We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scubadiving paradise in Mozambique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Libelula

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nacala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Libelula
Save
You added Libelula to your Saves list
Nacala, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Scubadiving paradise in Mozambique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We had an awesome stay at this amazing place. The place itself is great, the view is magnificent, the beach, the cozy swimming people. Scubadiving was great, with so many underwater life, colorful fish. But most important of all was the people, Ian and PJ are great! Thanks so much for all, and all the best!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kigali
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We are a couple with a ten year old daughter and stayed four nights in Libelula. The A-shaped family lodge was good value for money, even without hot water (there are shared hot showers). Our daughter enjoyed her own bed upstairs as much as playing with the dogs. Because of my lenght the mosquitonet was immediately adjusted by Ian on the second day. The food was great and there was enough choice for four days. Although the lodge is not on the beach (you have to go down 50 meters), we did not find that a problem. The small private beach is lovely and the swimming and snorkling is excellent. Ian and PJ manage to create a very relaxed atmosphere, but do not compromise on service.

Jan, Martie and Bo.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameide, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We've stayed for a total of 5 nights at Libelula and it's an oasis of peace and beauty,
The food, the beach and diving were fantastic!
It's a pity that getting there isn't easy when you live in Europe, otherwise I could spend every weekend over there ;-)
A special thank to the owners, PJ and Ian who have made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malawi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Just got back from Mozambique, we spent 6 nights in this paradise spot. The sunsets were absolutely stunning, the private beach was spotless and provided excellent snorkeling in the bay. The choice of rooms will suit any budget. Ian and PJ (the owners) work tirelessly ensuring that you have the best possible experience during your stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Just a brief note to say that our experience in Libelula was great, I really appreciated the hospitality and kidness of its owners, the special and little details that certainly made a difference compared to other places, making our stay pleasant and relaxing. I really appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms and the resort in general in a place sorrounded by such a wild vegetation, and I loved all the meals so carefully cooked.
It is a lost piece of paradise in a lost place, the way you run the place is absolutely fantastic and admirable.
I loved the snorkling and the trip excursion.
Thanks for everything.
Olga - Madrid (Spain)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed with PJ for only three or was it four days but wished we could have stayed longer. She was running it on her own so warned us of a limited service but then completely outdid herself with excellent attentive, friendly service, fantastic food, and even a wild evening in Nacala thrown into the bargain.

I would truly recommend this place to everyone, a great atmosphere is created from the lovely, genuine hospitality of the owners PJ and Ian. The location is stunning with a 180 vista over the amazing marine park. And a private beach with shoreside snorkelling as well as a lovely fresh water pool makes this a very comfortable place to relax for more than a few days.

The diving promises to be just as professionally run once it is up and running and I can't say enough how much we enjoyed our time here. Thank you to PJ who not only made us feel incredibly welcome and catered for our every need she even picked us up a few days later when travelling from Isla de Mozambique as she spotted us on the back of a pick-up truck as she was driving past.

All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Libelula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libelula

Address: Nacala, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Nampula Province > Nacala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Nacala
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libelula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.