. Well cooked, plenty of it and quite quick. The bar service was the same, cold beer, good snacks and reasonably quick.
Check out was an issue as the phones were not working and hence the credit card machines could not get approval! Eventually, after numerous shoulder shrugs and some irate clients, I suggested using my cell to call my bank and get approval. This was done and everyone else then tried to do the same - needless to say a Mozambican speaking limited English to a French bank in one case, was quite amusing. Meanwhile the phones came back on line but no-one had noticed!
Airport transfer was quick and courteous, and for a few bucks the drivers will check in for you while you go upstairs and get a cold one!

Downsides:
Don't expect a 5 star and you won't be disappointed.
Mosquitos are a fact of life here - spray judiciously.
The wireless is very expensive and works intermittently.

Overall, not as bad as forecast and pleasantly good in some aspects.

Room Tip: sea facing is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

As other reviewers have mentioned, there aren't a lot of choices in Pemba and we had a fine night at the Pemba Beach Hotel. The views are nice, our room was big, the staff was friendly and there is wifi in the reception area. We had a bit of confusion as the people in reception didn't speak much English. Partly because of the communication difficulties, we missed the shuttle bus to the airport. They nicely arranged for another one so no harm done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointed with service. After waiting an hour for our transfer from the airport, our driver did not even apologize, welcome us or even say hello. The check in was very poor, no one spoke to us or alerted us of te blackouts, there were about 6 during dinner. It's not the blackouts that I mind, it's the service with regard to then that I do. Below average for me.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel looks very impressive and you do get a golf buggy to your room, the rooms are very spacious but as the below review there were a lot of mozzies - I did ask the reception to fumigate but nothing happened.

The bar is very nice and the service is very good but I have to come back to the mozzies really not nice.

The gym is limited but good - however the card reader on the door is a pain in fact all of the doors with card readers have to be renewed every day for some reason....

But it is a good hotel for those used to the African lifesyle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

First time in Pemba but, from what I could see, there weren't many hotel options other than the Pemba Beach Hotel. Quite an impressive building with lots of pillars and arches and a golf cart to take one to one's room. The room was fine with a spacious bathroom - but it wasn't mosquito free. Decent bar with an impressive array of trophies on the wall. Didn't eat dinner, so can't comment on the restaurant. Had a disappointingly cold shower in the morning and breakfast was OK without being spectacular. Staff was friendly, but poorly trained. I cannot stand starting to ask a question at Reception to be cut off by another member of staff butting in with a query of their own or the receptionist taking a phone call when you're in the middle of a sentence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pemba Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pemba Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Avenida de Marginal, Pemba, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Pemba
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pemba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pemba Beach Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Pemba Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pemba Beach Hotel Pemba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pemba Beach Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.